Adams County Ohio Ghost Towns

Buck Run – Scott  Township
Post Office: 1872 – 1904
Location: 38.985624 -83.579641
on SR 247 at the intersection with Calvary Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: The post office was originally at Campbell’s Mills on Buck Run & operated out of a private residence in later years. 

Burkitts – Brush Creek Township
Post Office: 1835 – 1840
Location: 38.786254 -83.424999
on Cummings Rd (T-148)

Remnants: log church & Burkitt Cemetery at the end of the road, on private property with no visiting allowed
Description: The town was founded by Thomas Burkitt (1763 – 1836) & Polly (Wheeler) Burkitt (1766 – 1820). Both were buried in the cemetery.

Elizabeth (Elisabethtown) – Wayne Township
Location: 38.899390 -83.595421
on the southeast side of SR 137 between Paint Rd & Potts Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: Elisabethtown had 96 lots on 7 streets platted by James V. McNeil (1833 – 1913). It appears that few of the lots were ever sold & improved. James was buried in Cherry Fork Cemetery on SR 136.

Evergreen – Meigs Township
Location: 38.919532 -83.402525
on Steam Furnace Rd between Davis Rd & Mineral Springs Rd 

Remnants: Evergreen Church & Cemetery about 1 & 1/2 miles south of SR 32
Description: Evergreen’s main industries were farming & livestock raising.

Fristoes – Meigs Township
Location: 38.896202 -83.453228
on SR 42 along Brush Creek & the land where Brush Creek Motorsports complex now sits 

Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Richard Fristoe (1805 – 1885) & Anna (Sample) Fristoe (1805 – 1897) who were farmers & livestock dealers. They were buried in Locust Grove Cemetery on SR 42.

Grimes – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1886 – 1907
Location: 38.676916 -83.453852
between US 52 & the Ohio River on the west side of Ohio Brush Creek 

Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Greer Grimes (1803 – 1888) & Sophia (Smith) Grimes (1805 –  1893). Their 400 acre farm was purchased from uncle Noble Grimes’s estate. Greer was also a banker.

Irvington – Scott  Township
Post Office – 1887 – 1898
Location: 38.940004 -83.554702
on Tranquility Pike at the railroad crossing south of SR 770 

Remnants: none known
Description: Irvington was a farming & railroad town which sat on the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad.

Killinstown – Tiffin  Township
Location: 38.797355 -83.492266
on SR 125 on the west side of the intersection of Poplar Ridge Rd

Remnants: historical marker & Seaman Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was a stagecoach stop town platted by Revolutionary War veteran John Killin (1758 – 1844) who also ran the tavern & inn. John & Rachel (Harper) Killin were married by Justice Of The Peace Noble Grimes. John was buried in Pumpkin Ridge Cemetery (West Union Village Cemetery) on S Cherry St (Pumpkin Ridge Rd).

Kopp – Franklin Township
Post Office: 1902 – 1907
Location: unknown
Description: none found

 
McCarty – Tiffin  Township
Location: 38.799014 -83.483000
on SR 125 between Poplar Ridge Rd & Abbott Rd

Remnants: McCarty Cemetery behind Satterfield Chapel
Description: The town was named after the McCarty family in the township. Some of the members were buried in the cemetery.

McCullough – Scott  Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1905
Location: 38.930120 -83.515398
along the railroad tracks south of Nichols Ridge Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: The original proprietors were Archibald C. McCullough (born c. 1815) & Sarah (Elliot) McCullough (1820 – 1862). Archibald was a carpenter & farmer. They were buried in Tranquility Cemetery on Old SR 32. The town land stretched north along Ohio Brush Creek from the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad. 

Moore – Tiffin  Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1894
Location: 38.798683 -83.428245
on SR 348 at the east end of Compton Hill Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were descendants of Methodist minister Reverend Joseph Moore (1754 – 1824) & Rebecca (Foster) Moore (1755 – 1838). They were buried in Manchester IOOF Cemetery on Cemetery Rd in Manchester.

Mount Leigh – Scott  Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1860
Location: 38.955624 -83.573529
on SR 247 at the intersection with Mt. Leigh Rd

Remnants: Mount Leigh Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was a farming & religious town founded by Presbyterians.

Mount Zion – Scott  Township
Location: 38.944482 -83.592237
on Mt. Zion Rd between Tri – County Rd & Baxla Rd

Remnants: Mount Zion Cemetery on the southeast side of the road
Description: It was a farming & religious town.

Osman – Tiffin  Township
Post Office:  1854 – 1881 & 1888 – 1902
Location: 38.786097 -83.434263
on SR 348 between SR 125 & Compton Hill Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Simon Osman (1808 – 1876) who was stabbed to death by members of the Easter family on the former wooden “Bloody Bridge” crossing Ohio Brush Creek on SR 125. His sons later took over proprietorship of the town.

Palestine – Franklin Township
Location: 38.970412 -83.394298
on SR 41 at the intersection with Conley & Adkins Rd 

Remnants: Wickerham Inn at the intersection
Description: Palestine was a stagecoach stop town first settled in 1800 by Revolutionary War veteran Peter Wickerham (1756 – 1841) & Maria (Platter) Wickerham (1767 – 1839). They built the first brick house in the county which served as a tavern & inn & platted the town in 1837. They were buried in Locust Grove Cemetery on SR 41.

Plum – Meigs Township
Location: 38.949129 -83.366259
along the railroad tracks off of Plum Run south of SR 32
Remnants: none known
Description: Plum was a farming & railroad town which sat on the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad.

Shimar – Meigs Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

 
Stephens – Sprigg Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1907
Location: unknown, was listed in the southern portion of Sprigg Township on page 27 of the 1888 Bridgman’s Atlas Of The State Of Ohio
Description: none found

Waggoners Ripple – Green Township
Post Office: 1845 – 1906
Location: 38.712574 -83.442411
near the intersection of Abner Hollow Rd & Waggoner Riffle Rd 

Remnants: none known
Description: The town was established in 1842.

Washington – Monroe Township
Location: 38.678461 -83.456419
between US 52 & the Ohio River on the west side of Ohio Brush Creek 

Remnants: none known 
Description: Washington was platted with 84 lots in 1800 by Noble Grimes, who was a justice of the peace & owned 1,000 acres. The town also had a large log courthouse & jail & was intended to be the future county seat, but West Union won that contest in 1803. Washington didn’t last much longer. Noble was buried on the farm’s “river hill”.

Allen County Ohio Ghost Towns

Alnora – Monroe Township 
Location: 40.889986 -84.109959
on Rd 13 at the intersection of Morris Rd along the old railroad path running parallel to Rt 12 between Vaughnsville & Columbus Grove 
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a farming & railroad town which sat on the Northern Ohio Railway. The tracks are long gone but the path can be still be seen on satellite maps.

Armstrong – Amanda Township 
Post Office: 1872 – 1884
Location: 40.707929 -84.278377
on Armstrong Rd off of Spencerville Rd
Remnants: Amanda Church & Cemetery on S Conant Rd, Agape Fellowship Description: Ministries on Armstorng Rd, a few other old buildings in the area 
Armstrong was founded c. 1842 when a flour mill was built by Tone & Co. The post office moved to Conant when the new village won the bid for a train station on the Chicago & Atlantic Railroad. Armstrong got left in the dust.

Bath – Bath Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Blue Lick – Bath Township 
Post Office: 1854 – 1875
Location: 40.789007 -84.051317
on E Bluelick Rd at the intersection of Slabtown Rd 
Remnants: general store still in operation at the intersection, Blue Lick United Methodist Church & Cemetery west of the store on the south side of E Bluelick Rd Description: Named after the natural salt infused springs in the area, it’s technically a former town but the area still goes by the same name.

Cramersville – Marion Township 
Post Office: 1858 – 1859 
Location: 40.803064 -84.309466
on Bliss Rd near the intersection with Lehman Rd 
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by the Cramer family that lived in the area. Reuben & Dahn Cramer still owned land there in 1880.

Donnels – Auglaize Township 
Post Office: 1857 – 1860
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by the Donnels a branch of the family in the county. The surname also has alternative spellings.

Gallatin 
Post Office: 1839 – 1851
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Gilderoy
Post Office: 1874 – 1875
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Hartford – Amanda Township
Location: 40.739498 -84.316236
on N Defiance Trail between the jog in Allentown Rd (SR 81) 
Remnants: Hartford Christian Church & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: Hartford was a farming & religious town founded & named by Christian settlers who bought lots from a land company out of Hartford, CT. Most of the residents moved to Spencerville when it was platted as the Miami & Erie Canal opened there in 1844.

Middle Spring – Amanda Township 
Post Office: 1861 – 1865
Location: unknown
Description: It was a farming & postal town named after a local spring.

Needmore – Marion Township
Location: 40.779438 -84.307854
on Defiance Trail N at the intersection of Bloomlock Rd 
Remnants: old part of Marion Baptist Church with a newer addition near the intersection
Description: none found

Rogues – Sugar Creek or American Township (formerly German)
Location: unknown – was between Gomer & Lima
Descrpiton: By definition of the word, it may have been a tramp or shanty village & considered a rough area.

Sugar Creek Settlement – Bath Township
Location: 40.788396 -84.102164
on E Bluelick Rd between N West St (SR 65) & N Sugar St 
Remnants: historical marker at GPS coordinates, Sugar Creek Church & Pioneer Cemetery next to it
Description: Bath was founded in 1824 by Christopher Stark Wood (1772 – 1855). It was the first settlement in Allen County & the township grew out of the settlement. Christopher later moved to Indiana.

Sulphur Springs
Location: unknown, was northwest of Lima
Description: The town was named after the natural sulfur infused springs in the area.

Tawa Town (Tauwas) – Amanda Township
Location: 40.685867 -84.262296
along the Auglaize River near Deep Cut Rd
Remnants: two historical markers at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was a native town abandoned c. 1817 & was along the easiest canoe route going from Lake Erie to the Ohio River.

Townsend – Perry Township
Location: unknown, was in section 3 of Perry Township
Description: none found

Ashland County Ohio Ghost Towns

Albany
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Bunns Settlement – Mohican Township
Location: 40.791765 -82.156485
on County Rd 1975 at the intersection of Co Rd 175 along Glenn Run
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded in 1809 by Benjamin Bunn (1781 – 1855) & Margaret (Hyatt) Bunn (1782 – 1843). They built a log fort blockhouse with their neighbors in 1812 for protection from the local Native Americans. Benjamin was a blacksmith by trade & enlisted to serve in the War Of 1812. The family later moved to Illinois.

Elizabethtown – Perry Township
Location: 40.858035 -82.143844
on US 250 between Rowsburg & Muddy Fork
Remnants: none known
Description: Elizabethtown was intended to be the first platted village in the township. John Raver who built the first grist & saw mill in the county put up undeveloped lots for sale around 1815 but never made any progress.

Friends
Location: unknown
Post Office: 1854 – 1858
Description: none found

Ganges
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Johnstown (Jeromestown) – Mohican Township
Location: 40.791383 -82.202373
between County Rd 2175 & Jerome Fork 1/2 mile to a mile southwest of Jeromesville
Remnants: none known
This Native American settlement had around 200 residents, a council house, & 60 – 80 wigwam houses. It was abandoned when the War Of 1812 started.

Perote – Orange Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1865
Location: 40.970160 -82.310738
on Co Rd 620 at the intersection of SR 51
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietors were Mr. & Mrs. A.C. Fast who came to Ohio from Pennsylvania & owned most of the land in the area.

Ruggles Corners – Ruggles Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1904
Location: 41.029550 -82.392648
at the intersection of US 224 & Rt 60
Remnants: Ruggles Township Cemetery on US 224,  many old buildings around the area
Description: Ruggles Corners is technically a ghost town but the area still goes by the same name. It was founded by War Of 1812 veteran Daniel Beach (1785 – 1862) & Lorinda Beach (1788 – 1856) who were farmers from Connecticut. The town was named after surveyor Almon Ruggles (1771 – 1840) who was also from Connecticut. Daniel & Lorinda were buried in Ruggles Township Cemetery.

South Loudonville – Hanover Township
Location: 40.623469 -82.241792
on SR 3 along the Black Fork of the Mohican River southwest of Loudonville
Description: South Loudonville was a former separate town which was annexed into Loudonville.

Tunker Settlement – Montgomery Township
Location:  unknown, was in section 16 of Montgomery Township
Description: The town was founded by German Baptist immigrants known as Tunkers.

Uncas – Hanover Township
Location: 40.596187 -82.242915
on County Highway 3175 along the Mohican River
Remnants: none known 
Uncas was a relatively small town, but important enough to get listed in the 1901 George Cram Atlas.

West Loudonville – Hanover Township
Location: 40.641455 -82.242607
on N Mt Vernon Avenue along the Black Fork of the Mohican River northwest of Loudonville
Description: It was another formerly separate town that got annexed into Loudonville as it grew.

Williamsburg – Vermillion Township
Location: 40.772935 -82.300578
on County Rd 30A  approximately 2 miles west of Hayesville
Remnants: none known
Description: Robert Williams made a proposal for the first platted village in the township in 1829 but it never ended up happening.

Ashtabula County Ohio Ghost Towns

Anderson – Pierpont Township
Location: 41.738943 -80.622298    
on Stanhope – Kelloggsville Rd near the intersection with Shrambling Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was named after George S. Anderson (1857 – 1924), a well respected country physician & surgeon who owned a few parcels of land in the area.

Barnes Corners – Trumbull Township
Location: 41.678110 -80.910368    
on Windsor – Mechanicsville Rd at the intersection of Riverdale Rd
Remnants: Riverdale (Barnes) Cemetery in the woods on the south side of Riverdale Rd just a bit west of the GPS coordinates
Description: It was named after the local Barnes family & had a church in the mid 1800s. Some of the Barnes family members are buried in the cemetery.

Calm – Trumbull Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1903
Location: 41.690332 -81.002581    
on Barrett Rd at the intersection of Short Rd
Remnants: old school across the border in Geauga County at the corner of Thompson Rd & Sidley Rd
Description: Calm’s edge just barely crossed into Ashtabula. The post office was in Thompson Township, Geauga County. The town’s old schoolhouse is now a private residence.

East Lakeville – Conneaut Township
Location: 41.939650 -80.542532   
on US 20
Remnants: East Conneaut (East Lakeville) cemetery on Furnace Rd South of US 20
Description: It’s technically a ghost town but only on paper due to name changes & getting annexed into Conneaut.

Fargo – Ashtabula Township
Location41.871939 -80.766133 
on Fargo Dr south off of US 20
Remnants: Edgewood Cemetery on State Rd
Description: The town was founded by Jason Fargo (1790 – 1861) & Clarissa (Harmon) Fargo (1801 – 1880). They had several children, ran a 156 acre farm, & Jason was the first town trustee. The area was later named East Village & is now part of the city of Ashtabula. Jason & Clarissa were buried in Edgewood Cemetery  with some of their children, including Dan & Lucius who had a prosperous 570 acre farm.

Hare – Kingsville Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by the Hare family in the township.

Inland
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Iona – Windsor Township
Post Office: 1898 – 1903
Location: 41.508579 -80.957202   
on S Windsor Rd between Fletcher Rd & Mill Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Iona was a small farming & postal town.

Middlesex
Post Office: 1831 – 1847
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Northway – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1898 – 1899
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Osbornville (same location as Phoenix) – Pierpont Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1860
Location: 41.783699 -80.623501   
on Stanhope – Kelloggsville Rd between Beckwith Rd & Bulah Rd
Remnants: Graham Road Bridge in the Ashtabula County Metropark on Graham Rd
Description: The town proprietor was an M. Osborn who built a grist mill, saw mill, general store, & ran the post office.

Padens Mills – Monroe Township
Location: unknown, the main saw mill was built next to Bear Creek
Description: The Paden family were Quakers who also owned 400 acres with a saw mill along Paden Creek in Conneaut Township, Crawford County, PA.

Phoenix (same location as Osbornville) – Pierpont Township
Post Office: 1862 – 1903
Location: 41.783699 -80.623501   
on Stanhope – Kelloggsville Rd between Beckwith Rd & Bulah Rd
Remnants: Graham Road Bridge in the Ashtabula County Metropark on Graham Rd
Description: Phoenix was a postal & shingle mill town. Graham Road Bridge was constructed with wood salvaged from a former bridge that crossed the west branch of the Ashtabula River & was badly damaged in the 1913 flood.

Sherman – Geneva & Saybrook Township
Location: 41.817462 -80.904346   
on US 20 approximately halfway between Geneva & Saybrook
Remnants: none known
Description: Sherman’s status as a town didn’t last long. It isn’t on the 1874 or 1905 county atlases, but can be found on the Ohio map in the 1901 Cram atlas.

Steeles Corners – Cherry Valley Township
Location: 41.606931 -80.648752   
on US 6 at the intersection of Hayes Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The Steele family owned the section of land in the northwest corner of the intersection & operated businesses over several decades in the mid 1800s.

Watsons Corners – Colebrook Township
Location: 41.557506 -80.790356   
on Fee Rd at the intersection of W Windsor Rd
Remnants: North Colebrook Cemetery south of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by Joseph Mitchell Watson (1822 – 1876) & Mary Jane (Courson) Watson (1821 – 1892). They had 8 children & moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania around 1870. Joseph & Mary Jane are buried in the cemetery.

Athens County Ohio Ghost Towns

Alexander (Southtown) – Alexander Township
Post Office: 1825 – 1850
Location: unknown, was 6 miles south of Athens
Description: This first settlement in the township had the nickname “Southtown” as it was the next populated area south of Athens. Unfortunately the early township records were lost in a fire around 1827.

Big Hocking (Hockingport) – Troy Township
Post Office: 1836 – 1837
Location: 39.188080 -81.752083
on SR 124 at the junction of the Hocking River & Ohio River
Description: Big Hocking is listed as a ghost town in several places online but it’s only due to a name change. Hockingport was called Big Hocking from 1836 – 1839.

Bolens Mills (Bolins Mills) – Knox Township, Vinton County (was in Athens prior to 1850)
Location: 39.233498 -82.291437
on Bolins Mill Rd north off US 50 along Raccoon Creek
Remnants: Weaver Chapel & Cemetery on Weaver Church Rd
Description: It was founded by William Bolen (1788 – 1849) & Susan Bolen (d. 1854). William built mills & was also a farmer. They were buried in Weaver Chapel (Bolins Mills) Cemetery. The family surname is spelled Bolin in some branches.

Brettland (Bretland) (Lick Run) – York Township
Post Office: 1875 – 1882
Location: 39.452791 -82.277778
on SR 278 on the south side of the Hocking River & ran south along the Hocking County border
Remnants: none known
Description: This coal mining town had a school, company store & a train station for the Lick Run Coal Works on the Lick Run Switch of the Columbus & Hocking Valley Railroad. Old road paths from the town can be seen on satellite maps.

Deans
Location: unknown
Description: The town was named after the Dean family in the area.

Detroit – Canaan Township
Location: 39.311616 -81.978089
on Canaanville Rd off US 50 between Buckley Run Rd & Mine Rd
Remnants: no known
Description: Detroit was sort of a suburb of Canaanville & had a train station on the Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad built in 1875.

Englishtown –  York Township
Post Office: 1821 – 1823
Location: 39.456951 -82.225953
on Poplar St in the east side of Nelsonville
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by George Courtauld (1767 – 1823) who was a wealthy silk & textile manufacturer from England. The land was purchased in 1818 & George persuaded some of his friends to move there. He operated a store & post office until his untimely death. Most of the residents moved back to England & the post office moved to Nelsonville.

Ewing
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after the Ewing family in the county.

Floodwood Station – York Township
Post Office: 1871 – 1913
Location: 39.414516 -82.198205
on Monk Rd between SR 691 & the Hocking River along the Hockhocking Adena Bikeway
Remnants: remains of the dam in the Hocking River, former railroad trestle, building foundations, & loose building bricks in the area
Description: The town started out with farming & mills then boomed when coal was discovered in the area. It had two iron furnaces, a train station on the Columbus, Hocking Valley, & Toledo Railroad, & several mines owned by Burton B. Sheffield who founded the Floodwood Coal Co. It was hit hard by the Great Flood Of 1913. New Floodwood across the Hocking River where the employees lived is still a populated town.

Goose Run – Trimble Township
Location: 39.493958 -82.151535
on Goose Run Rd east off SR 78
Remnants: Bethel Ridge Cemetery off Goose Run Rd
Description: Many of the residents worked in the mining industry & were buried in Bethel Ridge Cemetery.

Harmony – Canaan Township
Location: 39.326592 -82.005669
on Harmony Rd west of S Canaan Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded in 1836 by business tycoon Samuel B. Pruden (1798 – 1863) who built an oil mill, grist & saw mill, & a salt works.

Hixon – Ames Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1901
Location: 39.416392 -82.052173
between Lafollette Rd &  Bryson Branch
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Town proprietor Peter Hixon (1821 – 1902) moved to Ames Township from Pennsylvania at an early age. He was one of the biggest land owners in Athens County with over 800 acres & had much success in raising large numbers of livestock on the fine grazing land. The family surname was sometimes spelled Hixson. Peter was buried with relatives in Hooper Ridge Cemetery on Hooper Ridge Rd.

Hocking – Waterloo Township
Post Office: 1870 – 1877
Location: 39.367708 -82.265328
on Hocking St off SR 56 between Mineral & Carbondale
Remnants: none known
Description: Hocking lost its status as a town but looks like it was never completely abandoned. It had a train station on the Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad.

Horton
Post Office: 1861 – 1863
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after the Horton family in the area.

Ingham – Brown Township, Vinton County (was in Athens prior to 1850)
Location: 39.311475 -82.300541
between Hope- Moonville Rd & King Hollow Trail on the former railroad path
Remnants: electric poles line the former railroad path, mine shaft entrances, & mining tools can be found on hiking trails off the former railroad path
Description: Founded by brothers William & J.M. Ingham, it was a coal mining town on the Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad. The mail went through Kings Station, another reason it’s also listed in Athens.

Kings Station – Waterloo Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1892
Location: 39.319952 -82.284626
at the intersection of Rockcamp Rd & King Hollow Trail at the former railroad crossing
Remnants: Kings Hollow Tunnel east of the GPS coordinates on the Moonville Rail Trail, wood buildings east off the railroad path & southwest of the GPS coordinates
Description: Kings Station was founded by Silas D. King (1840 – 1909) as a coal mining town with a train station on the Marietta & Cincinnati Railroad. The intact wood railroad tunnel was built in 1855 – 1856 & is a rare sight to see in Ohio. Silas was buried in Elk Cemetery on N Market St (Rt 93) in McArthur.

Laurel Hill – York Township
Location: 39.455024 -82.269586
between SR 278 & the Hocking River
Remnants: mine shafts in the section of land between SR 278 & Wolfe – Bennett Rd
Description: Laurel Hill was a coal works town on the east side of Brettland with its own mining industry. It had a company store & a train station on the Columbus & Hocking Valley Railroad. Old road paths can be seen on satellite maps.

Lyda (Lydia) – Troy Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1904
Location: 39.181137 -81.779916
on Lydia Rd along the border of Meigs County
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Lyda was a tiny town. Residences & businesses stretched north up Township Highway 420 & Lyndon Rd. It’s listed as Lyda in the 1901 Cram Atlas & a few other places online, but might have really been spelled Lydia like the road name.

Marshallville – Trimble Township
Location: 39.554563 -82.141226
on Johnson Run Rd (County Rd 68) at the intersection of Indian Run Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietor was an E. Marshall who owned a section of land southeast of the GPS coordinates. Many of the residents were buried in Walnut Grove (Maxwell) Cemetery & Beech Grove (Conn Church) Cemetery on Township Highway 435 in Monroe Township, Perry County. Both of the cemeteries are listed on findagrave.com with more location info.

Medill – Lee Township
Post Office: 1858 – 1865
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Mortonville – Trimble Township
Location: unknown, was west of Glouster
Description: none found

Mud Sock (Mudsock) – Ames Township
Post Office: 1821 – 1837
Location: 39.396667 -81.963194
on SR 550 1/2 mile west of Amesville
Remnants: Mud Sock (Amesville) Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates
Description: It was founded by Colonel Silas Dean (1767- 1810), settled by members of the Ohio Land Company, & served as a stagecoach stop. Silas’s nephew Colonel Nathan Dean Jr. (1788 – 1837) acquired some of the land after Silas died. Nathan was a brickmaker, freemason, businessman, & ran the general store & post office. Mudsock was abandoned shortly before Amesville sprang up.

Mount Auburn – Trimble & Dover Township
Location: 39.465107 -82.113985
on SR 685 at the intersection of Greens Run Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Mount Auburn was founded by Reverend Jonathan Perkins Weethee (1812 – 1899). He wrote a book in 1849 & built Weethee College in 1861, just a couple of his many accomplishments. Jonathan was buried in Nye Cemetery on SR 13 in Chauncey.

New Bern – Bern Township
Location: 39.368458 -81.909943
on Felton Rd at the intersection with Brawley Rd
Remnants: Wilson Chapel & Sand Rock Cemetery north of the GPS coordinates
Description: New Bern was a farming town. Residents were buried in Sand Rock Cemetery.

Raccoon
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Rock Oak
Post Office: 1856 – 1871
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Salina – Dover Township
Post Office: 1866 – 1894
Location: 39.381976 -82.144201   
between LeMaster Rd & US 33
Remnants: none known
Description: Salina was a decent sized town that had a little bit of everything. Some residents were employed the salt works of M.M. Greene & Co. There was also a surface coal mine, shaft coal mine, grist mill, & a saw mill.

Sparta
Location: unknown
Description: Sparta was listed as a small village in the 1837 Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide.

Auglaize County Ohio Ghost Towns

Amsterdam – German Township
Location: 40.422321 -84.378130   

on Amsterdam Rd at the intersection of S Washington St (SR 66) along the Miami & Erie Canal
Remnants: none known
Description: Amsterdam was platted in 1837 by German immigrants with 65 lots & was abandoned after the Cholera epidemic in 1849. Over 100 residents perished from the disease & were buried in a mass grave across from Saint Paul’s Church in New Bremen on N Herman St. A public park was built over the graveyard in 1948 & the remaining headstones were laid flat & buried.

Bay – Moulton Township
Location: 40.557052 -84.277834   
on Bay Rd between Plant Pike (County Rd 33A) & Clear Creek
Remnants: Zion (Lutheran) Cemetery on private property east of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town proprietor was a W.E. Bay who owned the section of land on the west side of the road in the late 1800s to early 1900s

Bingville – Union Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Botkins Station – Pusheta Township, Auglaize County & Dinsmore Township, Shelby County
Location: 40.482336 -84.183987   
on SR 219 along the Auglaize & Shelby County border
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a train station on the Dayton & Michigan Railroad. Residences & businesses were in both Auglaize & Shelby County. It was named after Richard Botkin (1803 – 1858) who donated the land for the station & founded Botkins in Shelby County.

Layton – Union Township
Post Office: 1895 – 1904
Location: unknown
Description: This small town is listed in the 1901 Cram Atlas & was in the northwestern portion of the township. It was named after the Layton family in the area.

Mohramsville – German Township
Location: 40.443328 -84.375089   
on Lock 2 North Rd near the intersection of Klee Ave
Description: The town was founded in 1838 German immigrant H.H. Mohram. The area was annexed into New Bremen in 1876.

Ober Bremen – German Township
Location: 40.432178 -84.379501   
on S Washington St on the east side of New Bremen
Remnants: none known
Description: Ober Bremen was founded by German immigrants Gerhard Ellerman (1811 – 1888) & Anna (Uphaus) Ellerman (1814 – 1891). It was platted in 1853 & annexed into New Bremen in 1876. Gerhard & Anna were buried with relatives in German Protestant Cemetery on New Bremen – New Knoxville Rd (County Rd 65A).

Petersburg – Pusheta Township
Location: 40.497000 -84.162952   
on Santa Fe – New Knoxville Rd between Cemetery Rd & Rupert Rd
Remnants: historical markers on the roadside, Petersburg Cemetery past the markers in a field
Description: Petersburg was the site of the first Roman Catholic congregation in the township & had a church & school. John Rupert, who founded the town, platted 40 acres in 1852 but the lots never sold.

Pourcelle
Post Office: 1886 – 1888
Location: unknown, was northwest of Waynesfield
Description: none found

Pusheta Town – Moulton Township
Location: 40.568104 -84.229671   
between Fox Ranch Rd & the Auglaize River
Remnants: none known
Description: Some residents were buried in Greenlawn Cemetery on SR 67.

Rinehart (Rineharts) – Union Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1872
Location: 40.600503 -84.032290   
on SR 67 at the intersection of Wrestle Creek Rd
Remnants: Rinehart House at the intersection, Mount Lookout (Rinehart) Cemetery on the south side of SR 67 about 3/10 of a mile east of the intersection
Description: The town was founded by Hugh Rinehart (1813 – 1891) & Juliana (Godfrey) Rinehart (1812 – 1881) who moved to Ohio from Virginia & were pioneers of the township. Hugh was a farmer & blacksmith. The town also had a school. The Rinehart house was built in 1861 & added to the National Register Of Historic Places in 1978. Hugh & Juliana were buried with some of their children in Mount Lookout (Rinehart) Cemetery.

Summit
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Vogelsangtown – German Township
Location: 40.432292 -84.385177   
on S Herman St on the southwest side of New Bremen
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded in 1856 by German immigrants Friedrich Voglesang (1831 – 1897) & Sophia (Kuenning) Voglesang (1836 – 1909) who had 13 children. Freidrich was a farmer, flour mill owner, & businessman. The town was annexed into New Bremen in 1876 & Freidrich had a seat in the village council. The Voglesangs were buried with relatives in German Protestant Cemetery on New Bremen – New Knoxville Rd (County Rd 65A).

Brown County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bernard (Five Points) – Eagle Township
Post Office: 1879 – 1903
Location: 38.988200 -83.770438
on Tri County Hwy (Co Hwy 34) at the 5-way intersection of 5 Points Mowrystown Rd, 5 Points – Fincastle Rd, & Biehm Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Bernard was the name of the train station & post office at Five Points on the Cincinnati & Eastern Railway (formerly the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad). It had 2 dry goods stores, a blacksmith shop, & a Methodist Episcopal church. Morgan’s Raiders, a cavalry unit of 2,500 Confederate soldiers, passed through the area in July of 1963 during the Civil War. Luckily for the local residents, the soldiers only stole a few horses & didn’t do any other damage. The railroad is currently owned by Norfolk Southern. 

Bloom Rose (Bloomrose) (Prall) – Sterling Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1869
Location: 39.103999 -83.998125
on Bloomrose Rd at the intersection of Blue Sky Park Rd along Fivemile Creek
Remnants: Bloomrose Church & Cemetery on the east side Bloomrose Rd south of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town had a school (Sterling Township No. 3) on the south side of Blue Sky Park Rd & a shoe shop on the west side of Bloomrose Rd south of the GPS coordinates. Its United Brethren congregation was formed in 1845. The land for Bloomrose Church & Cemetery was acquired by the congregation from Joseph Brown (1812 – 1886) who moved to Ohio from Maine & Zelinda Brown (1820 – 1847). Their son Joseph Bennett Brown was the first interment. Joseph married Ruth Brown (1821 – 1886) after Zelinda passed away. The current brick church structure was built in the early 1880s. In the late 1800s – early 1900s the town was called Prall & was named after the most prominent family in the area at the time. Several of their family members were also buried in the cemetery, dating back to Thomas Prall (1813 – 1874) from New Jersey & Catharine (Lefler) Prall from Ohio (1817 – 1895). The town lacked industry though & couldn’t compete with several other villages in the township which were more prosperous, but the church is continues to operate.

De La Palma (Delapalma) – Sterling Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1882 & 1898 – 1903
Location: 39.070747 -84.011858
on Dela Palma Rd at the intersection of Bardwell West Rd
Remnants: one room schoolhouse at the intersection, old houses & farms in the area
Description: 
De La Palma was founded by Absalom Day (1773 – 1839) from New Jersey & Elizabeth (Earhart) Day (1776 – 1843) from Pennsylvania. They were one of the original 10 families in Williamsburg, Clermont County in 1796 & received a land plat for settling there when it was a newly formed town. Sometime around 1800, the Day family moved to a farm next to Dela Palma Rd. Absalom & Elizabeth had 12 children. Most of them married into families from nearby towns & moved away. In the mid 1800s, William Weeks (1810 – 1875) & Sophia Weeks (1814 – 1885) bought the Day farm & opened up a post office & general store. It ran from 1850 – 1882. The town name later went by Delapalma with a post office of the same spelling from 1898 – 1903. There was also a cooper shop near the post office on the west side of Dela Palma Rd & one room schoolhouse (Sterling Township No. 2) that still stands at the corner of Dela Palma Rd & Bardwell West Rd. Absalom & Elizabeth were buried in Price Cemetery near the bank of Four Mile Creek in Clermont County. It’s on private property between Zimmer Rd & Ireton Rd. Abasolom’s father, Revolutionary War veteran Jeremiah Day (1752 – 1820), was also buried there. His mother’s grave, Sarah (Dod) Day, hasn’t been located yet.

Clover Valley – Pike Township
Post Office: 1858 – 1861
Location: unknown
Description: It was between Locust Grove & New Hope & was mentioned as a former postal town in the 1883 History Of Brown County, Ohio.

Gerta (Gurta) (Slickaway) – Huntington Township
Post Office: 1863 – 1894
Location: 38.683342 -83.746846
on SR 763 between Stringtown Rd & E Fork Rd along Slickaway Run
Remnants: Martin Hill Cemetery on the north side of Martin Hill Rd between SR 763 & Scottfield Rd
Description: Gerta was the name of the post office at Slickaway, which is still a populated place. It had a mill, a school (Huntington Township No. 5) on the east side of SR 763 & a Christian church in the northwest corner of the intersection of SR 763 & Stringtown Rd. Martin Hill Cemetery was established on land owned by War Of 1812 veteran Captain Elijah Martin (1768 – 1842) born in Maryland & Rebecca (Boggs) Martin (1770 – 1848) from West Virginia. They had several children & were the largest family in the area. The mill called Sharondale, was built by famed frontiersman Daniel Boone in the early 1800s. It was on the north side of SR 41 next to Big Threemile Creek & sold a few times until it caught fire in 1882 & wasn’t rebuilt.

Gillets (Gillette) – Lewis & Clark Township
Location: 38.887626 -83.946690
on SR 125 at the intersection of Gillette Station Rd (T-402)
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Gillets had a train station on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad & was founded by John Gillette (1836 – 1908) from Franklin Parish, Louisiana & Tirzah (Richards) Gillette (1842 – 1928). They met & married in Brown County in 1858 & had at least 7 children. The old Gillette farm still exists in the northeast lot of the intersection of Gillette Station Rd & Barnes Rd. There’s a few variations to the family surname, including Gilet, Gillet & Gillett. John & Tirzah were buried with relatives in Confidence (Georgetown) Cemetery on Mt Orab Pike on the north side of Georgetown. The railroad ran from 1877 – 1936. Its tracks started in Columbia – Tusculum in Hamilton County but only made it as far as Russellville in Brown County, due to funding problems. Most of the tracks are long gone but there are some remnants left of the railroad in Hamilton, Clermont, & Brown County.

Gordonville – Perry Township
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the 1843 A Table Of Post Offices In Ohio as being 25 miles from Georgetown. William B. Williams (1812 – 1887) moved to Ohio from Bucks County, Pennsylvania & was the postmaster. He was buried with relatives in Williamburg Cemetery on Gay St in Clermont County.

Henderson – Jackson Township
Location: 38.924278 -83.699034
on Greathouse Rd between Tamme Rd & Francis Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Jonathan Henderson (1767 – 1865) & Ellen Henderson moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania in 1820 along with some of their grown children & their families. Descendants of the family continued to live on the original farm for a few generations. Burials took place in Pleasant Hill Cemetery on the north side of Kendall Rd between Tamme Rd & Juillerat Rd. The town fell into obscurity before the late 1800s & didn’t make it onto the 1876 atlas.

Hillman – Pleasant Township
Location: 38.835605 -83.862562
on Hillman Ridge Rd along Evans Run south of Myers Rd
Remnants: Hillman Ridge Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates
Description: It was named after the Hill family in the area. They owned land south of the cemetery on the west side of Hillman Ridge Rd along Evans Run. The cemetery predates the town & the first know burial was English immigrant Issac Waters (1761 – 1814). Hillman had a school (Pleasant Township No. 6) across the road from the cemetery & a Christian called Olive Chapel on Old State Rte 68. Evans Run Rd went from Old State Rte 68 across the creek & headed west over to Hillman Ridge Rd south of the GPS coordinates in the mid-late 1800s.

Lewis – Lewis Township
Post Office: 1819 – 1862
Location: unknown
Description: The town was listed in the 1843 A Table Of Post Offices in Ohio as 8 miles away from Georgetown with no village.

Liberty – Byrd Township
Location: 38.817028 -83.735336
on SR 353 along Eagle Creek between SR 125 & W Fork Rd
Remnants: Liberty Chapel & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: This small farming town’s existence was solely due to its church congregation which formed in 1810. A creek stone chapel was constructed in 1817 & was replaced with the current wood frame structure in 1874 at a cost of $1200. Although the church & cemetery are still in use, the town never grew much & didn’t have any other industries besides farming. It fell off of the maps before the late 1800s. 

Monroe – Pleasant Township
Location: 38.810526 -83.890714
on Old State Rte 68 along Sheep Run
Remnants: none known
Description: Amos Mitchell platted the town with 46 lots in the late 1810s before Georgetown was laid out, naming it after the 5th U.S. President James Monroe. None of the lots sold & Amos had the only cabin in the failed town. The plat was between Old US Rte 68 & an abandoned section of Frost Rd that formerly headed north up Sheep Run.

North Feesburg – Clark Township
Location: 38.907038 -83.969566
on SR 125 at the intersection of N Feesburg Rd (Township Hwy 401)
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: North Feesburg was on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad between Hammersville & Gillets. It served as a stopping point for local residents to utilize the speedy train services. As with all of the other small towns along the former railroad that aren’t around these days, its birth & death coincided with the arrival & removal of the tracks. 

O’Conners
Post Office: 1833 – 1836
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the O’Conner family in the county & was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1837 – 1841. John H. O’Conner was the postmaster. The family dropped the O’ from their surname & changed it Connor & Conner in the mid-late 1800s.

Salem (Salem Station) (Eastwood) – Sterling Township
Post Office: 1876 – 1935
Location: 39.048848 -83.984619
on Eastwood Rd at the railroad crossing between SR 32 & Tri County Hwy
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Salem was the name of the train station on the Cincinnati & Eastern Railroad (Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia) at present-day Eastwood. The town had a Methodist Episcopal Church which is currently a private residence on Salem Church Rd south of the GPS coordinates. George W. Smith (1817 – 1898) was the first postmaster at Eastwood. He was buried with relatives in Bloomrose Cemetery on Bloomrose Rd. Morgan’s Raiders also passed through Salem in July of 1863 during the Civil War. Norfolk Southern owns the railroad now.

Skiffsville
Post Office: 1894 – 1905
Location: 38.819324 -84.042175
on Skiffsville Rd at the intersection of Vernon Hill Rd at the confluence of Bullskin Creek & Middle Branch Bullskin Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Skiffsville was a small farming & postal town & at least the road running through it still bears the name as a reminder of its short-lived existence.

Straight Creek (Strait Creek) – Union & Pleasant Township
Post Office: 1832 – 1843, 1846 – 1851, & 1861 – 1862
Location: 38.799039 -83.883657
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
on Old State Rte 68 at the intersection of Straight Creek Rd
Description: Straight Creek had a general store & a grist mill on the south side of Old State Rte 68 west of the GPS coordinates & a school (Union Township No. 11) on the west side of Old State Rte 68 south of the GPS coordinates. Some of the buildings in the area date back to the town’s postal days. The last postmaster was Josiah Drake (1811 – 1862). He was buried with relatives & early residents of Straight Creek in Norman Cemetery on the east side of Free Soil Rd between Loudon Rd & Cahall Schoolhouse Rd.

Sunshine – Pleasant Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1908
Location: 38.907004 -83.925196
on Sunshine Rd at the intersection of Barnes Rd along White Oak Creek & Walnut Creek
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: This small farming & postal town also had a stop on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad called Sunshine Station between Gillets & Traceys in the early 1900s. There was also a school (Pleasant Township No. 9) on the east side of Mt Orab Pike north of its intersection with Miller – Ring Rd & a steam powered saw mill on the east side of US 68 north of Sunshine Rd. 

Todds Run – Sterling Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1860
Location: 39.041799 -84.004793
on Todds Run New Harmony Rd at the intersection of Nixon Rd along Todds Run
Description: The town’s postmaster Curtis Wilson from Vermont & Archibald McLain (1809 – 1886) constructed a water powered saw mill on Todds Run, but it wasn’t in operation very long. The dam was destroyed almost every time the creek flooded & they simply grew tired of rebuilding it. Todds Run also had a blacksmith shop & a Baptist church that was built in 1882. Archibald was buried with relatives in Williamsburg Cemetery on Gay St in Williamsburg, Clermont County. Curtis Wilson’s grave hasn’t been located yet.

Tracys (Traceys) – Pleasant & Lewis Township
Location: 38.873170 -83.921468
on SR 125 along White Oak Creek
Remnants: old farms & mill buildings in the area
Description: Tracys was another stopping point on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad between Sunshine Station & Georgetown. Its proprietors were Francis Tracy (1830 – 1923) & Julia (Dunn) Tracy (1836 – 1917) who lived in Sunshine. There were a few mills next to the creek along what was called the cascade falls running through the border of Pleasant & Lewis Township near SR 125. Some of the mill buildings on private property appear to still be intact on satellite maps, although in poor shape due to time & Ohio’s seasonal weather changes. Francis & Julia were buried with relatives in Confidence (Georgetown Cemetery) on Mt Orab Pike on the north side of Georgetown.

Whiteoak Springs – Scott Township
Location: 38.945852 -83.923667
on Smoky Row Rd at the intersection of Vinegar Hill Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was named after the natural springs in the area fed by White Oak Creek. 

Butler County Ohio Ghost Towns

Athlone – Fairfield Township
Location: 39.357834 -84.519389   
at the railroad crossing where N Gilmore Rd meets Bobmeyer Rd along the Miami & Erie Canal
Remnants: none known
Description: Athlone was a flag stop (trains would stop if signaled) on the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad. It can be spotted on the county outline map page in the 1914 Butler County Atlas between Ixworth & Flockton.

Belt Junction – City Of Hamilton (formerly in St. Clair Township)
Location: 39.407012 -84.580768   
on Millvale Ave around the railroad crossing at the intersection of S Edgewood Ave
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: The Belt Line Railroad built by the Hamilton Belt Railway Company was completed in 1896 & served the Champion Paper Mill. It met the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad at the intersection.

Boggerville – Reily Township
Location: 39.456795 -84.712627 
on N Pierson Rd between Woods Station Rd & Garver Elliot Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Boggerville was on the north side of the railroad tracks at Woods Station which it predated as a town & kept its own name through the late 1800s. State Geologist & first President Of Ohio State University, Edward Orton, noted Boggerville’s existence on a map in the 1878 Report of the Geological Survey of Ohio, Volume 3.

Brownstown (Ball’s Ferry) – Madison Township
Location: 39.477505 -84.440418 
on Radabaugh Rd next to the Great Miami River between SR 73 & Sycamore Rd
Remnants: Elk Creek Baptist Church Pioneer Cemetery at the intersection of SR 73 (W State St) & Hamilton Trenton Rd
Description: The original settlement at this location was called Brownstown in the very early 1800s but it didn’t last long & the founders either died or moved. Shortly after that it changed to Ball’s Ferry, named after Revolutionary War veteran Davis Ball (1758 – 1819) & Mary (Hatfield) Ball (1763 – 1835) who came to Ohio from New Jersey. They had a farm, a few children, & Davis operated a ferry. He tragically died with a group who insisted on a crossing in dangerously high waters & the ferry overturned. Davis & Mary’s son Aaron (1791 – 1863) operated the ferry until 1861. They were buried with relatives in Elk Creek Baptist Church Pioneer Cemetery.

Busenbark Station – St. Clair Township
Location: 39.465994 -84.485713 
on Busenbark Rd at the intersection of Hamilton Trenton Rd
Remnants: Ohio Historical Marker at the intersection
Description: It was founded by Robert Busenbark (1793 – 1872) & Margaret (Stout) Busenbark (1788 – 1879) who moved to Ohio from New Jersey. They had a large farm & a couple of children. They donated land for a school in 1833 & along with one of their sons David (1819 – 1908), donated more land for a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad in the 1850s. A local farm was the site of a bare-knuckle boxing Heavyweight Championship Of America match between Mike McCoole & Aaron  Jones in 1867. Thousands of fans rode in on trains to catch the outdoor match. Busenbark also had a grain elevator & warehouse & a water pump station which supplied electricity for the railroad when it was converted from steam trains. Robert  & Margaret were buried with relatives in Elk Creek Baptist Church Pioneer Cemetery at the intersection of SR 73 (W State St) & Hamilton Trenton Rd.

Christiana – Madison Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1837
Location: unknown, was approximately 14 miles northeast of Hamilton
Description: It was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841 & 1854 A Gazetteer of the United States of America.

Clawson – Liberty Township
Post Office – 1881 – 1900
Location: 39.407793 -84.451705 
on SR 747 between Millikin Rd & Kyles Station Rd
Remnants: Spring Hill (Clawson) Cemetery on the west side of SR 747 about 1/10 of a mile south of Millikin Rd
Description: The town was founded by James Clawson (1796 – 1895) & Rebecca (Vail) Clawson (1798 – 1870). They were both born in Pennsylvania & moved to Butler County with their families at early ages where they met & married. The Clawsons had 8 children & steadily accumulated a successful farm of over 600 acres. The town also had a couple of churches & a school. James & Rebecca were buried with relatives in Spring Hill (Clawson) Cemetery.

Hanover (Hanover Station) – Hanover Township
Location: 39.428388 -84.646338   
on Mormon Rd at the railroad crossing between SR 130 (Old Oxford Rd) & Stahlheber Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The train station was in the southwest corner of the crossing on the former Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Indianapolis Railroad.

Ixworth – City Of Hamilton (formerly in Fairfield Township)
Location: 39.366723 -84.544112 
on Bobmeyer Rd at the railroad crossing between SR 4 & Tuley Rd
Remnants: old houses & buildings in the area
Description: It had a train station of the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad. Unfortunately 9 members of one family were killed by a northbound train when crossing the tracks in an automobile on July 26, 1936.

Jones (Jones Station) (Stockton) – Fairfield Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1883
Location: 39.321944 -84.494288   
on Seward Rd at the railroad crossing near the intersection of Stockton Rd
Remnants: Stockton (Walker Family) Cemetery at the intersection of Seward Rd & Stockton Station Dr south of SR 4
Description: The town was founded by John D. Jones, a dry goods merchant from Cincinnati, who donated land for a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad. Thomas Kirk was the first station agent & built a general store. The town also had a school, saloon, & Methodist Episcopal church. The post office was last named Stockton & the area still goes by that name for census purposes.

McDonald (Donald) (Donald Switch) (Donald Station) – Oxford Township
Location: 39.530121 -84.777994 
on Ringwood Rd at the railroad crossing between US 27 (College Corner Pike) & Taylor Rd
Remnants: old houses in the area
Description: McDonald had a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad & a massive 60 car length passing siding for loading cargo.

Millikin – Liberty & Union Township
Location: 39.373668 -84.454943 
on SR 747 (Princeton Glendale Rd) at the intersection of Hamilton Mason Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Millikin family in the county.

Ogleton – Reily Township
Post Office: 1863 – 1864
Location: 39.471164 -84.738008   
on Stillwell Beckett Rd at the railroad crossing between Harley Rd & Stephenson Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Alexander Ogle (1808 – 1887) & Lucinda (Able) Ogle (1810 – 1865). It had a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad.

Old River Junction – City Of Hamilton (formerly in Fairfield Township)
Location: 39.407912 -84.554230 
off N 3rd St on the railroad tracks between Vine St & the Great Miami River Remnants: none known
Description: Old River Junction was the name of the previous, & much shorter, span of shared track bed than there is now of the two main railroads running through Hamilton.

Sheleys (Sheleys Station) – Fairfield Township
Location: 39.428039 -84.513034   
on Canal Rd at the intersection of Headgates Rd along the Miami & Erie Canal
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Daniel Sheley (1835 – 1927) & Gertrude (Miller) Sheley (1840 – 1916). They owned a nice farm, had several children, & Daniel held every township office at one time or another. He was also a Freemason & county commissioner from 1892 – 1898. Sheleys main industry was ice production for Hamilton & Cincinnati. Daniel & Gertrude were buried in Greenlawn Cemetery on Greenwood Ave in Hamilton.

Stillwell (Stillwell’s Corners) – Hanover Township
Post Office: 1831 – 1859
Location: 39.453050 -84.688592   
on Stillwell Beckett Rd at the intersection of US 27 (Millville Oxford Rd)
Remnants: Ohio Historical Marker at Hancock Family (Stillwell) Cemetery on the grounds of Indian Ridge Golf Club north of the intersection
Description: Its business busy proprietors were Jacob D. & Elizabeth Stillwell. They owned a distillery built in 1830, a steam powered grist & saw mills built in 1835 – 1836, a tavern, general store, & Jacob was the postmaster. Their daughter Lida married congressman Samuel Fenton Cary. The cemetery was established in 1811 & many township pioneers were buried there in currently unmarked graves.

Woods (Woods Station) – Reily Township
Post Office: 1882 – 1908
Location: 39.457702 -84.717375 
on S Law Rd at the railroad crossing between Garver Elliot Rd & Stillwell Beckett Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town & train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad was named after the railroad president John Woods (1794 – 1855). The station had a nice livestock pen for animals waiting for loading.

Carroll County Ohio Ghost Towns

Atwood (Atwood Village) (Oak Dale) – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1888 – 1915
Location: 40.547076 -81.238248 
on SR 542 (Lodge Rd SW) at the intersection of Fargo Rd
Remnants: historical marker at the GPS coordinates, Big Spring (Deep Springs) Cemetery on the west side of SR 542 (Magnolia Rd SW) on the north side of the lake, Zion Cemetery on Falls Rd south of SR 542
Description: Atwood was originally called Oak Dale in the 1820s but it was never platted & the name later changed. It had 2 stores, 2 churches, a blacksmith shop, school, & town hall. The village was abandoned before the completion of a dam built for flood control in 1936.

Brown – Brown Township (formerly in Stark County)
Post Office: 1828 – 1840
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the 1829 Ohio Gazetteer; Or Topographical Dictionary & the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1833 – 1841.

Cabello – Augusta Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1868
Location: unknown
Description: This postal town was listed in George W. Hawes Ohio State Gazetteer And Business Directory for 1860 – ’61. William Rutledge (1829 – 1902) was the postmaster & was buried with relatives in Augusta Christian Church Cemetery on Andora Rd NE.

Davis – 1855 – 1861
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Davis family in the county.

Figleys Mills
Post Office: 1856 – 1857
Location: unknown
Description: The proprietors were Andrew Figley (1825 – 1897) & Eliza (Westfall) Figley (1829 – 1878). Andrew was born in Pennsylvania & Eliza in Columbiana County. They were married in Carroll County, had a few children, & owned at least one mill. Andrew & Eliza later moved to Kansas.

Fullers – Orange Township
Location: 40.472390 -81.217872 
on SR 212 at the railroad crossing between Deer Rd & Crowder Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was about halfway between Sherrodsville & Leesville on the Cleveland, Canton, & Southern Railway & was listed on the 1901 Cram map. Coal mining was the main industry.

Gortin – East Township
Post Office: 1832 – 1842
Location: unknown
Description: Gortin was listed as a discontinued post office in the 1843 A Table Of Post Offices In Ohio.

Hickory – Perry Township
Post Office: 1836 – 1857
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

North Union – Union Township
Post Office: 1827 – 1839
Location: unknown, was is the northwest section of the township
Description: There’s no record of the town ever getting platted or incorporated but it had a school & post office.

Shobers Mills – Loudon Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1859
Location: 40.444421 -80.949043 
on Cavalry Rd at the intersection of Queens Rd along Elk Lick
Remnants: none known
Description: The original proprietor John Shober (1786 – 1858) moved to Ohio from Virginia. He had 3 children with his first wife Lydia (Smith) Shober (1790 – 1829). She never made the trip to Ohio & passed away in Virginia. John remarried the following year to Elizabeth Shober (1792 – 1860) & had a couple more children. They were buried with relatives in Mizer (Coleman, Smith, Watsons Ridge) Cemetery on the east side of Apex – Amsterdam Rd in Springfield Township, Jefferson County.

Whitacres – Augusta Township
Location: 40.702811 -81.078629 
on Arbor Rd at the intersection of Malibu Rd along Muddy Fork
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded in the early 1850s by Edward Whitacre (1809 – 1897) & Rachel (Taylor) Whitacre (1810 – 1854). It had a school & a train station Lake Erie, Alliance, & Wheeling Railroad. Edward never remarried after Rachel passed away & raised 8 of their 11 children by himself. They were buried with relatives in Plaines Cemetery at the intersection of Walker Rd & Ellsworth Ave in Minerva.

Woodbury – Lee Township
Location: unknown
Description: Woodbury was listed as a small town in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1837 – 1841.

Champaign County Ohio Ghost Towns

Baker – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1830 – 1862 & 1882 – 1882
Location: 40.072465 -83.960987  
on St Paris – New Carlisle Rd along Blacksnake Creek between SR 55 & Troy Urbana Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Baker family in the township & just had the post office & a small cluster of houses. 

Brush Lake – Rush Township
Location: 40.168228 -83.577191 
on Brush Lake Rd at the former railroad track crossing between McCarty Rd & Urbana Woodstock Pike
Remnants: none known
Description: The earliest known settlement was by William Pickerell who built a grist mill on the stream leading out of the lake in 1803. James Glendening (1795 – 1876) & Mary (Van Horn) Glendening (1793 – 1858) moved to Ohio from Virginia in 1829. Shortly after that, they purchased 155 acres surrounding Brush Lake. James & Mary had 12 children in total. 8 of them survived to adulthood. Brush Lake was a fine farming town but didn’t have much else other than a local township school & a picnic ground south of the lake across the former railroad tracks. It was on the Pan Handle Route of the Pennsylvania Railroad (PCC & St. L) but was likely just a flag stop. James & Mary were buried with relatives in Black Cemetery on the north side of Dunn Burton Rd.  

Clover Run – Union Township
Location: 40.032806 -83.603589 
on Brigner Rd southwest of SR 56
Remnants: Hopewell Cemetery on the north side of the GPS coordinates 
Description: Its only notoriety was from a brutal brawl between Solomon Weaver & Philip Groves, due to a sort of Romeo & Juliet type of relationship between their children. Solomon’s oldest daughter Anna was 18 at the time & was courted by one of Philip’s sons, James Groves. The fathers didn’t care for each other at all, simply because of where they lived, the Groves family on Clover Run & the Weaver family on the Darby Plains. They had an encounter at William Kelly’s tavern in Mechanicsburg where an election was being held on November 8, 1837. After getting into a heated argument, William, who was also the constable, suggested they duke it out. The fight lasted about an hour with both men sustaining substantial wounds. The onlooking crowd feared them dead as they laid on the ground & neither could move a muscle. Solomon & Philip were treated by doctors & eventually recovered. They later made amends & gave consent to the courtship between their children.  

Coffin Station (Coffins) – Mad River Township
Location: 40.040058 -83.902988 
on Thackery Rd at the railroad crossing between the intersections of Coffin Station Rd along Chapman Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Eliza J. Coffin donated land for a train station on the Ohio Southern Railroad.

Concord Mills – Concord & Mad River Township
Location: 40.130027 -83.809881 
on Millerstown Rd at the intersection of River Rd along Mad River
Remnants: Kenton Memorial Cemetery on the north side of Millerstown Road west of River Rd 
Description: The town was originally settled in the first decade of the 1800s & had several grist & saw mills on Mad River & Muddy Creek over the decades. They were mostly built by the Arrowsmith & Kenton families. Mason Arrowsmith (1806 – 1880) provided a lengthy description of the area’s early days for the 1872 History Of Champaign And Logan Counties. His maternal grandfather, William Kenton (1737 – 1822), also lived in Concord Mills & was a brother of famed frontiersman & war veteran Simon Kenton (1755 – 1836). Simon saved the settlers of Concord Mills from complete annihilation by local natives, led by Shawnee Chief Tecumseh, when Mason was just 6 weeks old. Simon’s appearance & warning to the natives deterred them from attacking. Mason was buried with many relatives in Kenton Memorial Cemetery.

Crimville – Goshen & Rush Township
Location: 40.131476 -83.583439 
on US 36 at the intersection of Parkview Rd
Remnants: Treacle Cemetery on the east side of  Parkview Rd south of the intersection
Description: Crimville was named after John Crim who operated a store in the northwest corner of Goshen Township. A Methodist Episcopal Church stood at Treacle Cemetery & a mill across the street along Treacle Creek was owned by the Woodward family. It was discontinued in the late 1870s, sold in 1883, & was moved & converted to a barn. The chruch, cemetery, & mill all predated the town. Crimville only had a few residences but made it onto some maps in the early 1900’s.

Dallas – Urbana Township
Location: 40.047545 -83.779188 
on US 68 at the intersection of Dallas Rd
Remnants: none known 
Description: It was founded by James Dallas (1778 – 1871) from Ireland & Isabella (Sproat) Dallas (1788 – 1843) who had 9 children & a nice farm. They moved to the county around 1810. James was a judge & county commissioner. The town had a school & harness shop. The Atlantic & Great Western Railroad went through Dallas but it didn’t have a train station. James & Isabella were buried with relatives in Oak Dale Cemetery on Patrick Ave in Urbana. 

Funk – Salem Township
Location: 40.170042 -83.744272
on US 68 at the intersection of Kingscreek Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by Daniel Funk (1786 – 1879) & Frances (Kenaga) Funk (1784 – 1867) who moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania in 1837 & had 3 children. The section of US 68 where the town stood used to be the southern portion of Funk Rd. It was a good farming town but didn’t have any other big industries & fell off the maps before 1900 as it couldn’t keep up with Kingscreek. Daniel & Frances were buried with relatives in Oak Dale Cemetery on Patrick Ave in Urbana.

Fyffe
Post Office: 1858 – 1859
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after the Fyffe family in the county.

Gourdville – Concord Township
Location: 40.146735 -83.842770
on Church Rd at its curve about 3/4 of a mile south of Concord Church & Cemetery
Remnants: none known
Description: It was stated in the 1917 History Of Champaign County  that the name of the pioneer who founded the town had been lost to time. Gourdville never had more than 3 houses & wasn’t incorporated. Its last known residents were James Blue & Tubal Woodard (1806 – 1881) & Margaret (Salkeld) Woodard (1813 – 1896). The Woodards were buried in Concord Cemetery at the intersection of SR 560 & Church Rd, but its existence isn’t attributed to Gourdville.

Hagenbaugh (Long) – Salem Township
Post Office: 1896 – 1902
Location: 40.144917 -83.700555
on Jackson Hill Rd at the former railroad track crossing west of Stone Quarry Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area, former school on SR 296
Description: This farming & railroad village was founded by Henry Hagenbuch (1811 – 1881) from Pennsylvania & Martha (Long) Hagenbuch (1827 – 1887) from Champaign County. Their surname if of Dutch origin & was Americanized at some point in the late 1800s. The town had a train station on the Columbus, Piqua, & Indiana Railroad, some fish stock ponds, a stone quarry, & a school (Salem Twp Sub District #1). The school is currently a private residence on SR 296 just east of the former railroad track bed. Henry & Martha had a few children & were buried with relatives in Oak Dale Cemetery on Patrick Ave in Urbana. 

Hare – Urbana Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Harrison
Location: unknown
Description: 
It was listed in volume 1 of the 1917 county history book on page 1118 as a former town.

Heathtown – Concord Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1855
Location: 40.198948 -83.866737
on SR 29 at the intersection of Calland Rd south of Muddy Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: John Heath (1821 – 1887) was born in New Hampshire, moved to Ohio from New Jersey around 1838, & founded the Heathtown. He ran a shoe shop, grocery store, & opened a post office at the store called Muddy Creek. Heathtown also had a blacksmith shop. John moved to Iowa in 1854. A political movement by a group of local successful farmers called the Know – Nothing Party was established in Heathtown & had its headquarters there. Heathtown was last listed on the 1894 Champaign County map, but didn’t exist for much longer after that.

Heers – Salem Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Jennings Park – City of Urbana  (Formerly in Salem Township)
Location: 40.126667 -83.753056
on US 68 on the south side of Urbana Airport
Remnants: the location is still a privately owned farm
Description: Jennings Park appears to be more of a cultural locale than a town, but was considered to be a populated place for describing where residents lived & giving travel directions. Edward Jennings (1811 – 1906) from West Virginia & Anna (Bentley) Jennings (1823 – 1890) from Highland County, Ohio had 6 children. One of their sons, Absolom C. Jennings (1847 – 1883) owned the Nutwood Place farm along the Sandusky, Cincinnati, & Dayton Railroad. The farm dates back to 1815 & was added to the National Register Of Historic Places in 1976. Edward & Absalom were avid horse breeders & had a training & race track on the north side of the farmhouse. The portion of the farm where the track was is now on the airport grounds. 

Long (Hagenbaugh) – Salem Township
Location: 40.144917 -83.700555
on Jackson Hill Rd at the former railroad track crossing west of Stone Quarry Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area, former school on SR 296
Description: Prior to the arrival of the railroad in the area & the marriage of Henry & Martha (Long) Hagenbuch, the town was called Long. Martha’s parents James Long (1794 – 1862) from Pennsylvania & Susannah (Cheney) Long (1803 – 1887) from West Virginia owned the local stone quarry. Her brother, William Cheney Long (1834 – 1896), was a farmer & township trustee. He donated land for the former school on SR 296.  The Longs were buried in Kingscreek Cemetery at the intersection of Kingscreek Rd & Clark Rd.

Lookout – Johnson Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1901
Location: 40.194323 -84.011525
on Elm Tree Rd N between Anderson Rd & Walborn Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming & postal town founded by David Mahan (1851 – 1904) & Laura (Smoot) Mahan (1855 – 1915). David was the postmaster & received $15 a year for his service. His father Jason ran a saw mill on the family property that was marked on the Johnson Township page in the 1874 county atlas. Lookout also has a one-room schoolhouse on the east side of Elm Tree Rd south of the post office. The Mahans were buried in Rosedale Cemetery on the west side of SR 235 in Adams Township, Miami County.

Magrew – Mad River Township
Post Office: 1905 – 1915
Location: 40.101226 -83.819321
on Bair Rd along Anderson Creek at the former railroad track crossing between US 36 & Old Troy Pike
Remnants: none known
Description: Magrew was the name of the train station on the southeast outskirts of Westville. Lemuel Magrew (1829 – 1900) & Zalinda (Miller) Magrew (1828 – 1898) had 6 children, a 195 acre farm, & donated land for the station on the Pennsylvania Railroad. Lemuel’s grandparents Archibald Magrew & Ruth (Miller) Magrew moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania & platted Westville in 1815, naming it after the areas first settler, Basil West. Lemuel & Zalinda were buried with relatives in Oak Dale Cemetery on Patrick Ave in Urbana.

Nettleton – Mad River Township
Post Office: 1888 – 1892
Location: 40.119111 -83.874594
on US 36 at the intersection of Zimmerman Rd along Nettle Creek
Remnants: Myrtle Tree Baptist Church & Cemetery on US 36 west of the intersection
Description: Nettleton had a blacksmith shop and a couple of mills next to Nettle Creek owned by the Wiant (Wyant) family. The Myrtle Tree congregation was formed in 1830. Its present church was constructed in 1881. Many members of the Wiant family were buried in the cemetery along with other early pioneers & later residents.

New York
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in volume 1 of the 1917 county history book on page 1118 as a former town.

Old Pimtown – Salem Township
Location: 40.239989 -83.759892
on Pimtown Rd along Mad River between US 68 & Sidney Rd
Remnants: old business buildings on Pimtown Rd
Description: Old Pimtown was a small farming town with a grist mill next to Mad River. Samuel Taylor owned most of the land in the area. He was married 3 times & had 7 children. The Big Four Railroad went through town but it didn’t have a train station there. Railroad tracks still run through that part of Champaign County & have since been rerouted to the west side of Mad River. The river was dredged in 1910 – 1912 to reduce flooding & caused the farmland values along it to skyrocket. As a consequence, farm wells went dry & had to be dug deeper. Mad River had to be re-dredged after the Great Flood Of 1913. The process was completed in 1916. 

Proctor – Jackson Township
Location: 40.051539 -83.971710
on St Paris – New Carlisle Rd between SR 55 & Cowpath Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This farming town is a bit of a mystery & there wasn’t any references to it in the old history books. According to the maps, D.W. Proctor was the proprietor & owned a few sections of land in the area. 

Rohrertown – Mad River & Urbana Township
Location: 40.109560 -83.801277
on River Rd along Mad River between US 36 & Stickley Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Daniel Rohrer (1810 – 1847) from Pennsylvania & Sarah (Loudenback) Rohrer Snyder (1814 – 1874) born in Champaign County. Daniel walked from his home state to Champaign while seeking land to invest in. He walked back to Pennsylvania to gather some personal belongings & returned again on foot to Champaign in the early 1830s. The walking was all done in an effort to save money. Daniel built a grist mill & distillery next to Mad River. 
While nearly monetarily exhausted, Daniel secured a $2,000 loan to complete the mill. He married Sarah in 1834. They had 4 children with one dying in infancy. The mill & distillery were very lucrative enterprises. The loan was paid back within 15 years & the family amassed a fortune of around $45,000. The town also had a general store & a school on land donated by the Rohrers. It was at the bend in River Rd heading north to Stickley Rd. Sarah remarried after Daniel passed away but they were buried together with relatives in Nettle Creek Cemetery at the intersection of SR 560 & Nettlecreek Rd. 

Saratoga (Saratoga Mills) – Salem Township
Location: 40.156576 -83.767857
on SR 296 at the railroad track crossing along the Simon Kenton Trail north of Kings Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The original town proprietors were Alexander Vance (1811 – 1889) & Mary (Ward) Vance (1818 – 1906). Alexander was a son of Joseph Vance, the 13th Governor Of Ohio & was born on his parents land known as the Governor Vance Farm. He inherited a grist mill on the farm along Kings Creek just south of the GPS coordinates & later added a saw mill. The family donated land for tracks on the Sandusky, Dayton, & Cincinnati Railroad (bought by the Big Four) & the town had a school on the south side of SR 296 east of the railroad. Alexander & Mary had 12 children & sold the farm in 1859 & moved to Urbana. The mills were destroyed in a fire in 1879. Alexander & Mary were buried with relatives in Oak Dale Cemetery on Patrick Ave in Urbana. 

Scottsburg – Concord Township
Location: 40.156526 -83.861624
on Millertown-Eris Rd at the intersection of Lantz Rd north of Hog Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Orsamus Scott made a plat recording in Section 20 & a few houses were built on the lots, but the town never grew any & quickly faded away.

Sodom – Rush Township
Location: 40.135046 -83.569242
on US 36 between Bullard – Rutan Rd & SR 559
Remnants: Sodom – Clark Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates, former one-room schoolhouse on the north side of US 36 east of the cemetery
Description: Sodom was a small farming town & had a grange hall. The former school has been restored & is now a private residence. Sodom – Clark Cemetery started out on a farm owned by James Clark (1775 – 1862) & Martha (Davis) Clark (1782) – 1868). Many of the headstones have been lost to time.

Steinberger – Mad River Township
Post Office: 1886 – 1887
Location: 40.069162 -83.807802
on SR 55 along Mad River between Bair Rd & W Hickory Grove Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by David Steinberger (1800 – 1883) & Elizabeth (Pence) Steinberger (1804 – 1834). They were married in 1821, moved to Ohio from Virginia, & had 7 children. David built a grist mill, saw mill, & a whiskey distillery on their farm next to Mad River. After Elizabeth passed away, he married Lucy (Gaines) Steinberger (1813 – 1900) & had 8 more children. A shoe shop was on the northeast side of the intersection of SR 55 & Bair Rd & a school at the intersection of SR 55 & SR 560 was also used for elections. David, Elizabeth, & Lucy were buried with relatives in Nettle Creek Cemetery on SR 560 at Nettlecreek Rd. The Steinberger surname is of German origin with alternative spellings of Steinbarger & Steenbarger.

Stutzmanns – Salem Township
Location: 40.209912 -83.746777
on W Kanagy Road off of US 68
Remnants: still a populated area
Description: This small hamlet was platted on land owned by the Stuzman family which was related by marriage to the Kanagy family. Their alternative surname spellings are Kanaga & Kenaga. Residents were buried in Oak Grove Cemetery east of town on N Ludlow Rd between E Kanagy Rd & Sibley Rd.  

Winchester
Location: unknown
Description: 
It was listed in volume 1 of the 1917 county history book on page 1118 as a former town.

Clermont County Ohio Ghost Towns

Allisonia – Stonelick Township
Location: 39.122752 -84.206434 
on the south side of US 50 between Stonelick Creek & East Fork Of The Little Miami
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Revolutionary War veteran & first US Surgeon General, Dr. Richard Allison from New York (1757 – 1816) & Rebecca (Strong) West (1777 – 1828) from Connecticut. Richard was the first doctor in Cincinnati in 1789 & Rebecca was widely known as Cincinnati’s most intellectual & beautiful woman. They were the first settlers in Owensville (Boston) which was platted on their land grant. Richard & Rebecca also owned land & a cabin at the confluence of Stonelick Creek & the East Fork Of The Little Miami along with a grist & saw mill. Samuel Perin (1785 – 1865), who founded Perintown, arrived in 1805 & had Richard attend to a limb wound he received while traveling. In payment, Samuel updated the grist & saw mill & worked for the Allisons for a few years. The town was platted in 1815. Unfortunately Richard passed away the following year & it didn’t grow much before getting abandoned. Rebecca remarried after Richard’s death. They were buried in Wesleyan Cemetery on Colerain Ave in Cincinnati.

Angola (Baywood) (Concord) – Williamsburg  Township
Post Office – 1854 – 1872 & 1863 – 1905
Location: 39.021996 -84.080308 
on Bethel Concord Rd at the intersection of Todds Run Twin Bridges Rd
Remnants: Concord Church & Cemetery on Twin Bridges Rd east of the GPS coordinates
Descriptin: Angola (1854 – 1872) was the original name of the post office at Concord. It was discontinued a couple of times & went with the name Baywood (1863 – 1905) when it wasn’t called Angola.

Beechwood (Beechwood Station) – Union Township
Location: 39.156464 -84.273584 
on Round Bottom Rd at the intersection of Beechwood Rd along the railroad tracks
Remnants: Round Bottom Rd cemetery on the north side of the road about 1 & 1/2 miles southeast of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town had a train station on the Norfolk & Western Railroad (formerly the Cincinnati & Eastern Railroad) & a one room school, Union Township No. 5, on the east side of Beechwood Rd. The train station land was donated by Henry Davis (1820 – ?) & Nancy (Malott) Davis (1823 – 1906). They were buried with relatives in Greenlawn Cemetery on US 50 in Milford. Some of the other local residents were buried in Round Bottom Rd Cemetery.

California (Afton) – Williamsburg Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1865 & 1865 – 1912
Location: 39.061127 -84.100947  
on Half – Acre Rd at the intersection of Dixie Ln along Cabin Run
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: California was the original name of Afton & its post office from 1849 – 1865. It had a train station on the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad (Norfolk & Western Railway).

Charleston – Goshen Township
Location: 39.215924 -84.134201 
on Woodville Pike at the intersection of Manilla Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was named in the mid 1840s by Charles Thacker (1809 – 1875) & Margaret Jane (Brunson) Thacker (1811 – 1863) who owned a general store purchased from William Vaughn. The town grew up around an abundance of natural springs & had a school & Methodist Episcopal church with about 50 members. George W. Boutell purchased the general store in 1848 & also ran a private post office out of it. The main industries were farming & barrel making (cooper shops). Charleston fell off the maps in the early 1900s. Charles & Margaret were buried with relatives in Goshen Cemetery on Spring St in Goshen.

Clifton (southern quarter of New Richmond) – Ohio Township
Location: 38.944344 -84.275848   
on Old US 52 between Augusta St & Little Indian Creek
Remnants: Greenmound Cemetery on Greenmound Rd
Description: Clifton was a separate town that eventually got annexed into New Richmond as a plat addition. It appeared on maps in the 1891 & 1902 Clermont County atlases.

Cohoon (Cohoon Station) (Perintown) – Miami & Union Township
Location: 39.136739 -84.238953 
on Round Bottom Rd at the intersection of Binning Rd
Remnants: former train station attendant’s house at the road bend where the railroad tracks turn south, remnants of the first electric power plant in the county on the west side of Binning Rd
Description: Cahoon was the name of the train station at Perintown on the west side of the East Fork Of The Little Miami River along the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad (Norfolk & Western Railway). It was named after the family of the landowner at the time, Olive A. Cahoon (1846 – 1914). The train station’s name was changed to Perintown in the early 1900s. The power plant built in 1906 on Binning Rd provided electricity for the “Swing Line” traction cars that ran from Norwood to Hillsboro.

East Liberty (Gernon) (Baldwin) (Baldwin Station) – Batavia & Union Township
Post Office: 1876 – 1908
Location: 39.120855 -84.211888 
on Binning Rd at the intersection of Baldwin Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town had a train station on the Norfolk & Western Railway & a grist & saw mill. The Gernon & Baldwin families were the most prominent in the area & the town took on their names at different times. The post office & train station were also called Baldwin.

East Mount Carmel (Summerside) – Union Township
Location: 39.104914 -84.288808 
on Old St Rt 74 at the intersection of Summerside Rd
Remnants: Summerside United Methodist Church at the intersection
Description: It was named by results of a contest & was listed in the 1870 Clermont County Atlas. As far as stores, shops, & public buildings go, if there wasn’t something in East Mount Carmel, it was surely somewhere in Mount Carmel. The area was never abandoned but lost its name & status as a separate town. The old part of the church at the intersection was built in 1852 on land owned by Samuel Lane Jr. (1802 – 1868) & Elizabeth (Dial) Lane (1805 – 1865). The were buried with relatives in Olive Branch Cemetery on Olive Branch – Stonelick Rd.

Elk Lick – Tate Township
Location: 39.007109 -84.138441 
on Elklick Rd in East Fork State Park
Remnants: Old Bethel Methodist Church & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates, Bantam school on Williamsburg – Bantam Rd southeast of the GPS Coordinates
Description: Elk Lick was founded by Reverend John Collins (1769 – 1845) & Sarah (Blackman) Collins (1776 – 1863) from New Jersey & named after the natural salt licks in the area. John built a log cabin church in 1805. It was replaced with a frame church in 1818 & rebuilt in 1867. John & Sarah’s son Richard (1796 – 1855) was a War Of 1812 veteran & a wealthy lawyer. He had a 37 room mansion constructed in Elk Lick. It was the nicest house in the county for several decades but fell into disrepair & was destroyed in 1972 along with many other buildings from the old town during the William Harsha (East Fork) Lake flood control project. Approximately half of the town was flooded by the lake. John, Sarah, & Richard were buried with relatives in the cemetery.

Elston – Miami Township
Location: unknown, was east of Milford
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Elston family in the township.

Fair Oak  (Fair Oak Station) – Monroe Township
Location: 38.993916 -84.174827 
on Lindale – Mt Holly Rd at the intersection of Fair Oak Rd & Berry Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town had a train station on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad that was on the west side of Lindale – Mt Holly Rd a little north of the Gps coordinates. The tracks were sold for scrap in the late 1930s after the railroad went out of business.

Funston – Williamsburg Township
Post Office – 1901 – 1904
Location: unknown
It was listed in the 1903 ABC Pathfinder Shipping & Mailing Guide with Williamsburg having the closest train station.

Home – Pierce Township
Location: 39.024855 -84.316827 
on Old US Rt 52 at the intersection of 9 Mile Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming town with a blacksmith shop.

Hulicks – Batavia Township
Location: 39.084526 -84.148379  
on Bauer Rd at the intersection of Elmwood Rd & stretched west toward SR 132 & northeast up Bauer Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The original proprietors were James Hulick Sr. (1787 – 1875) from New Jersey & Rebecca (Weaver) Hulick (1799 – 1875) from Virginia. They were married in Ohio in 1816, had 6 children, & a nice farm. James & Rebecca were buried with relatives in Union Cemetery on Cemetery Ln in Batavia.

Maywood (Maywood Station) – Batavia Township
Location: 39.065624 -84.110180 
on Curliss Ln at the railroad track crossing between Batavia – Williamsburg Pike (Old St Rt 32) & SR 32
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Maywood was platted with 16 lots in 1877 by James Davidson (1837 – 1928) & Martha (Summers) Davidson (1837 – 1902). It had a train station on the Cincinnati Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad (Norfolk & Western Railway), a school, & a few small businesses including a general store & blacksmith shop in the late 1800s to early 1900s. James & Martha were buried with relatives in Williamsburg Cemetery at the intersection of N 8th St & Gay St in Williamsburg.

Mount Moriah – Union Township
Location: 39.067755 -84.291766 
on Mount Moriah Dr between SR 125 & Commercial Blvd
Remnants: Mount Moriah Methodist Church & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: Squeezed between Tobasco & Withamsville, Mount Moriah never had much of a chance at staying a town on its own, but it did have a stop on the “Black Line” of interurban traction cars that ran along the current road in the early 1900s. Mount Moriah Church was built in 1842, expanded in 1869, & remodeled in 1879. The cemetery sits on the former Witham Farm, purchased in 1800 by Reverend Maurice Witham (1749 – 1807) & Hannah (Bragdon) Witham (1750 – 1818), the founders of Withamsville. They were buried with relatives in the cemetery.

Nice – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1896 – 1905
Location: unknown, was between New Richmond & Nicholsville
Description: This small post office town was listed on the Ohio maps in the 1901 Cram Atlas & 1905 Rand McNally Atlas.

Nineveh (Ninevah) (Pleasant Valley) – Pierce Township
Location: 39.040044 -84.296406 
on 9 Mile Rd between Bradbury Rd & Locust Corner Rd along Ninemile Creek
Remnants: historical marker at the GPS coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded in the late 1830s by George Floro. It had several general stores over the decades, 2 blacksmiths, a doctor, wagon shop, cooperage,  school, church, & a train station on the Cincinnati & Eastern Railway. The railroad went out of business in 1889 & the tracks were removed before 1900.

Olive Branch Station (Apple’s Settlement) – Batavia & Union Township
Location: 39.084157 -84.225529 
on Old St Rt 74 at the intersection of Amelia – Olive Branch Rd
Remnants: Olive Branch Cemetery on the old section of Olive Branch – Stonelick Rd (east of the new road & dead ends before SR 32), Camp Allyn & historical marker north of the GPS coordinates on the west side of Amelia – Olive Branch Rd
Description: About 80 years prior to the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad rolling through the area, it was settled by Revolutionary War veteran Andrew Apple (1745 – 1817) & Catherine (Palm) Apple (1747 – 1822) & called Apple’s Settlement. The Apples had 11 children & a massive 2100 acre farm. The town name changed to Olive Branch in 1845. Camp Allyn on Amelia – Olive Branch Rd was the location of the Clermont County Fair from 1857 – 1863 & the grounds were used for training & mustering troops during the Civil War. Olive Branch had a train station built along the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth railroad in the late 1870s & a water pump station at Camp Allyn supplied electricity for the community & tracks as steam power was going obsolete. In the 1880s there were 2 churches, an Odd Fellows hall, several mechanic shops & dozens of houses in town. The train station closed in 1935. Andrew & Catherine Apple were buried with relatives in the old section of Olive Branch Cemetery which was originally on the family farm.

Pleasant Grove – Washington Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1860
Location: 38.854078 -84.149397 
on SR 756 at the intersection of Fruit Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming & orchard town was listed on the 1857 Clermont County map.

Pointopolis (Point Pleasant) – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1819 – 1826 & 1826 – 1883
Location: 38.894046 -84.233138 
on US 52 at the intersection of SR 232
Remnants: Birthplace Of Ulysses S. Grant & Grant Memorial United Methodist Church on SR 232 north of the GPS coordinates, several historical markers around town, Point Pleasant Cemetery on Point Pleasant Cemetery Rd north of the intersection, former one room school on SR 756 East
Description: Pointopolis was the original name of the Point Pleasant post office from 1813 – 1826. It was platted by Joseph Jackson (1774 – 1841) who later moved to Indiana. The town is most know for being the birthplace of Ulysses S. Grant, general of the Union troops during the Civil War & 18th president of the U.S. from 1869 – 1877. The cemetery & school are the only places you have to drive to. Everything else is in walking distance with parking somewhere in town. We recommend starting at Grant Park next to the Ohio River.

Simpkinsville (Ashdale) – Stonelick Township
Location: 39.172397 -84.152062 
on SR 131 at the intersection of Baas Rd
Remnants: Simpkins Family Cemetery on private property behind 2100 State Rt 131 (ask permission before visiting)
Description: The proprietors were David Simpkins (1809 – 1889) & Lucinda (Robinson) Simpkins (1812 – 1879). David built a cooper shop in the late 1820s & the town had a couple of blacksmith shops & local schools in the mid to late 1800s. It currently goes by the name Ashdale. David & Lucinda were buried with relatives in Plainview Cemetery on the south side of SR 131 east of the Gps coordinates. Some of their children & other relatives were buried in Simpkins Family Cemetery.

South Milford Station – Union Township & City Of Milford (formerly in Miami Township)
Location: 39.154827 -84.288557 
on Round Bottom Rd at the intersection of South Milford Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a train station on the Norfolk & Western Railway & around a half dozen houses.

Spann (Ten Mile) – Pierce Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1883 & 1892 – 1905
Location: 39.009012 -84.259778 
on SR 749 (10 Mile Rd) at the intersection of Cole Rd along Tenmile Creek & streched north up Cole Rd
Remnants: former general store in the lot on the northwest side of the GPS coordinates, historical marker north of the GPS coordinates on the east side of Cole Rd, former school at the intersection of Cole Rd & Merwin 10 mile Rd, Ten Mile (Old Pierce Township) Cemetery on Bristol Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Spann was originally called Ten Mile & was a & transportation hub for travelers with a public water well. A Baptist congregation formed in 1802 with a small stone church next to Ten mile Cemetery. Another church congregation formed in 1819 about 4 miles east to serve the growing local population & was dedicated as the Second Ten Mile Baptist Church. It grew so large that another town had to be established & so Lindale came into existence. A brick church was built there in 1853 & still stands today on SR 132 near the intersection of 10 Mile Rd. The general store was built in 1860 & managed by Marion Butler (1847 – 1918). Spann’s first post office was called Peoples from 1880 – 1882 with Samuel H. Peoples (1820 – 1890) being its postmaster. The name changed to Ten Mile & it was discontinued in 1883 but a new office named Spann opened in 1892. Pierce Township School No. 4 was also known as the Corner School & was in operation from the late 1800s to early 1900s.

Summit Station – Batavia Township
Location: 39.076502 -84.140990 
on Herold Rd at the intersection of Hospital Dr
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town had a train station on the Cincinnati, Portsmouth, & Virginia Railroad (Norfolk & Western Railway) & a few houses, but never grew to a size of much importance. The tracks in that area were removed & rerouted to the south.

Swings (Swings Station) (Swings Corner) – Tate Township
Location: 38.967524 -84.116260   
on Swings Corner Point Isabel Rd at the intersection of Crane Schoolhouse Rd
Remnants: Swing Family Cemetery on the north side of SR 125 west of Bethel (above painted retaining wall), old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by the massive Swing family in the township. It had a church, school, & a train station on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad. Most of the family was buried in Swing Cemetery & some in the Old Settlers Burying Ground on SR 133 in Bethel.

Walkers Mills – Tate township
Location: 38.946756 -84.055720 
on Patterson Rd between Airport Rd & Sodom Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by William T. Walker & had a train station on the Cincinnati, Georgetown, & Portsmouth Railroad.

Wood And Mannings Station – Washington Township
Location38.857124 -84.173895   
on Turkey Foot Rd between SR 756 & Haul Rd along Little Indian Creek
Remnants: Wood Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was the first town in southern Clermont County & was founded by John & David Wood & Elisha, Isaac, Nathan, & Richard Manning in 1795. They immediately built a stockade & double log cabin for their families to live in & the town to grow around. Daniel Boone, Simon Kenton, & Cornelius Washburn occasionally visited the cabin to rest & associate during their lengthy travels. Despite the importance of the settlement to the county & township, it didn’t last into the mid 1800s as the families scattered around & made their marks in other areas & towns. The cemetery is one of the oldest in the county & a very impressive site to explore.

Clinton County Ohio Ghost Towns

Cedarville – Richland Township
Location: unknown, was 50 miles southwest of Columbus
Description: This small farming town had a Baptist church & was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer books from 1929 – 1841.

Macedonia – Washington Township
Post Office: 1871 – 1872
Location: 39.328999 -83.859235 
on Macedonia Rd at the intersection of Hunter Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Madedonia was never platted. It had a church, school, blacksmith shop, & about 10 houses in its heyday of the 1870s.

Morgantown – Green Township
Location: 39.345310 -83.711797 
on SR 73 between SR 729 & Levo Rd
Remnants: Swingley Farm (Morgantown) Cemetery on the northeast of SR 73 behind the house between SR 729 & Levo Rd
Description: Morgan Van Meter (Matre) (1765 – 1813) & Mary (Pierce) Van Meter were the first settlers in Clinton County & had 10 children. Morgan built a small tavern close to East Fork around 1800, the first opened between Chillicothe & Cincinnati. He was a surveyor & convinced local officials to run a newly proposed road (present day SR 73) through his land. Morgan then constructed a larger tavern & hotel along the road. He passed away in 1813 & is reportedly buried under SR 73 near where the tavern was. The town was later platted in 1816 by Isaac Pearson Jr. & Mary Van Meter but only had a few houses. Residents were buried in Swingley Farm (Morgantown) Cemetery.

Ogles – Liberty Township
Location: 39.540616 -83.831593 
on Gano Rd between Hiney Rd & Bailey Rd
Remnants – New Burlington – Oglesbee Cemetery on private property about 500 feet east of McKay Rd south of New Burlington Rd
Description: It was along the Dayton, Toledo, & Ironton Railroad on land owned by Reese Oglesbee (1820 – 1875) & Ann (Shambaugh) Oglesbee (1835 – 1916). They had a couple of children, a nice farm, & were buried with many relatives in New Burlington – Oglesbee Cemetery. The land the cemetery is on was owned by Reese’s parents, John Oglesbee (1786 – 1840) & Sarah (Stump) Oglesbee (1791 – 1873), who were pioneers in the county & had 8 children.

Quinn’s Mills – Wayne Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1852
Location: 39.440084 -83.615746   
on Hornbeam Rd at the intersection of SR 729
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by David Quinn (1804 – 1867) who was a farmer, stock dealer, built a grist & saw mill, & was a representative in the state legislature from 1857 – 1858. It also had a school & church. David was buried with relatives in Sugar Grove Cemetery on W Truesdell St in Wilmington.

Crawford County Ohio Ghost Towns

Biddle (Biddle Mills) – Sandusky Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1904
Location: 40.840334 -82.818237   
on Biddle Rd at the intersection with Loss Creek Rd
Remnants: Lutheran Evangelical Church at the Gps coordinates, Biddle Cemetery on south side of Remlinger Rd (County Highway 49) between Dice Rd & Kile Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by Reverend Alex Biddle (1809 – 1898). He preached at the United Brethren church where he was buried in the cemetery along with 3 former wives & a son, John B. Biddle, who died in battle in the Civil War.

Camp Run
Post Office: dates unknown
Location: unknown
Description: Camp Run was listed as a postal town in the 1854 A New And Complete Gazetteer Of The United States, & the Ohio State Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1860- ’61.

Fauser – Chatfield Township
Location: 40.921235 -82.940222   
on Carey Rd at the railroad crossing  between SR 4 & Shwemly Rd
Remnants: Lust  (Pietest) Cemetery on SR 4 at the intersection with Carey Rd, many old small family cemeteries in the surrounding area
Description: It was founded by German Immigrant John G. Fauser (1811 – 1892) & Magdaline (Crum) Fauser (d. 1893). They had a 160 acre farm, 9 children, & a one room log cabin which was improved as the family success continued. The town sat along the Toledo & Ohio Central Railway in its later years, but didn’t have a train station. Most of the residents were buried in Lust Cemetery.

Frankfort
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Glenville – Bucyrus Township
Location: 40.813594 -83.050774   
on Glenville Rd at the intersection of Heinle Rd & the railroad crossing
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Glenville had a sawmill & a train station on the Pennsylvania Railroad. The area still goes by the same name, although it lost the official status of being a town.

Holmes
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Jacksonville
Location: unknown
Description: none found

North Liberty  (Hog Town) – Chatfield Township
Location: 40.941041 -82.947225   
on SR 4 between Orr Rd & Nazareth Lutheran Church & Cemetery
Remnants: many small family cemeteries in the area
Description: North Liberty was platted with 19 lots in 1834 by John Henry. The town’s only business was an ashery. John wasn’t a well liked guy, a notorious pig poacher whose love for bacon got the best of him as he was shot in a thigh after getting caught by two local hunters. The town was mostly abandoned by the time the church was built & John moved west out of the county.

Whetstone
Post Office: 1833 – 1838
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Cuyahoga County Ohio Ghost Towns

Alger Settlement – City Of Cleveland (formerly in Rockport Township)
Location: 41.450146 -81.816779
on SR 10 (Lorain Ave) at the intersection of SR 237 (Rocky River Dr)
Remnants: 2 churches on the east side SR 237 south of the intersection, Alger Cemetery on Bradgate Ave east of SR 237 south of the intersection
Description: Nathan Alger (1765 – 1813) & Priscilla (Peet) Alger Woodworth made the journey to Ohio from Litchfield County, Connecticut & arrived in Rockport Township on June 7, 1812. They were the first settlers in the area & had 7 children. Priscilla remarried after Nathan passed away. He is believed to the the first person of European ancestry who died in the township. The cemetery was officially established in 1828. Alger Settlement had a steam powered saw mill in the 1850s & a general store, toll house, & 2 churches in the 1870s. The town was mentioned in the 1879 History Of Cuyahoga County, but fell into obscurity by the 1900s.

Brighton (Brighton Village) – City Of Cleveland (formerly in Brooklyn Township)
Post Office: 1836 – 1867
Location: 41.440787 -81.705506
on US 42 (Pearl Rd) at the intersection of Memphis Ave
Remnants: Brookmere Cemetery on Broadview Rd west off of US 42
Description: The area around Brighton was settled in the 1810s. Warren Young (1787 – 1832) platted the town & it had some later additions. Samuel Barstow incorporated Brighton in 1837. He was the town’s first postmaster & ran an education academy that didn’t last long. Brighton’s first store opened in 1840. The village failed to attract a railroad & had its ups & downs with growth. By the 1870s the population was about 800. It had a wagon factory, hotel, 3 churches, a school, tannery, & several other small businesses. Brighton Cemetery was purchased by the City Of Cleveland in 1906 & merged with Brooklyn Township & South Brooklyn Cemeteries to form Brookmere Cemetery. Many early residents, including Warren Young & members of the Barstow & Brainard families were buried there.  

Coe Ridge – City Of North Olmsted (formerly in Dover Township)
Post Office: 1844 – 1900
Location: 41.426615 -81.894726
on SR 10 (Lorain Ave) at the intersection of SR 252 (Columbia Rd)
Remants: Coe Ridge Cemetery on SR 10 at the intersection of Walter Rd
Description: Asher Coe (1789 – 1867) & Abigail (Wilcox) Coe (1790 – 1876) were married in Connecticut in 1814, had a few children, & moved to Ohio in 1823. They bought a farm & founded Coe Ridge in 1824. Asher was the town’s first postmaster until 1864. Coe Ridge had a hotel, school, church, & many residences & small businesses lined along SR 10 & SR 252. Asher & Abigail were buried with relatives in Coe Ridge Cemetery. It was established in 1845.

Cowans – City Of Solon & Village Of Bedford Heights (formerly in Solon & Bedford Township)
Location: 41.379263 -81.488923
on Richmond Rd at the intersection of Hawthorn Pkwy along Tinkers Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Scottish immigrants George Cowan (1825 – 1907) & Mary (Forbes) Cowan (1828 – 1911). They had 9 children & a 200 acre farm along the Cleveland, Canton, & Southern Railroad. George was also a trustee of the First Baptist Church  in Bedford. The Cowans were buried with relatives in Bedford Cemetery on SR 14 (Broadway Ave).

Frostville – City Of North Olmsted (formerly in Olmsted Township)
Post Office: 1829 – 1843
Location: 41.412539 -81.894409
on Columbia Rd at the intersection of Kennedy Ridge Rd
Remnants: museum with several restored 1800s buildings from the area & a historical marker on Cedar Point Rd at the intersection of Lewis Rd
Description: It was a farming & mill town founded by the Frost family in the township. The museum hosts events & is run by the Olmsted Historical Society. Its church on the property is available for wedding reservations. There’s more info on their website olmstedhistoricalsociety.org/. Some of the members of the Frost family were buried in Butternut Ridge Cemetery on Butternut Ridge Rd south of the GPS coordinates.

Griffithsburg – Village Of Bentleyville (formerly in Chagrin Falls Township)
Location: 41.410562 -81.411887
Post Office: 1837 – 1840
on Solon Rd at Bentleyville Community Park along the Chagrin River
Remnants: sandstone mill foundation next to the Chagrin River between Quarry Rock Picnic Area & Solon Rd
Description: General James Griffith built a sawmill in the early 1830s & had high hopes of starting a flourishing town. About 20 residences popped up along the river & the town had a blacksmith shop, school, general store, & a few other small businesses. It couldn’t keep up with Chagrin Falls, Solon, & Bentleyville though & faded out of existence in the mid 1800s. 

Horse Shoe Glens
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Horst – City Of Cleveland (formerly in Newburgh Township)
Post Office: 1896 – 1900
Location: unknown
was in eastern Newburgh Township
Description: It was named after a branch of the Horst family in the county. The post office name changed to Miles & remained in operation until 1903.

Lake Hamlet – City Of Cleveland (formerly in East Cleveland Township)
Location: unknown
Description: This short-lived village was established in 1895.

Little Egypt – Village Of Walton Hills (formerly in Bedford Township)
Location: 41.374043 -81.579778
on Dunham Rd at the intersection of Tinkers Creek Rd
Remnants: Gleeson (Gleason Cemetery) on top of a hill on the east side of Dunham Rd across from the former grounds of Astorhorst County Club,Tinkers Creek Cemetery on the north side of Tinkers Creek Road east of Canal Road behind Valley View Village Church
Description: Stephen & Marie Comstock ventured from Connecticut to Ohio in 1814 & raised the first large family in the area. Moses Gleeson (1782 – 1868) & Polly (Richardson) Gleeson (1789 – 1870) from New York arrived in 1818. They had 10 children & were the richest landowners in Little Egypt, naming the town after a pyramid shaped mound on their property where the family established its cemetery. Moses & Polly owned a couple of mills, a distillery, & constructed the “World’s End Tavern”. It was two houses combined together, one side for the family & the other side for lodgers, aptly named as it was situated on a steep hilltop overlooking Tinkers Creek. After running the tavern for several years, the Gleesons built a nice two-story brick house on the south side of Tinkers Creek in 1840 & a steam powered saw mill in what’s now the Hermit’s Hollow Picnic Area in the Bedford Reservation of the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. The New York Central Railroad was built through town in the early 1900s. Little Egypt turned into a resort community with small cottages lining the streets & creek in the mid-1900s & the town was annexed into Walton Hills in 1951. The Walton Hills Historical Resource Center conducts tours of Little Egypt, usually in March & May every year, meeting in the Hemlock Creek Pavilion parking lot in the Bedford Reservation. The Comstock family was buried in Tinkers Creek Cemetery & most of the Gleeson family graves were moved their former land to Bedford Cemetery on Broadway Ave in Bedford.

Marcy – Village Of Cuyahoga Heights (formerly in Newburgh Township)
Location: 41.430629 -81.662370
in the Miami & Erie Canal Reservation park off of E 49th St
Remnants: Marcy Trestle (Short Line Bridge) crossing the Cuyahoga River
Description: This small town was along the Lake Erie & Pittsburgh Railroad & had a freight yard. Marcy Trestle was constructed in 1907 by the King Bridge Company of Cleveland. It’s still in use by CSX & dozens of trains roll across it on a daily basis. There’s a few good spots around the canal park for viewing & photographing the trains. 

Mill Creek (Newburgh Village) – City Of Cleveland (formerly in Newburgh Township)
Post Office: 1812 – 1818
Location: 41.431022 -81.587240
Remnants: none known
Description: Although Mill Creek is still a populated area & pops up on Google Maps, it’s not considered to be a present town. It had several mills dating back to 1799 when the first grist mill was built in the county & in the Western Reserve at the creek falls. It was constructed by Major Ezra Wyatt (1772 – 1851) from Newburgh, New York & William Wheeler Williams (1760 – 1831) from Hartford County, Connecticut. Iron for the mill was supplied by the Connecticut Land Company & the grinding stones were acquired from a quarry on Mill Creek. A saw mill was added to the site in 1800. Newburgh Village popped up around the mills but was annexed into Cleveland’s 18th Ward before the 1874 county atlas was printed. Ezra was buried with relatives in Brecksville Cemetery on Highland Dr & William was buried with relatives in Harvard Grove Cemetery on Lansing Ave. There’s also a small park at the falls on Webb Terrace.

Noble Beach – City Of Euclid (formerly in Euclid Township)
Location: 41.613086 -81.526787
on Noble Beach Dr at the intersection of 224th St
Remnants: none known
Description: none found 

North Warrensville – (formerly in Warrensville Township)
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Pardee
Post Office: 1892 – 1895
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Pardee family in the county.

Phinneys Corners (North Dover) – City Of Westlake (formerly in Dover Township)
Post Office: 1828 – 1914
Location: 41.465934 -81.930454
on SR 254 (Detroit Rd) at the intersection of Cahoon Rd along Cahoon Creek
Remnants: Saint Paul Lutheran Cemetery on the north side of SR 254
Description: The town was founded by Sylvanus Phinney (1778 – 1852) & Lucy (Kingsley) Phinney (1782 – 1843) who moved Ohio from Becket, Massachusetts in the early 1810s. Their son Calvin (1809 – 1870) took over proprietorship of Phinneys Corners & ran the post office, general store, & a tannery on his property on the south side of the intersection at the GPS coordinates. The post office was called North Dover. Sylvanus was married twice & had 10 children. In the 1870s, Calvin’s son Alberto Phinney was operating the general store & post office. East of the main intersection & on the north side of SR 254, Charles Brenner (1830 – 1893) had a hotel & grocery store at his residence. It was at the same spot as the present day Dover Gardens Tavern at 27402 Detroit Rd. The tavern building was constructed in 1890 & Charles’s son George inherited the land. It closed in 2014 after the driver of a stolen pick-up truck crashed into the building & injured 12 people inside. The tavern has since been reopened. Saint Paul Lutheran Church congregation formed in 1858 & established a school & the cemetery in the 1860s. Its former wood frame church was constructed in 1877 & was replaced in 1973. The Phinney family & Charles Brenner were buried with relatives in Evergreen Westlake Cemetery on SR 113 (Center Ridge Rd) south of town.     

Spragueville
Location: unknown
Description: It was near Strongsville & was named after the Sprague family in the county.

Town House Corners – Olmsted Township
Location: unknown
on SR 252 (Columbia Rd) between John Rd & Butternut Ridge Rd
Description: Town House Corners had a Union Church built around 1835 & a few residences & small businesses. The church was also used as a local meeting hall. 

Willeyville – City Of Cleveland (formerly in Brooklyn Township)
Location: 41.480797 -81.697502
on Willey Ave between Columbus Rd & Scranton Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1837 & named after John Willey (1797 – 1841), Cleveland’s first mayor from 1836 – 1837. The town was instrumental in connecting roads in the area to make travel in & out of Cleveland’s south side much easier. Willeyville didn’t last very long though & didn’t make it onto the 1858 county map. John Willey was buried with relatives in Erie Street Cemetery on E 9th St in Cleveland.

Darke County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bruss – Butler Township 
Post Office: 1883 – 1885
Location: 39.990000 -84.631764   
on US 127 at the intersection of Arcanum Hollansburg Rd
Remnants: former one room schoolhouse at the intersection of Arcanum Hollansburg Rd & SR 503 east of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by Civil War veteran Asariah Bruss (1843 – 1923) & Mary (Hittle) Bruss (1848 – 1916). They settled in section 11 of Butler Township in 1872, had 11 children, & were buried with relatives in Oak Grove Cemetery on SR 121.

Chenoweths – Washington Township
Post Office: 1824 – 1839
Location: 40.092228 -84.783666   
on the north side of Greenville – Nashville Rd along North Fork Kraut Creek between Stocksdale Rd (279) & Hillgrove – Southern Rd (T-52)
Remnants: Chenoweth (Carnahan) Cemetery in an overgrown area about halfway between the GPS coordinates & SR 502
Descrpiton: It was founded by War Of 1812 veteran John Chenoweth (1797 – 1851) from Pike County & Mary (Barger) Chenoweth (1799 – 1876) from Virginia. They moved to Darke County around 1820 & had a big family. John was a farmer & brick maker. The town was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer & Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841. John & Mary were buried with relatives in Chenoweth Cemetery.

Danemora – Mississinawa Township
Location: unknown
Description: The town was listed in the 1880 Valuation Of The Real Property Of The State Of Ohio & a couple of other obscure books, one from 1847 & another in 1866.

Delvin – Wabash Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1903
Location: 40.324984 -84.534199   
on N Star Fort Laramie Rd at the intersection of Mangen Rd (54)
Remnants: St. Louis Cemetery at the intersection, Tea Cup (Teacup or Weaver) Cemetery on the north side of N Star Fort Laramie Rd west of the GPS coordinates
Description: This small farming town had a church & blacksmith shop.

Hetzlerville – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1869 – 1881
Location: 40.205759 -84.722309   
on private property on both sides of the railroad tracks east of Young Rd between Union City – Elroy Rd & Beamsville – Union City Rd
Remnants: none known
It was on the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railway, named after the Hetzler family in the county, & had a general store & steam saw mill.

Hunters (Huntertown) – Greenville Township
Location: 40.165164 -84.637132 
on Hunter Rd at the intersection of SR 118
Remnants: Newcomer (Earhart) Cemetery on the west side of SR 118 south of the intersection
Description: The town was founded by the Hunter family in the area & had a church & school. Most of the residents were buried in the cemetery.

London – Liberty Township (formerly  German Township)
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

Matchett (Matchett’s Corner) – Butler Township
Post Office: 1855 – 1862
Location: 40.001178 -84.633117   
on US 127 at the intersection of SR 503
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietor was Eric Matchett (1791 – 1867) from New York who had a few children with his first wife Joananh (Hendrickson) Matchett (1798 – 1839) from New Jersey. They arrived in Ohio around 1820, originally living in Butler County before moving to Darke County in the early 1830s. Eric married Rebecca (Law) Matchett (1795 – 1862) after Joananh passed away. The town had a hotel & church. The Matchetts were buried with relatives in Greenville Union Cemetery on West St in Greenville.

Mina (Mina Town) (North Greenville) – Greenville Township
Location: 40.105770 -84.639399   
on N Main St at the intersection of Wayne St
Remnants: Water Street Cemetery at the intersection of E Water St & Ash St in Greenville
Description: Platted in 1818, Mina was founded by War Of 1812 veteran Azor Scribner (1778 – 1822) from New York & Nancy Scribner -Russell (1785 – 1849) who had 8 daughters. Azor arrived in Darke County in 1806, built a trading post, & was the first permanent settler of the county. He left his family behind in Middletown until constructing a decent cabin in Darke & deeming the location safe enough to bring everyone else along in 1808. Azor also built a tavern which was the site of the first court session in the county. Certain details of the event have been disputed, but it’s likely Azor shot & killed Shawnee Chief Tecumseh, who he personally knew & previously traded with, during the Battle Of Fallen Timbers (Battle Of Thames) on October 5, 1813. Azor was buried with relatives in Water Street Cemetery. Nancy remarried after he passed away.

Mount Pleasant – Washington, Greenville, & Liberty Township
Location: 40.094685 -84.707130 
on New Madison – Coletown Rd at the intersection of Greenville – Nashville Rd
Remnants: Hiller (Heller) Cemetery on the west side of New Madison – Coletown Rd north of the intersection, Dininger Cemetery on the west side of New Madison – Coletown Rd south of the intersection
Description: It had 2 churches & a school.

Saint John – Greenville Township
Location: 40.131789 -84.599186   
on SR 121 (Marker Rd) at the intersection of Jaysville – St Johns Rd
Remnants: St John Lutheran Church & Cemetery on SR 121 northeast of the intersection
Description: German immigrants purchased the land in the area that was passed up by earlier settlers who thought it wasn’t any good. With hard work the Germans turned it into nicely cultivated farms & tobacco was the main crop. They formed a Lutheran congregation in 1851 & built a log church the following year. It was replaced by the brick church that still stands in 1876 as the success of the farms kept growing. Saint John had very nice houses & tobacco sheds in the late 1800s to early 1900s. It was never abandoned but was annexed into Greenville & lost its status as a separate town.

Sampson – Neave, Van Buren, Butler, & Twin Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1858
Location: 40.004669 -84.598124   
on Hollansburg – Sampson Rd at the intersection of Jaysville – St Johns Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Sampson was platted in 1846 & had a general store, tavern, steam saw mill, school, & church. The population in 1880 was around 350. It was abandoned in the late 1800s when the Dayton & Union Railroad was built through Delisle & Sampson couldn’t keep up with it economically.

Seven Mile Prairie
Post Office: 1841 – 1863
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Strakers (Straker’s Station) – Patterson Township
Location: 40.306231 -84.495347   
on Yorkshire – Osgood Rd at the intersection of Foote Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietor, Civil War veteran Henry Straker (1827 – 1901), moved to Ohio from Germany with his widowed mother & brothers in 1834. He married Nancy (Swallow) Straker (1836 – 1871) in 1852. They had 10 children & Nancy passed away just two weeks after their last children, a set of twins, were born. Henry remarried twice after that. He accumulated over 500 acres & ran a tile factory & steam saw mill on the land. Products were shipped out from a train station on the Dayton, Ft. Wayne, & Chicago Railway. Henry was buried with relatives in Greenlawn Cemetery on N Greenlawn Ave in Versailles.

Wiley (Wiley Station) – Harrison Township
Post Office: 1864 – 1904
Location: 39.935119 -84.759922   
on Braffettsville – North Rd at the intersection of Wiley Rd
Remnants: Providence Cemetery on the south side of Wiley Rd
Description: It was founded by Caleb Wiley (1799 – 1888) from Virginia & Elizabeth (Sprowl) Wiley (1817 – 1909) from Preble County. They had 7 children & a nice farm. Caleb built a saw mill & the town also had a church & school. It was on the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis Railway. Caleb & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Providence Cemetery.

Defiance County Ohio Ghost Towns

Arrowsmiths – Farmer Township
Post Office: 1843 – 1866
Location: 41.350111 -84.671121
on SR 2 at the intersection with Ensign Rd
Description: Lost Creek Cemetery on SR 2 north of the GPS Coordinates, former school across the street from the cemetery at the intersection of Dalrymple Rd
Description: The town was founded by Miller Arrowsmith (1808 – 1893) & Celinda (Caraway) Arrowsmith (1813 – 1849) who bought a farm at Lost Creek & had a couple of children. Miller built a mill, operated the post office & was a county surveyor. The Arrowsmiths were buried in Lost Creek Cemetery. The old school is now a private residence.

Ashwood – Defiance & Delaware Township
Post Office: 1879 – 1880
Location: 41.255882 -84.457169
on Ashwood Rd  around the railroad tracks between Defiance Paulding County Line Rd & US 24

Remnants: none known
Descripton: The proprietors were the Harmening family. It was a farming town with a train station on the Wabash Railway.

Cicero (Cicero Corners) – Milford & Hicksville Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1901
Location: 41.339494 -84.709400     
on Cicero Rd at the intersection with Huber Rd along North Fork Gordon Creek
Remnants: Six Corners Cemetery on the south side of SR 2 between Cicero Rd & Lake Rd
Description: Cicero had a few small businesses but was mostly a farming town.

Clarksville – Milford Township 
Location: 41.422272 -84.768013   
on Williams Defiance County Line Rd at the intersection of Hicksville Edgerton Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1836 by Elisha Clark. During the heyday it had two stores, two taverns, & two doctors.

Domersville – Adams Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1899
Location: 41.384157 -84.324051   
on Domersville Rd at the intersection of Coressel Rd
Remnants: Domersville Cemetery south of the GPS coordinates on the west side of Domersville Rd between Coressel Rd & Mekus Rd, former school next to cemetery. 
Description: It was founded by Joshua Domer (1842 – 1915 & Mary Elizabeth (Sullivan) Domer (1848 – 1918). They were buried with relatives in Poplar Ridge Cemetery on Adams Ridge Rd.

Glenburg – Washington & Tiffin Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1905
Location: 41.425050 -84.459115   
on Glenburg Rd between Defiance Williams County Line Rd & Scott Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was another small farming & postal town.

Lawtonville – Milford Township
Location: 41.368106 -84.786347   
on Casebeer Miller Rd at the intersection with Seevers Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by the Lawton family in the area.

McCauleys – Tiffin Township
Post Office: 1860 – 1864
Location: 41.369719 -84.419019   
on Evansport Rd at the intersection of Kammeyer Rd
Remnants: McCauley Cemetery at the intersection
Description: The town founders were Phillip McCauley (1823 – 1892) & Mary (Wissler) McCauley      (1819 – 1899) who moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania. They had 6 children & a 160 acre farm. Phillip was also a school director, justice of the peace, & township trustee. They were buried in the cemetery with relatives.

Midway – Richland Township
Location: 41.275048 -84.266056   
on Harris Rd at the railroad crossing between SR 281 & Standley Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Midway sat on the B&O Railroad.

Millport – Milford Township
Location: unknown, was in the northwestern portion of the township along the Saint Joseph River
Description: none found

Milo – Milford Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1884
Location: 41.382755 -84.726255   
on SR 249 between Lake Rd & Cicero Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The founders were township pioneers George Chapman (1802 – 1870) & Marcissa (Hopkins) Chapman (1802 – 1870). They were buried with relatives in Farmer Cemetery on Cemetery Rd in Farmer Township.

Nebo – Mark Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1904
Location: 41.267012 -84.669177   
on Jericho Rd along Gordon Creek at the intersection with Breininger Rd
Remnants: former one room schoolhouse in the lot at the northwest corner of the intersection, Spindler Cemetery on the west side of Breininger Rd south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Nebo was founded & named by Civil War veteran George Spealman (1834 – 1915) who operated a general store & ran the post office. The town also had a saw mill, cider mill, & a school. George was buried in Spindler Cemetery.

Oakland – Adams Township
Location: unknown, was in the southeast corner of the township in section 36
Description: none found

Snooksville – Delaware Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1861
Location: 41.283909 -84.515686   
on The Bend Rd at the intersection of Main St & stretched to the other side of the Maumee River
Remnants: Blue Cemetery on the west side of the end of Jacobs Trail Rd toward the river, Saint Stephens Catholic cemetery on the east side of The Bend Rd south of the railroad tracks
Description: The town was founded by the Snook family in the area.

Whites Mills – Delaware Township
Post Office: 1875 – 1876
Location: 41.275372 -84.460155   
on County Rd 424 between Ashwood Rd & Tittle Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This mill & business town sat on the B & O Railroad. It had a hotel, two saw mills, & a large frame school.

Wilseyville – Farmer Township
Post Office: 1865 – 1883
Location: 41.354244 -84.669194   
on SR 2 at the intersection of Blosser Rd
Remnants: Lost Creek Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: John Derrick Wilsey (1828 – 1870) built a boat oar factory on the north side of Miller Arrowsmith’s farm & opened a post office. Workers lived in scattered houses around the area. John was born in New York, got married in Pennsylvania before going to Ohio & ended up in Minnesota.

Erie County Ohio Ghost Towns

Abbott Bridge (Abbott Crossing) (Wards Landing)  (Fries Landing) – Milan Township (formerly Avery Township, Huron County)
Location: 41.336104 -82.583693   
on Mason Rd between Mudbrook Rd & the Huron River
Remnants: Abbott Home & Homer Page Farm at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was originally settled by David Abbott (1766 – 1822) & Mary (Brown) Abbott (1770 –  1849) who moved to Ohio from Massachusetts & accumulated 1800 acres which stretched on both sides of the river. After David passed away, the biggest land owner & entrepreneur was Jared Ward (1767 – 1857). Valentine Fries (1826 – 1900) was the last proprietor, a grocery store owner & later a ship builder in the 1870s & 1880s. The Abbott Home was built in 1824 & made it onto the National Register Of Historic Places in 1975.

Ashmont – Vermilion Township
Post Office: 1886 – 1901
Location: 41.376178 -82.439792 
on Joppa Rd at the railroad crossing at the intersection of Ashmont Rd
Remnants: old houses in the area
Description: Ashmont sat on the “Nickel Plate Road” (New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad) but didn’t have a train station.

Bloomville
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Cookes Corners (Cooks Corner) (Four Corners) (North Monroeville) – Oxford Township
Post Office: 1840 – 1857
Location: 41.288128 -82.725493 
on Patten Tract Rd (County Hwy 42) at the intersection of SR 113 on the Huron County border
Remnants: North Monroeville (Cooke) Cemetery on the west side of SR 99 south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Cookes Corners was the former town at the current location of North Monroeville. The proprietors were ancestors of Revolutionary War veteran Captain Asaph Cooke (1748 – 1826) & Thankful (Parker) Cooke (1745 – 1819). They were buried with relatives in North Monroeville (Cooke) Cemetery.

Enterprise – Oxford Township
Location: 41.292647 -82.664730 
on SR 113 at the intersection of Huber Rd on the north side of the Huron River
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming & merchant town from the mid 1800s to early 1900s. The area appears to never have been completely abandoned as a row of residential lots sit in the same spot as the ones on the 1865 Worley & Brocher map.

Furnace – Vermilion Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1857
Location: 41.361953 -82.410439   
on Furnace Rd at the intersection of  Darrow Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming town was once the home of the oldest church congregation in the township which was moved there in 1836.

Groton (Groton Centre) – Groton Township (formerly Wheatsborough)
Post Office: 1851 – 1884
Location: 41.337414 -82.830176   
on SR 269 between Portland Rd & Strecker Rd
Remnants: Deyo Cemetery on the north side of Portland Rd west of SR 269
Description: The post office & a blacksmith shop across the road were on land owned by Dr. John P. Deyo (1804 – 1898) & Sarah (Foster) Deyo (1819 – 1887). They had a few children & a large farm. The post office was later moved to the center of the township & operated by A.J. Hastings. John & Sarah were buried with many relatives in Deyo Cemetery.

Harpers Corners (Berlin Station) (Ceylon) – Berlin Township (formerly Eldridge)
Post Office: 1858 – 1904
Location: 41.371715 -82.493781 
on Ceylon Rd (SR 61) at the railroad crossing between N Depot St & South Depot St
Remnants: Peaks Cemetery on Darrow Rd southeast of the GPS   coordinates
Description: Harpers Corners was the original name of Ceylon & was founded by Joseph Harper (c. 1760 – 1820) who came to Ohio from Vermont. He had a few children with Esther (Dean) Adams (1767 – 1842). She remarried after his death & her gravestone is still intact in Peaks Cemetery. In the mid to late 1800s, it had a train station on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway, a hotel, two stores, two saloons, & a saw mill.

Huronia Beach – Huron Township
Location: 41.403060 -82.566751   
on Huronia Beach Dr at the intersection of Cleveland Rd W
Description: It was once a separate small town but is now a neighborhood in the City of Huron & has newer residences in the area.

Jay
Post Office: 1839 – 1842
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Lyme – Lyme Township
Location: 41.283782 -82.786251 
at the intersection of SR 113 & SR 4
Remnants: Historic Lyme Village at 5001 State Route 4 Bellvue, OH 44811, Lyme Congregational Church on SR 113, Strongs Ridge Cemetery on the southeast side of SR 113 east of SR 4
Description: Lyme was a town from 1815 to the mid 1900s & sat on the Nickel Plate Road (Railroad). It’s now part of Bellvue. The historic village has a website. lymevillage.com/

Miami
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Muscash – Margaretta Township
Location: unknown, was in the northwest corner of the township
Description: Muscash was the site of the first religious congregation in the township & founded by Methodists. It was also a trading post for Native Americans who usually wanted cash instead of goods, hence the town name.

New Berlin (Berlin Heights) – Berlin Township (formerly Eldridge)
Location: 41.325149 -82.493396   
at the 4 way intersection of W Main St, E Main St, Lake St, & South St (SR 61)
Remnants: Riverside (New Berlin Heights) Cemetery on the east side of South St south of town
Description: New Berlin was the original name of Berlin Heights in the early to mid 1800s.

Perkins – Perkins Township
Post Office: 1816 – 1843
Location: 41.408489 -82.702700 
on Campbell St at the intersection of Strub Rd
Remnants: Fellowship Baptist Church south of the intersection
Description: The town was named by surveyor Almon Ruggles after U.S. Congressman Elias Perkins from New London, Connecticut. It sat on the B & O Railroad but didn’t have a train station.

Point Hope – Berlin Township (formerly Eldridge)
Location: unknown
Description: In 1860 a “Free Love” communistic village formed with 20 members who made the trip to Ohio from New England. They recruited a whopping one resident of the area & the village lasted a little less than a year.

Prairieville – Perkins Township
Post Office: 1858 – 1861
Location: unknown
Description: The town was founded by Addison Mixter (1829 – 1890) from Massachusetts & Jane (Wolverton) Mixter (1828 – 1906) from New Jersey. They met & married in Ohio, built a general store, & ran the post office. Addison & Jane were buried with relatives in Scott Union Cemetery on Huron – Avery Rd in Huron.

Prout (Prouts Station) – Oxford Township
Post Office: 1872 – 1905
Location: 41.351440 -82.699904    
on W Mason Rd between Campbell St & Ransom Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Andrew Prout (1811 – 1881) & Mary (Carpenter) Prout (1818 – 1903). Andrew was a shoe maker & also sold clocks. They were married in 1833, purchased a 100 acre farm, & had several children. Andrew was the first postmaster & the town had a train station on the B & O Railroad. They were buried with relatives in Sandhill Cemetery on W Mason Rd at the intersection of Skadden Rd.

Ransoms – Margaretta Township, Erie County & Townsend Township, Sandusky County
Location: 41.391392 -82.845902   
on both sides of Carson Pass between Herr Rd in Erie County & Teems Rd in Sandusky County
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Charles H. Ransom (1821 – 1901) from Connecticut & Susan (Slaughter) Ransom (1826 – 1917) from New York. They were pioneers of the township, had 6 children, & owned 764 acres of land engaging in farming & stock dealing. There was also a wool mill & steam saw mill along Vickery Rd in Sandusky County in the mid to late 1800s. Charles & Susan were buried with relatives in Oakland Cemetery on Milan Rd in Sandusky (Erie County).

Sandusky Crossroads
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Shattucks Grove (Shaddock’s Grove) (Shaddock’s Lake Park) – Vermilion Township
Location: 41.425040 -82.348789 
on the north side of US 6 (Liberty Ave) between Tabernacle St & Salem Dr
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a summer vacation resort village owned by George Shattuck. The venue hosted traveling circuses, dances, & other family events in the late 1800s to early 1900s.

Spragues Corners – Florence Township
Location: 41.305799 -82.413326 
on Harmon Rd at the intersection of Florence Wakeman Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Ezra Sprague (1785 – 1856) from Massachusetts & Harriet (Griswold) Sprague (1781 – 1852) from Connecticut. They were the first settlers in the township in 1809 & had 7 children. Ezra was the first justice of the peace & a common pleas court judge. They were buried with relatives in Cable Cemetery on the east side of Cable Rd south of Harmon Rd.

Wells Corners (Axtel) – Vermilion Township
Location: 41.369073 -82.363503 
on SR 60 at the intersection of Mason Rd
Remnants: Maple Grove Cemetery at the intersection of Mason Rd & Cemetery Rd west of the GPS coordinates
Description: The founders & original proprietors were Philo Wells (1786 – 1879) from New York & Hannah (Lewis) Wells (1788 – 1848) from Connecticut. They had a nice farm & a few children. The town also had a church & a cheese factory in the late 1800s. Philo remarried after Hannah passed away. They were buried with relatives in Maple Grove Cemetery. The town name changed to Axtel after the family that owned the cheese factory sometime around 1900.

Yankee Settlement – Perkins Township
Location: 41.372628 -82.684816   
on Taylor Rd at the intersection of Fox Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Reverend John Beatty of Connecticut purchased most of Perkins Township from the Firelands Company & moved his family there with a group of settlers shortly after the War Of 1812 ended. Included in the group were: Joseph Taylor, Jesse Taylor, Julius House, Holly Akins, Roswell Hubbard, Harvey Covell, Eleazer Bell, Plinney Johnson, Richard Christopher, & William Beebe. The town existed for around 100 years & had a church. Many of the pioneers & their descendants were buried in Perkins Cemetery on Beatty Ln in Sandusky.

Fairfield County Ohio Ghost Towns

Black Diamond
Location: unknown
Description: Black Diamond was near what’s now the north shore of Buckeye Lake & was abandoned in the late 1820s. The lake was originally called the Licking Summit Reservoir & was constructed to feed water to the Ohio & Erie canal.

Buckeye Park – Greenfield Township
Location: 39.772175 -82.686514
on Old Columbus Rd NW at the intersection of Coonpath Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Buckeye Park had a church in the northwest lot of the intersection, a school (Greenfield Township No.4) on the south side of Coonpath Rd west of the GPS coordinates, & a train station on the Columbus, Hocking Valley, & Toledo Railroad.

Claypool – Greenfield Township
Location:
39.759052 -82.669743
on Columbus – Lancaster Rd NW at the intersection of Claypool St NW
Remnants: none known

Description: The town was founded by Jacob Claypool Sr. (1775 – 1843) & Margaret (Baker) Claypool (1779 – 1828) who moved to Ohio from Rockingham County, Virginia & had a few children. Jacob married Ann (Renick) Claypool (1789 – 1834) after Margaret passed away. They donated land for a church & school. It later turned into Greenfield Academy. Jacob, Margaret, & Ann were buried with relatives in Greenfield Township Cemetery on the east side of Columbus – Lancaster Rd NW south of the GPS coordinates. 

Flagdale (Geneva) – Rush Creek Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1903
Location: 39.662371 -82.433387
on SR 664 at the intersection of Sacred Heart Rd SE
Remnants: Flagdale Cemetery in the woods on the west side of SR 664 south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Flagdale was the name of the post office at Geneva & the village also went by Flagdale at times too. Flagdale Cemetery is reportedly in the woods on the west side of SR 664 approximately 1/2 mile south of Sacred Heart Rd SE across the border in Marion Township, Hocking County (formerly in Auburn Township, Fairfield County), but it can’t be seen on satellite maps. It’s also listed on Find A Grave with no interments or pictures.

Gables Station
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Harrisport – Greenfield Township
Location: unknown
Description: Harrisport contained around a dozen residences & was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1837 – 1841. The town faded out of existence & didn’t make it onto the 1848 county map.

Millers – Clearcreek Township
Location: 39.587453 -82.785347
on Heigle Rd SW at the intersection of 16th Rd SW east of the confluence of Wolf Creek & Salt Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming town was on the Lancaster & Hamden Railroad. It was founded by a branch of the Miller family in the county. Prior to the railroad’s arrival, the Wolf (Wolfe) & Hoffman (Huffman) families were the largest in the area.

Monticello – Walnut Township
Post Office: 1827 – 1833
Location: on SR 37 (Lancaster – Newark Rd NE) at the intersection of SR 204 (Blacklick – Eastern Rd NE)
Remnants: none known
Description: The short-lived town of Monticello was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer Or Topographical Dictionary from 1829 – 1833. Wilson Lewis was the postmaster. 

Richland
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Roby Addition – Walnut Township
Location: unknown
Description: Benjamin Roby (1801 – 1886) & Sarah (Siebert) Roby (1819 – 1905) moved to Ohio from Virginia & recorded the plat on the northwest side of Buckeye Lake. It failed to attract residents & the idea was subsequently abandoned. Benjamin & Sarah were buried with relatives in Fletcher Chapel Cemetery on the north side of Blacklick Rd NW between Cherry Ln & SR 158 (Lancaster – Kirkersville Rd NW).

Sandstone – City Of Lancaster
Location: 39.714527 -82.543528
on Quarry Rd SE at the railroad crossing between US 22 & Commerce St
Remnants: none known
Description: Sandstone was on the Cleveland & Mahoning Valley Railroad & was listed on the Ohio map in the 1901 Cram Atlas.

Sniders (Snyders) – Liberty Township
Location: 39.887768 -82.641918
on Snyder Church Rd NW at the intersection of Stemen Rd
Remnants: New Zion United Methodist Church at the intersection, Union Evangelical (New Zion / Snider) Cemetery on both sides of Snyder Church Rd NW south of the GPS coordinates, former school on Bickel Church Rd NW next to St. Michaels United Church Of Christ
Description: The town was founded by Swiss immigrant Jacob Snider (1815 – 1894) & Phebe (Brumbach) Snider (1820 – 1886). Phebe’s paternal grandfather Johann Brumbach was a German immigrant & Revolutionary War veteran. He passed away in Virginia. Sniders was a farming town & had a school (Liberty Township No. 8) on the south side of Bickel Church Rd NW east of Snyder Church Rd NW.

Steele – Clearcreek Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Steele family in the county.

Tarhe Town – City Of Lancaster
Location: 39.707898 -82.599538
on S Water St between Locust St & the Hocking River
Remnants: none known
Description: This Wyandotte Nation Native American village was named after Chief Tarhe (1742 – 1818) who lived there at various times. He earned his title in 1788, was one of 13 Native American chiefs who fought at the Battle Of Fallen Timbers in 1794, & was the only one who survived. He was also one of the signers of the Treaty Of Greenville in 1795. Chief Tarhe’s nickname was “The Crane”, for his slender build & being 6 feet 4 inches tall. He was buried in Upper Sandusky in Wyandot County. A monument was dedicated to him in 1915 at the site of Cranetown on SR 67 (Tarhe Trail) south of the intersection of Twp Highway 121.

Walnut (Bush City) (Thurston) – Walnut Township
Post Office: 1826 – 1832 & 1858 – 1867
Location: 39.840275 -82.549460
on SR 256 (Baltimore – Somerset Rd NE) at the intersection of Old Millersport Rd NE along Walnut Creek
Remnants: Thurston Primitive (Old School) Baptist Church Cemetery
Prior to the platting of Thurston in 1881, the area was called Bush City. Long before that it was Walnut. It was a farming town with the post office being the only local accommodation. Schools & church services were held in rudimentary log cabins & residences until the 1870s & the arrival of the Lake Erie & Atlantic Railroad. Samuel G. Bush (1820 – 1878), who lived in the area all his life, & whose family was the namesake of Bush City, was the postmaster during the 1858 – 1867 run. He was buried with relatives in Thurston Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery. 

Wyandotte – Clearcreek Township
Location: 39.628007 -82.800944
on Justus Rd SW between US 22 & Wyandotte Rd SW
Remnants: none known
Description: Wyandotte was on the Cincinnati & Zanesville Railroad, later bought by the Cleveland & Mahoning Valley Railroad. It had 2 local schools. One of them (Clearcreek Township No. 2) was on the east side of 16th Rd SW on land owned by Amos Crites (1813 – 1904) & Priscilla (Aldenderfer) Crites (1817 – 1894). The other one (Clearcreek Township No. 3) was on the east side of Fosnaugh School Rd SW next to Salt Creek. Amos & Priscilla were buried with relatives in Dutch Hollow Cemetery on the north side of the intersection of 16th Rd SW Cincinnati – Zanesville Rd SW. They were a great uncle & great aunt to Henry Monroe Crites (1869 – 1957) who owned the Gregg – Crites Octagon House near Circleville in Pickaway County.

Fayette County Ohio Ghost Towns

Carton – Union Township
Location: unknown, was along the railroad tracks near Robinson Rd SE between Evergreen Dr & Old Chillicothe Rd SE (County Rd 140)
Remnants: none known
Description: Carton had a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad.

Fayette – Union Township
Location: 39.588072 -83.404354   
on Matthew Rd at the railroad crossing between Old SR 38 & US 62
Remnants: none known
Description: The town sat next to the B & O Railroad but didn’t have a train station.

Fayette Junction – Union Township
Location: 39.573918 -83.505065 
on Bush Rd NW at the railroad crossing between Bloomburg – New Holland Rd NW & Old US 35
Remnants: the train track junction still exists there
Description: It was where the Detroit, Toledo, & Ironton Railroad met the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton Railroad.

Fayne
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Ghormley (Ghormleys) (Ghormley Station) – Perry Township
Location: 39.409507 -83.378804   
on Ghormley Rd between Highland Ave (SR 41) & SR 753
Remnants: none known
Description: Ghormley was a flag stop (trains would stop if signaled) on the Ohio Southern Railroad. The proprietor was a member of the Ghormley family in the area.

Haynes
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Haynes family in the area.

Kingfred (Kingford Siding) – Union Township
Location: 39.544784 -83.346026   
on Camp Grove Rd SE at the former railroad track crossing on the south side of US 22
Remnants: none known
Description: The town sat on the Penn Lines (Pennsylvania Railroad) & had a passenger siding for loading & unloading between the tracks. The old track bed can still be seen on satellite maps.

Olympia – Union Township
Location: 39.541173 -83.377694
on Bogus Rd SE at the former railroad crossing between US 22 & Robinson Rd SE
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Penn Lines (Pennsylvania Railroad) but didn’t have a train station. School No. 16 was on the north side of US 22 about halfway between Olympia & Kingfred.

Pearsons (Pearson Station) – Jasper Township
Post Office: 1877 – 1903
Location: 39.593950 -83.660200 
on Marchant – Luttrell Rd between Pearson – Octa Rd & Hargrave Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Pearson family in the area. It had a train station on the Dayton, Toledo, & Ironton Railroad. The population was 38 in 1910 & the town was listed in the 1913 Fayette County Atlas but didn’t last much longer after that.

Phillip 
Post Office: 1892 – 1898
Location: unknown, was near Hagler
Description: none found

Potter
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Franklin County Ohio Ghost Towns

Alum Creek – City Of Columbus (formerly in Montgomery & Marion Township)
Post Office: 1894 – 1915
Location: 39.979742 -82.957653
on Leonard Ave at the railroad junction heading south along Alum Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Alum Creek had a train station on the Columbus, Sandusky, & Hocking Railroad, later bought by the Big Four (Cleveland, Cincinnati, Columbus & St. Louis Railroad). The creek itself was the site of many early settlements & mills in the county & around Columbus. It was named after the metallic substance that was found in slate slabs on the creek banks. The town’s post office was called Leonard.

Avenue – Franklin Township
Post Office: 1874 – 1905
Location: 39.941805 -83.111996
on Georgesville Rd at the intersection of Sullivan Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: In the 1880s the post office was on land owned by Newell Mix (1835 – 1889) & Emaline (Deforest) Mix (1838 – 1886). Newell was a justice of the peace in Franklin Township. The town also had a train station on the Cincinnati, Sandusky, & Cleveland Railroad, later bought by the Big Four. Newell & Emaline had a few children & were buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery on Greenlawn Ave.

Baker Hill – City Of Columbus (formerly in Hamilton & Marion Township)
Location: 39.906343 -82.969126
on the northeast side of the intersection of Groveport Rd & Wilson Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: The gravel & sand filled hill rises well above the surrounding landscape & was formed by the Scioto River before dams controlled its size. It was named after the Baker family who owned much of the hill in the mid-late 1800s. The town also had a school on land owned by Henry Obetz (1825 – 1900) from Pennsylvania & Sarah (Hensel) Obetz (1820 – 1901). They were buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery.

Big Run – Franklin Township
Location: 39.915203 -83.067130
on Alkire Rd at the intersection of Big Run Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: It was named after the waterway that runs through the area, a tributary of the Scioto River.

Big Walnut – Truro & Mifflin Township
Location: 39.976174 -82.873971
on E Broad St (SR 16) at the intersection of Hamilton Ave (SR 317) on the west side of Big Walnut Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It was named after the creek & was listed as a town along the Big Four Railroad.

Borrors Corners – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1894 – 1900
Location: 39.825405 -83.032575
on SR 665 (London – Groveport Rd) at the intersection of SR 104 (Jackson Pike) along Plum Run
Remnants: historical marker on the southeast side of the intersection, Scioto Cemetery on the south side of Hiner Rd off of SR 104, many old houses & farms in the area
Description: Magdalene (Strader) Borror (1767 – 1838) from Virginia was the widow of Revolutionary War veteran Jacob Borror Jr. (1763 – 1804). She moved to Ohio with her 7 children & settled on 400 acres of land given to her by her parents in 1809 – 1811. The family became successful in farming & merchandising & was very influential in Jackson Township for over 100 years. Borrors Corners had a school, several churches, a grocery store, blacksmith shop, & some other small businesses. Magdalene was buried with relatives in Scioto Cemetery. More family ancestors & descendants can be found in Concord Cemetery on Hoover Rd south of SR 665, Grove City Cemetery, & Green Lawn Cemetery.

Bright – Madison Township
Location: 39.865341 -82.922123
on Groveport Rd at the intersection of Bixby Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This small village had a school on the south side of Groveport Rd southeast of the intersection. Much of the land around the GPS coordinates was owned by the Kile family.

Burts
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after the Burt family in the county.

Caldwell
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after a branch of the Caldwell family in the county.

Clover Settlement – Prairie & Brown Township
Location: 39.962555 -83.168382
on Alton Darby Creek Rd between I – 70 & US 40
Remnants: Clover Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: Henry & Catherine Clover moved to Ohio from Virginia with their 12 children & originally lived in Ross County. They relocated to Prairie Township in 1813 & Clover Settlement formed around their property with more families moving to the area in the early 1800s. Across from the cemetery on the east side of Alton Darby Creek Rd, the town had a school, Methodist church, & a general store & train station on the north side of the railroad tracks. Clover Settlement faded away in the later 1800s as Alton to the south was expanding & had more modern accommodations. Alton’s train station on the south side of the Pennsylvania Railroad tracks replaced Clover’s station & can be found in the 1872 county atlas. Most of the Clover family was buried in Clover Cemetery & some relatives & descendants were buried in Alton Cemetery between the railroad tracks & US 40.

Deems – Franklin Township
Location: 39.970104 -83.115745
on Fisher Rd between I – 270 & Philip Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Thomas Deems (1807 – 1880) from Pennsylvania & Mary (Sims) Deems (1807 – 1880) from Muskingum County. They married in 1828, had 6 children, & moved to Franklin County in 1841. Thomas was a farmer & blacksmith. The Deems were buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery.

Doneys – Truro Township
Location: 39.956283 -82.904633
on US 40 at the former railroad crossing between James Rd & Beechwood Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Abraham Doney (1829 – 1900) from Harrison County & Emily Brock (1837 – 1899) from Fairfield County moved to Truro Township in 1865 & had 6 children. They were farmers & livestock dealers & amassed 600 acres of land between US 40 & E Broad St (SR 16). The town had a train station on the Columbus, Sandusky, & Hocking Railroad. Abraham & Emily were buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery.  

Eastwood – City of Columbus (formerly in Montgomery Township)
Location: 39.967843 -82.957473
on Eastwood Ave at the intersection of Woodland Ave
Remnants: Eastwood Ave
Description: The town was first spotted on the 1856 county map & never had much of a chance at keeping its own identity. It had a school & Congregational church, but was too close to downtown Columbus & was annexed by the 1870s. Eastwood Avenue itself is a remnant of the former town. Its narrow construction is reminiscent of average roads in the mid 1800s.

Flint Station – Sharon Township
Post Office: 1868 – 1912
Location: 40.127303 -83.005196
on Park Rd at the railroad crossing between Flint Rd & Sancus Blvd
Remnants: The Market at Flint Station at the GPS coordinates, Flint Cemetery on Flint Rd
Description: Although the town of Flint is still a populated area, Flint Station is considered to be a ghost town & is on the state’s historical populated places list. The town had stations on the Big Four Railroad & the Sandusky & Columbus Short Line Railroad. Many early residents were buried in Flint Cemetery on the west side of Flint Rd. The Market at Flint Station is a lounge & the building that houses it was constructed in 1890.

Hibernia – Truro Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1857
Location: 39.954753 -82.851364
on US 40 at the intersection of Noe Bixby Rd along Big Walnut Creek
Remnants: Carlisle Cemetery at Hibernia Apartments on Hibernia Dr south of US 40 off of Noe Bixby Rd
Description: Irish immigrant Thomas Armstrong (1769 – 1856) sold some lots which founded Hibernia in the 1840s. The town was never platted or incorporated but had a school, hotel, grocery store, wagon shop, & blacksmith shop. Thomas was buried with relatives in Carlisle Cemetery. It predates the town by a few decades.  

Highway – Norwich Township
Location: unknown
Description: Highway was on the Toledo & Ohio Central Railroad between Columbus & Hilliard’s northern side.

Hocking Junction
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Lafayetteville – Plain Township
Location: 40.080156 -82.789975
on E Dublin Granville Rd at the intersection of Kitzmiller Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: There were two attempts to lay out a town called Lafayetteville in Franklin County. The first was made in 1826 by Lorin Hills & Lester Humphrey. The platted lots either never sold or didn’t sell enough to make any difference in the area.

Lafayetteville – Prairie Township
Location: 39.942576 -83.143756

the exact location of the plat is unknown
Remnants: Postle Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates west of Norton Rd & north of Gabriels Landing Dr
Description: In 1832 War Of 1812 veteran Job Postle (1781 – 1858) & Elizabeth (Webb) Postle (1780 – 1850) platted another town called Lafayetteville with the same results as the first. Job & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Postle Cemetery.

Lisle – City Of Columbus (formerly in Clinton Township)
Location: 40.004814 -83.034240
on Kenny Rd between W Lane Ave & Kinnear Rd & stretching east to the Olentangy River
Remnants: none known
Description: Part of The Ohio State University campus is the site of a ghost town. John Lisle & Rachel (Irwin) Lisle moved to Ohio from Kentucky in 1798 & settled in Clinton Township a couple of years later. They had 8 children in total & a large farm. The town also had a school on the east side of Kenny Rd north of the GPS coordinates. John & Rachel were buried with relatives in Union Cemetery on Olentangy River Rd.

Marble Cliff Mills – City Of Columbus (formerly in Perry Township)
Post Office: 1874 – 1915
Location: 39.984891 -83.065140
on US 33 at the intersection of Cardigan Ave along the Scioto River
Remnants: none known
Description: Thomas Backus (1785 – 1825) & Tempera (Lord) Backus (1786 – 1864) made the journey to Ohio from Connecticut & mills next to the Scioto River in 1812 – 1813. They had 5 children & later moved to Marion County where Thomas served as a prosecuting attorney. The mills were sold a few times & were called Marble Cliff by the 1850s. The town also had stone & slate quarries, a general store, boot & shoe shop, Methodist Church, & a train station on the Pittsburg, Cincinnati, & St. Louis Railroad. Although the mills themselves are long gone, Marble Cliff became a town in 1890 & was incorporated in 1901. Thomas & Tempera were buried with many relatives in Woodlawn Cemetery on Central Ave in Toledo, Lucas County.

Marburn – Clinton Township
Location: 40.043621 -83.038212
on Ruby Rd at the intersection of Overlook Dr
Remnants: former school north of the GPS coordinates on the west side of Ruby Rd
Description: It’s unclear when Marburn was considered to be a town & when it fell off of maps, but it was likely sometime in the mid to late 1900s as there’s no mention of the place in the old history books. Marburn School opened in 1960 & closed in 1977. A subdivision named Marburn sits south of the school.

Millers – Pleasant Township
Location: 39.824834 -83.141150
on US 62 at the I – 71 Underpass
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming town was along the B & O Railroad & was founded by Charles C. Miller (1854 – 1939) who owned 185 acres of land in the vicinity. He was buried with relatives in Grove City Cemetery.

Mosel
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Mosel family in the county. 

Mount Pleasant – City Of Columbus (formerly in Montgomery Township)
Location: 39.983827 -83.003535
on Mt Pleasant Ave at the intersection of E 3rd Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: Francis Clymer (1798 – 1878) from Maryland & Susannah (Harris) Clymer from Ohio platted Mount Pleasant on their farm in 1835, but the town never grew any & was quickly abandoned. The area was subsequently annexed into Columbus. Francis & Susannah had 6 children & moved to Hancock County, becoming some of the earliest pioneering settlers there. Francis & Susannah were buried with relatives in Clymer Cemetery next to Pleasant View Church on Co Rd 37 in Union Township, Hancock County.

Oregon – Madison Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1834
Location: 39.822586 -82.832657
on Lithopolis Rd at the intersection of Oregon Rd
Remnants: Middletown Cemetery on private property east of Gender Rd
Description: Oregon was originally called Middletown. It was platted by Issac Decker in 1817 but never grew much. The town name changed between 1830 & 1831. Issac & his wife, name unknown as of yet, operated a tavern at their cabin for 30 years & worked together in the shoemaker trade. The shoe services were offered in exchange for getting some of their farmland cleared for crops & livestock. They were buried with relatives in Decker Cemetery. It was stated in the 1880 History of Franklin And Pickaway Counties that Oregon was “now almost vanished” & it didn’t make it onto the 1883 Franklin County map. 

Portersburg (Pin Hook) –  City Of Columbus (formerly in Blendon Township)
Location: 40.085628 -82.895440
on Sunbury Rd at the intersection of Valley Quail Blvd S along Big Walnut Creek
Remnants: none known
Descripton: W. H. Porter & Eve Porter (1774 – 1840) arrived in the area in the early 1800s & the town was named after their family. Joseph Dickey (1796 – 1845) & Lovina (Taggart) Dickey (1801 – 1854) moved to the town from Washington County, New York in 1838. Joseph was a blacksmith & his shop turned into a meeting places for local discussions on politics & religion, as well as less pressing matters. Portersburg also had a school & saw mill. The town name later changed Pin Hook  & can be found by that name in the 1872 county atlas, but it wasn’t listed on the 1883 map. Many members of the Porter & Dickey families were buried in Blendon Central Cemetery on the north side of Dempsey Rd.

Renner – Norwich Township
Location: 39.982876 -83.165112
on Renner Rd at the intersection of Spindler Rd
Remnants: Saint James Lutheran Church & Cemetery at the intersection of Renner Rd & Hilliard Rome Rd
Description: The town was founded by German immigrants Johann Georg Renner (1802 – 1882) & Anna Renner (1804 – 1878) who had a 230 acre farm & several children. Saint James Lutheran Church congregation began in 1847. Foundation stones from the original log building are on the northwest corner of the cemetery. The current structure was built in 1872. There was also a school next to the church. Johann & Anna were buried with relatives & other German pioneers from the area in the cemetery. The older headstones were inscribed in German. That was the dominant language for the church until the 1890s when many of the early settlers grandchildren only spoke English.

Ridpath – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1901
Location: 39.826735 -83.089813
on Zuber Rd at the intersection of Ridpath Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Farming was Ridpath’s main industry. It had a school, wagon shop, & a tile works in the 1870s. The town was never platted or incorporated. 

Scioto – Norwich Township
Location: 39.994794 -83.085962
Remnants: none known
on Traube Rd at the intersection of McKinley Ave
Description: Scioto Station was on the Big Four Railroad. A modern housing complex bearing the same name is on the east side of McKinley Ave south of the GPS coordinates.

Sharp – Hamilton Township
Location: 39.854529 -82.953468
on Reese Rd at the intersection of Bixby Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: none found

Shattucksburg – City Of Columbus (formerly in Perry Township)
Location: 40.053078 -83.049639
on Kenny Rd at the intersection of Henderson Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Simon Shattuck (1793 – 1875) from Massachusetts operated a general store in the southwest corner of the intersection & sold some lots on his farm for improvement around 1850. About half a dozen families moved to the area & took up residence there. The town was listed on the 1856 county map but didn’t make it into the 1872 county atlas.

Slate Run
Post Office: 1838 – 1844
Location: unknown
Description: The post office was along Slate Run on the west side of Columbus. 

Smileys Corners – Norwich Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1855
Location: 40.016630 -83.099242
on Dublin Rd along Millikim Creek at the bend between the railroad tracks & Smiley Rd
Remnants: Wesley Chapel & Cemetery north of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by David Smiley (1786 – 1861) & Elizabeth (Latimer) Smiley (1791 – 1849). David was a justice of the peace & a farmer. The Smileys ran a general store, hotel, the post office, & had a few children. There was also a school just west of the GPS coordinates. David & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Wesley Chapel Cemetery. Their son David married Sarah Deems, a daughter of Thomas & Mary Deems. The present structure of Wesley Chapel was built in 1891.

Sullivants – Franklin Township
Location: 39.942476 -83.098340
on Sullivant Ave at the intersection of Ruffing Ln
Remnants: none known
Description: Michael Sullivant (1807 – 1879) was a son of the founders of Columbus (Franklinton) Lucas Sullivant (1765 – 1823) & Sarah (Starling) Sullivant (1781 – 1814). In the mid-1800s Michael platted much of what would later become the west side of Columbus. He was buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery.

Waldeck – City Of Columbus (formerly in Clinton Township)
Location: 40.007111 -83.005183
on E Norwich Ave at the intersection of Waldeck Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: Waldeck only appeared on the 1856 county map & the origin of its name is unknown.

Wheatland
Post Office: 1858 – 1860
Location: 39.955545 -83.061823
on US 40 at the intersection of Wheatland Ave
Description: Prior to the arrival of the Central Ohio Lunatic (Insane) Asylum, wheat was grown in a great abundance on the west side of Columbus. Since the hospital facility was demolished in the 1990s, the Wheatland Farm organization at 116 N Wheatland Ave has been working on turning a portion of the former asylum back into viable crop land.   

Whittington
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Wildwood Springs – City Of Columbus (formerly in
Location: 40.079364 -82.916543
on Harvestwood Ln off of Strawberry Farms Blvd along Alum Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was named after a natural water spring near Alum Creek. It was on land owned by Daniel Turney (1772 – 1856) & Susannah (Ridenour) Turney (1783 – 1857). They were buried with relatives in Riverside Cemetery south of town on the east side of Sunbury Rd.

Wonderland – City Of Columbus (formerly in Jefferson Township & Mifflin Township)
Post Office: 1955 – 1974
Location: 40.002938 -82.870663
on Thruway Dr at the intersection of Jansen Ave on the east side of Big Walnut Creek
Remnants: Wonderland Community Church & former roads
Description: Wonderland was founded in the 1920s as a summer resort community. It was much like what was seen in Dirty Dancing with the exception of having a lake. Some of the houses were winterized & lived in year round. The property was sold to Port Columbus International Airport in the 1980s & the remaining residents were forced out. Wonderland Community Church was built in 1941 & was saved by its congregation. 

Zuber – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1894 – 1900
Location: 39.825413 -83.032583
on SR 665 (London Groveport Rd) at the intersection of SR 104 (Jackson Pike) along Plum Run
Remnants: none known
Description: Zuber was the name of the post office at Borrors Corners as its original town name was fading away

Fulton County Ohio Ghost Towns

Ackley Corners – Gorham Township (formerly Mill Creek Township, Williams County)
Location: 41.680708 -84.330302 
on US 127 (Meridian Rd) at the intersection of Township Rd S
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Calvin Ackley (1815 – 1906) from New York & Gertrude (Walker) Ackley (1817 – 1854) from New Jersey. They were married in 1837 & made the trip to Ohio that same year, originally settling in Fairfield County & moved to Fulton in 1840. Calvin & Gertrude had a few children & a 150 acre farm. Calvin was a farmer, postmaster,  justice of the peace, school board member, & a land agent for the Greenland Company which held deeds for several thousand acres in the area. The town also had a school & steam powered saw mill. Calvin remarried a few times after Gertrude passed away. They were buried with relatives in Pleasant View Union Cemetery on Maple St in Fayette.

Allston – Franklin Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1859
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Ambrose – Franklin Township
Post Office – 1890 – 1901
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Batdorf – York Township (formerly in Lucas County)
Post Office: 1888 – 1901
Location: 41.544286 -84.076307  
on County Rd E at the intersection of Co Rd 11
Remnants: Zion United Methodist Church & Cemetery south of the GPS coordinates on Co Rd 11
Description: The proprietors were John Batdorf (1816 – 1895) from Pennsylvania & Elizabeth (Morgan) Batdorf (1819 – 1896) from Virginia. They lived in Wayne County for a few years before moving to Fulton in 1842, had a large family, & donated land for a school. John & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Zion Cemetery.

Beta – York Township (formerly in Henry County)
Post Office: 1857 – 1901
Location: 41.501245 -84.008754 
on SR 109 at the intersection of Township Rd B
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Alfred Gunn (1820 – 1881) & Emiline (Shaw) Gunn (1817 – 1864) who were both born in Massachusetts & moved to Ohio with their parents. They had several children & a 320 acre farm. Alfred was also the postmaster, county commissioner, & justice of the peace. Alfred remarried after Emaline passed away & had a few more children with Jane (Kempton) Gunn (1835 – 1909). The Gunns were buried with relatives in Raker Cemetery at the corner of County Rd 6-1 & Township Rd D in Swan Township.

Blanc – Franklin Township
Post Office: 1847 – 1865
Location: 41.622499 -84.342770 
on County Rd L at the intersection of Township Rd 25
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming town was never platted. Reuben Mason was the postmaster for 11 years & Jabez Jones ran the office out of his house after that.

Chesterfield – Chesterfield Township
Post Office: 1837 – 1869
Location: 41.668511 -84.171804   
on US 20 at the intersection of County Rd 16
Remnants: Butler Cemetery on the west side of County Rd 16 south of the intersection
Description: It was founded in 1835 by Alfred Hough (1809 – 1888) who held many local elected offices. He was buried in Wauseon Union Cemetery on W Elm St in Wauseon. Harlow (1798 – 1881) & Mary Butler donated land for the cemetery where they were buried with relatives.

Cottrells Corners (Handy)  (Gorham) – Gorham Township (formerly Mill Creek Township, Williams County)
Post Office: 1837 – 1873
Location: 41.674379 -84.288374 
on US 20 at the intersection of Township Rd 22
Remnants: none known
Description: Cottrells Corners was founded by Gorham Cottrell Sr. (1780 – 1853) & Althea (Whitmarsh) Cottrell (1787 – 1867) who moved to Ohio from Massachusetts & had 7 children. They were the first settlers in the township, which was named after the family patriarch, & ran a successful farm. The town also had a school & church. Gorham & Althea were buried with relatives in Pleasant View Union Cemetery on Maple St in Fayette.

Emery (Chatfields Corners) – Dover Township
Post Office: 1846 – 1903
Location: 41.630490 -84.189954   
on Co Rd L at the intersection of Township Rd 17
Remnants: former one room schoolhouse on the north side of Co Rd L on private property east of the GPS coordinates
Description: The original proprietors were Lucius Chatfield (1807 – 1884) from Connecticut & Malinda (Rose) Chatfield (1807 – 1896) who met & married in Ohio & had a few children. They were buried with relatives in Ottokee Cemetery on Co Rd J between SR 108 & Township Rd 14. Eben French also lived in the area & made the first brick, tile, & pottery oven in the county.

Fluharts Corners – York & Clinton Township
Location: 41.573416 -84.114934 
on US Hwy 20A at the intersection of Co Rd 13
Remnants: Fluhart Cemetery on the east side of Co Rd 13 north of the intersection
Description: It was founded by Henry Fluhart in the early to mid 1800s. He passed away in Missouri but has some relatives buried in the cemetery.

Haller – York Township
Location: 41.561440 -84.056891 
on Township Rd 10 between US Hwy 20A & Co Rd F
Remnants: Swan Creek Church Of The Brethren on Township  Rd 10 at    the intersection of   Co Rd F, Berkebile Cemetery on the west side of Township Rd 10 between Co Rd F & County Rd E
Description: Haller was on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway & had a saw mill & tile works.

Lavona – York Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1864
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Lena – Clinton Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1866 & 1875 – 1876
Location: 41.514925 -84.172955 
on Township Rd 16 at the intersection of Co Rd C
Remnants: Lena Cemetery on the east side of Township Rd 16 north of the intersection
Description: This small farming town had a school & steam powered grist mill.

Leslie – Amboy Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1898
Location: 41.685927 -83.951816   
on County Rd 4-3 at the intersection of County Rd S along Tenmile Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: none found

Mill Creek – Gorham Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1863
Location: unknown, was in the southwest section of the township
Description: none found

Parchers Corners – Pike Township
Post Office: 1844 – 1857
Location: 41.603079 -84.023144   
on County Rd 8-1 at the intersection of Co Rd J
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Lyman Parcher who ran the first post office in the township. It also had a school.

Pelton – Swan Creek Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1901
Location: 41.509838 -83.941388 
on Township Rd 4 along Blue Creek between County Rd B & Township Rd C
Remnants: none known
Description: Pelton had a school & a general store that was built by the town founder Henry Remer Pelton (1858 – 1937).

Plattston – York Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1901
Location: 41.530024 -84.032729 
on County Rd D at the railroad crossing between SR 109 & Township Rd 9
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a general store, blacksmith shop, & school in the late 1800s to early 1900s.

Ritters (Ritters Station) – Gorham Township
Post Office: 1874 – 1912
Location: 41.702828 -84.269947 
on Township Rd 21 (Ritter – Lauber Rd) along Iron Creek between Township Rd T & the Michigan border
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Jacob Ritter (1824 – 1904) from Pennsylvania & Carloline (Hicker) Ritter (1827 – 1907) from New York. They had a few children & donated land for a train station on the Canada Southern Railway. Jacob was a carpenter, railroad tie inspector, train ticket agent, the town postmaster, & built a grocery store. Jacob & Caroline were buried with relatives in Oak Grove Cemetery on the west side of North St (SR 156) in Morenci, MI.

Siney – Fulton, Amboy, Pike, &  Royalton Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1901
Location: 41.656488 -83.996638 
on County Rd N at the intersection of Co Rd 7
Remnants: none known
Description: Siney had a general store & post office run by Chapman Smith, a steam saw mill nearby in Pike Township, & a Methodist Church on the Roayalton & Amboy Township border.

Townline – Amboy & Royalton Township
Location: 41.709773 -83.998556 
on Co Rd 7 at the intersection of SR 120 along Little Bear Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It’s original log Methodist church was on the Royalton side & a frame structure was built in 1867 on the Amboy side. A cheese factory owned by James Santee (1834 – 1904) & Calista Santee (1837 – 1905) was the biggest business in town. They were buried with relatives in Lyons Cemetery on SR 120 (W Morenci St) in Lyons.

Thelma – Gorham Township
Post Office: 1897 – 1901
Location: 41.641935 -84.248514 
on Township Rd MN at the southern jog of Co Rd 20
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The post office didn’t last long but it was a busy farming village in the late 1800s with a steam powered saw mill & school.

Treadway – Amboy & Richfield Township, Lucas County
Location: 41.712166 -83.880176 
on Township Rd U (Sylvania – Metamora Rd) at the intersection of N Fulton – Lucas Rd on the south side of Tenmile Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by the Treadway family who owned land on the Lucas County side. A school was on the Fulton County side in the late 1800s.

West Barre – York & Clinton Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1872
Location: 41.515360 -84.114861   
on Township Rd C at the 5 way intersection with Co Rd 13
Remnants: West Barre Cemetery on private property in the northeast lot of the intersection
Description: It was named after a tombstone company that was based in Barre, Vt & had a distributing faciltiy in the area. The town also had two churches, a general store, steam saw mill, blacksmith shop, grange hall, ashery, & a school.

Greene County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bryson – Xenia Township
Location: 39.716644 -83.934934
on Old Springfield Pike between Kinsey Rd & US 68 along the Little Miami Scenic Trail

Remnants: none known

Description: The town was founded by James Bryson (1815 – 1911) from Pennsylvania & Nancy (Bradfute) Bryson (1828 – 1908) who owned a couple of large farms, were horse breeders, & donated land for the track path & a train station on the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad (Panhandle Route). They were buried with relatives in Woodland Cemetery on Dayton Ave in Xenia.

Caesars Creek (Cherry Grove) – New Jasper Township
Location:
39.679549 -83.78263
on Cherry Grove Rd between Old US 35 & Junkin Rd
Remnants: Caesar Creek (Cherry Grove) Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: This small farming & pioneer town was founded in the early 1800s & had a saw mill. The Junkin family owned most of the land in the mid-1800s. Revolutionary War veteran Lancelot Junkin (1753 – 1833) & Martha (Galloway) Junkin (1752 – 1830) were the patriarch & matriarch of the family in Ohio & were buried with relatives in the cemetery.

Caesarsville – Caesarscreek Township
Location: 39.618907 -83.891154
on US 68 at the intersection of Ireland Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Founded in 1800 by War Of 1812 veteran Thomas Carneal (1786 – 1860) Caesarsville was intended to be the future seat of Greene County. The town had a courthouse with a tavern along with some other public buildings & a public water well. The courthouse was used as the first voting place in the county. Xenia was granted the county seat in 1803 & the hopes of Ceasarville becoming a large town quickly faded away. At its peak, it had about 12 cabins & 30 residents. Thomas Carneal went on to be one of the original land proprietors of Cincinnati & one of the founders of Covington, Kentucky. He was buried with relatives in Spring Grove Cemetery on Spring Grove Ave in Cincinnati.

Harper – Silvercreek Township
Location: 39.660797 -83.764031
on Quarry Rd along Caesars Creek at the former railroad crossing between Old US 35 & Cottonville Rd
Remnants: former school at the intersection of Old US 35 & Quarry Rd
Description: The proprietors were Robert Harper (1810 – 1881) & Sarah Harper (1824 – 1882) who moved to Ohio from Virginia & owned an 85 acre farm on west of Jamestown. Harper was a flag stop on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad in the late-1800s & had a school on land owned by the Meyers family. Robert & Sarah were buried with relatives in Woodland Cemetery on Dayton Ave in Xenia.

Huffersville (Kneisly Station) (Kniesleys) –  Bath Township
Post Office: 1830 – 1831
Location: 39.818266 -84.074267
on SR 4 at the intersection of Bath Rd along Mad River
Remnants: Bath Presbyterian Church & Cemetery on the east side of Bath Rd north of the GPS coordinates
Description: Abraham Huffer moved to Bath Township from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in the first decade of the 1800s. Simon S. Huffer (1813 – 1894) inherited part of the original homestead, as did Daniel S. Huffer (1819 – 1886) & Rosanna (Dice) Huffer (1834 – 1912). The town grew to have around 20 residences lining Mad River & Bath Rd. It was a farming town with a grist mill, saw mill, & a paper mill.  Bath Presbyterian Church & Cemetery was on land owned by James Chambers (1735 – 1819) who was buried there. The first school, from the early to mid-1800s, was across the road from the cemetery & the second one, from the later 1800s, is now a private residence across from Kitridge Rd on the east side of Bath Rd. The area was known also known as Kneislys Station, as Daniel Kniesly (1823 – 1911) had a mill with a warehouse & train station across the river along the Mad River & Lake Erie Railroad in the early 1850s. The location was in the vicinity of the intersection of Bayou Rd & Symmes Rd in Wright – Patterson Air Force Base. In the early 1900s the town was called Kneisleys. Find A Grave has 3 interments listed in Huffersville Cemetery on private property in the northwest lot of the intersection at the GPS coordinates, but its unknown if there’s actually anything left of it. Simon Huffer was buried with relatives in Woodland Cemetery And Arboretum on Woodland Ave in Dayton, Montgomery County. Daniel Huffer was buried with relatives in Bellefontaine City Cemetery on E Brown Ave in Bellefontaine, Logan County.

Jayfield
Location: unknown
Description: It was on the Dayton & Wellston line of the B&O Railroad in the early 1900s.

Mechanicsville – Silvercreek Township
Location: 39.626090 -83.731009
on SR 72 at the 4-way intersection of Jasper Rd & Plymouth Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Jonah Thomas (1807 – 1872) & Elizabeth Thomas (1817 – 1910) were the earliest known proprietors & ran a general store on the south side of Jasper Rd between SR 72 & Jamestown Gunnersville Rd. William Blain Jr. (1808 – 1857) & Lucinda Blain (1818 – 1856) owned a blacksmith shop & wagon shop o
ver on the other side of SR 72 on the south side of Plymouth Rd. The town also had a school on the east side of Jamestown Gunnersville Rd about halfway between Jasper Rd & Carpenter Rd. Everyone mentioned in this listing was buried with relatives in Old Silvercreek Cemetery on S Sycamore St in Jamestown. Mechanicsville didn’t make it into the 1874 county atlas.

Mercers Station – Bath Township
Location: unknown
Description: The town was founded in 1796 by brothers Jonathan, Robert, & Edward Mercer (1769 – 1837) who moved to Ohio from Frederick County, Virginia & were the first settlers in the Grenne County. The location of Mercers Station was in the vicinity of present-day Upper Valley Rd along the left bank of Mad River, approximately 1 & 1/2 miles southeast of the former location of Osborn. Edward was buried with relatives in Mercer Cemetery on the west side of SR 380 W Spring Valley Paintersville Rd & Peterson Rd in Spring Valley Township.

Old Chillicothe – Xenia Township
Location: 39.728693 -83.936845
on US 68 in Oldtown between the Little Miami River & Oldtown Creek
Remnants: a few historical markers for Old Chillicothe on the left side of the road at the GPS coordinates
Descpriton: Old Chillicothe was settled in 1774 along the Little Miami River and grew to be one of the Shawnee’s most important towns in the state. Chief Blackfish (1729 – 1779) was the leader of Old Chillicothe & Chief Tecumseh (1768 – 1813) was also raised there. It was abandoned in 1780 as George Rogers Clark (1752 – 1818) was heading up the Little Miami River toward the town with the Kentucky Militia while seeking retaliation for recent skirmishes south of the Ohio River.

Osborn – Bath Township
Post Office: 1855 – 1950
Location: 39.842184 -84.034997
on SR 235 at the intersection of Medway Rd (Osborn Rd) inside the gates of Wright -Patterson Air Force Base
Remnants: Cox Cemetery on the south side of Loop Rd east of the GPS coordinates
Description: 
Osborn was platted in 1851 by John Cox (1800 – 1882) & Samuel Stafford (1809 – 1897) about 1 & 1/2 miles northwest of Fairfield & was on the Mad River & Lake Erie Railroad. It was named after E.F. Osborn, the first railroad attendant, & flourished for 63 years partly due to taking on the railroad agreement that nearby Fairfield passed up. Osborn also had a grist mill, saw mill, & a distillery in its early years. In 1913 The Great Flood hit Dayton & the surrounding towns extremely hard. The Miami Conservancy District was formed to implement a flood project including several dams. Despite the fact that the area rarely flooded, Osborn was considered to be too close to the flood plain & the land was bought out by the Miami Conservancy District. The residents didn’t want to lose their town, so they moved it in a domino effect, people, buildings, & everything else closer to Fairfield. The Osborn Removal Company was formed & did much of the moving in the early 1920s. Just a few decades later in 1950, Osborn lost its name as it merged with Fairfield to create Fairborn. Some of the original buildings that were moved from Osborn can still be found today in Fairborn. John Cox was buried with relatives & early Osborn residents in Cox Cemetery & Samuel Stafford was buried with relatives in New Carlisle Cemetery at the intersection of SR 235 & Musselman Rd in Bethel Township, Clark County.

Pierces
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Silver Creek – Silvercreek Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was east of Jamestown.

Simms (Symmes) – Bath Township
Location: 39.808614 -84.074726
on Symmes Rd at the intersection of Prairie Rd in Wright – Patterson Air Force Base
Remnants: none known
Description: Simms had 2 train stations, one for passengers & another for freight, on the Bee Line of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railway. The town was on land owned by Samuel Stafford (1809 – 1897) who helped plat Osborn.

Transylvania – Spring Valley Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1843
Location: 39.606026 -84.014931
on Cook Rd between SR 725 & Centerville Rd
Description: This early Ohio town started up as a small hamlet in 1803, the same year Ohio became a state. It’s considered to be the original location of current day Spring Valley. The first settler in the area was Jeffery Truman (1794 – 1851) who built & operated a local tavern. He married Jane (Elam) Truman (1810 – 1894). Farming & making supplies for wagons passing along what was then the Xenia – Cincinnati Pike were the main sources of income for the other residents. Spring valley, which was laid out in 1845 by the Walton family along the east side of the Little Miami river, was larger & growing much faster with mills & a copper shop. The remaining residents that were in Transyvlania moved across the river before 1850. Later in 1850, Samuel T. Owens surveyed Transylvania for 3 heirs of local families. They built 10 lots on the southwest bend of the Little Miami river but failed to attract new residents & Transylvania became a mere memory. Jeffery & Jane Truman were buried with relatives in Elam Cemetery on private property down a long lane on the east side of Elam Rd about 3/4 of a mile north of Spring Valley Paintersville Rd.

Valley Mills
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed on the 1898 railroad map & on the Ohio map in the 1901 Cram Atlas between Spring Valley & Xenia on the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad.

Winchester (Babtown) – Caesarscreek Township
Location: 39.566696 -83.902757
on Old Winchester Trail between New Burlington Rd & Lewis Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was stated in volume 1 of the 1918 History Of Greene County when speaking of Winchester that “there is no town in the county with a more artistic and finely-planned set of streets. The town was platted with 72 in-lots & 16 out-lots in 1816 by Thomas Babb Jr. (1766 – 1858) & Margaret (Wilson) Babb (1767 – 1840) who moved to Ohio from Winchester in Frederick County, Virginia. Despite the pretty plat on paper, they didn’t end up making a serious attempt to sell the lots or grow the town in any way. Thomas & Margaret were buried with relatives in Babb Cemetery on private property on the west side of Old Winchester Trail north of Mill Rd.

Guernsey County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bond – Londonderry Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1902
Location: 40.118734 -81.256724   
on Skull Fork Rd at the intersection of Bond Ln
Remnants: Bond Cemetery on the northwest side of Bond Ln north of the intersection, McCoy Cemetery on McCoy Rd southwest of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the massive Bond family in the area who were mostly farmers & livestock dealers. Joshua Bond (1788 – 1872) & Abigail (Murray) Bond (1790 – 1867) moved to Ohio from Maryland & had several children. They were buried with many relatives in McCoy Cemetery. Joshua’s brothers Charles Bond (1794 – 1875) & Larkin Bond (1791 – 1870) also settled in the area & had big families. They were buried with relatives in Bond Cemetery.

Bridgewater – Oxford Township
Location: 40.053311 -81.325483 
on Bridgewater Rd at the intersection of SR 513
Remnants: none known
Description: Bridgewater was platted in 1834 by William Orr (1806 – 1860) & Elizabeth (Byers) Orr (1810 – 1889) who had several children & a nice farm. The Orrs moved to Illinois in the mid 1800s but Bridgewater kept going with a school & small merchant shops into the early 1900s.

Cable 
Post Office: 1850 – 1853
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Cable family in the county & was listed in the 1853 W.W. Reilly & Co.’s Ohio State Business Directory.

Clio – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1882 – 1905
Location: 40.081182 -81.504563 
on R-25 in Salt Fork State Park
Remnants: Pleasant Hill Cemetery on Candy Rd
Description: The town had a school, grocery store, doctor, & a grist & saw mill built by the Armstrong family. John Armstrong &  Susannah (Henderson) Armstrong (1788 – 1870) moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania in 1813 & became pioneers of the county. Their children & grandchildren continued with farming & milling in the area. Much of Clio’s land was submerged by Salt Fork Lake. What remained dry on the east side is now woods & a campsite. The Armstrongs were buried with relatives in Pleasant Hill Cemetery on the west side of the lake.

Divide – Washington Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1904
Location: unknown, was in the northeast section of the township
Description: Divide was listed on the Ohio map in the 1901 Cram Atlas.

Eldon (Spencer Station) – Millwood Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1920
Location: 39.963539 -81.272000 
on Eldon Rd at the former railroad track crossing south of SR 265 (Leatherwood Rd)
Remnants: Eldon Cemetery on the east side of Barker Rd northeast of the intersection, Richland Cemetery & historical marker on Shannon Run Rd north of the intersection
Description: Eldon was a variant name of Spencers Station which is still considered a populated area for census purposes. It had a train station on the B & O Railroad, school, general store, row of houses, the Eldon Coal Company, a coal tipple, & a Quaker church. Residents were buried in Eldon & Richland Cemeteries.

Fish Basket – Cambridge Township
Location unknown, was 4 miles north of Cambridge along Wills Creek
Description: This native fishing town was run by a Native American chief named Doughty who lived in the area with his family in the late 1700s to early 1800s. Wills Creek was great for basket fishing & produced enough to support a decent sized village.

Frankfort (Frankford)(Smithtown) – Wills Township (formerly in Muskingum County)
Location: 40.022171 -81.366865 
on Frankfort Rd at the intersection of Putney Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The first town in the county, it was platted in 1805 by Joseph Smith 23 days before Old Washington & was a stopping point for tired travelers. Frankfort had a tavern, public square, a proposed courthouse & jail lot, & around a dozen cabins in its heyday. Joseph sold his lot & moved with his family in 1814. The town was considered vacated & stricken from future recordings by court order in 1846. A man named Cummings who ventured through the area on foot in 1870 noted Frankfort’s continued existence in a diary & stated 8 – 10 cabins remained.

Miller – Liberty Township
Location: 40.100473 -81.562403 
on Leeper Rd at the intersection of Salt Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietor Robert Miller (1822 – 1877) was born in Canada & moved to Ohio with his parents who were of Irish descent. Robert was a farmer & built a saw mill along the Salt Fork of Wills Creek. The town also had a wagon shop, school, & salt works. Robert was buried with relatives in Old Kimbolton Cemetery in Kimbolton at the intersection of SR 541 & Cemetery St.

New Liberty – Liberty Township
Location: 39.946185 -81.554254   
on SR 821 (Marietta Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1815 by Richard Dickinson & appeared in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

Prohibition – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1902
Location: unknown, was in the northwest quarter of the township
Description: The town can be found in the 1888 Bridgman’s Atlas & 1901 Cram Atlas.

Scotts – Center Township
Location: 40.014711 -81.533241 
on the former railroad path between US 40 & Reservoir Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Elza Scott (1819 – 1880) & Mary (Moore) Scott (1825 – 1895) who owned a coal company & salt works along the B & O Railroad. They were buried with relatives in Cambridge City Cemetery on S 11th St in Cambridge.

Skullfork – Londonderry Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1905
Location: 40.140087 -81.265396   
on Skull Fork Rd at the intersection of Glasgow Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Skullfork had a school & was listed in the 1888 Bridgman’s Atlas & 1901 Cram Atlas.

Sugartree (Sugar Tree Fork) – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1867 – 1901
Location: 40.128094 -81.510053 
on R-4 in Salt Fork State Park
Remnants: McCleary Cemetery between R-4 & the lake, Kennedy (Salt Fork) Stone House north off of R-4 east of the GPS coordinates
Description: The McCleary family built a grist mill & saw mill along Sugar Tree Fork. The town also had a general store & school. Benjamin Kennedy (1814 – 1882) & Margaret (Orr) Kennedy (1818 – 1876) were the original owners of the Salt Fork Stone House which was completed around 1840 & has more info on a  website, ksh.org. They were buried with relatives in Irish Ridge Cemetery at the intersection of Clary Rd & Broadhead Rd in Monroe Township. Some of the former town land is under Salt Fork Lake.

Toledoville – Wheeling Township
Location: 40.162293 -81.646512 
between SR 658 (Hopewell Rd & SR 541 (Plainfield Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small mining boom town on the Pennsylvania Railroad & named after the Toledo Coal Company that was along the tracks.

                                                             Hardin County Ohio Ghost Towns

Blocktown – Washington Township
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: 40.746944 -83.690603 
on Locker Rd at the intersection of Co Rd 115
Remnants: St. John’s Lutheran Church at the GPS coordinates, old & abandoned houses in the area
Description: The town was founded in 1877 by German immigrants Charles Block (1841 – 1899) & Elizabeth Block (1843 – 1911) who had 5 children. They owned a saw mill, cider mill, general store, blacksmith shop, & employed local residents. Charles was also the postmaster & the town had a school & the church. The Block family moved out of the state & Blocktown ceased its existence around 1900. Charles & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Oak Ridge Cemetery in Dunklin County, Missouri.

Geneva – Blanchard Township
Location: 40.782956 -83.641832 
on Geneva St at the intersection of US 68
Remnants: none known
Description: Geneva never made it past the proposal stage. When the Pennsylvania Railroad was built through the township, the future village site was moved north to the tracks. Dunkirk was platted there by Hugh Miller (1807 – 1890) & named by him after Dunkirk, New York.

Grange – Lynn Township
Location: 40.629353 -83.682678   
on Lynn Valley Pike at the intersection of Co Rd 115
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It had a grange hall, Lynn Valley Grange No. 581 & a school. Many residents were buried in Norman Cemetery on the west side of Co Rd 115 about 3 miles south of the GPS coordinates.

Hardy
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Marshs (Marshes) – Dudley Township
Location: 40.558945 -83.441590   
on Co Rd 245 at the railroad crossing between Co Rd 202 & Township Rd 230
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Big Four Railroad & was listed in the 1901 Cram Atlas.

McDonald – McDonald Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1873
Location: unknown
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the McDonald family in the county descended from William McDonald who the township was named after.

McGoldricks Town – Cessna Township
Location: unknown, was in Section 25
Description: Its proprietor Thomas McGoldrick platted the town in 1833 but it never grew any & he moved away after a few years.

Peru – Cessna & Pleasant Township
Location: 40.717474 -83.653223   
on Co Rd 135 at the intersection of Township Rd 80 (Hensel Rd) between Kaylor Rd
Remnants: Cessna Cemetery on the north side of Township Rd 80 west of Co Rd 135
Description: Peru was platted with 90 lots & a public square in 1836 by Charles Cessna (1784 – 1864) who was born in Pennsylvania & arrived in the township later named after him with some family members around 1830. It had a store & a few houses but couldn’t compete with Huntersville or Kenton at the time. Two lots were purchased by the Governor Of Rhode Island but he didn’t move to Ohio or make any improvements on the land. Another two lots were purchased by a man from New York. He checked out the land, left because of the harsh wilderness it was back then, & never returned. Charles was buried with relatives in Cessna Cemetery.

Saint Michaels – Goshen Township
Location: 40.643108 -83.472328   
on SR 309 at the intersection of Co Rd 265
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1836 with 125 lots.

West Union – Washington Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

                                                  Henry County Ohio Ghost Towns

Beaver Creek 
Post Office: 1840 – 1847
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Cloverleaf – Liberty Township
Location: 41.471600 -84.076466   
on County Rd V at the intersection of Township Rd 11
Remnants: none known

Damascus – Liberty Township
Post Office: 1819 – 1868
Location: 41.412693 -84.009419   
on SR 190 near the intersection of SR 424 (East Riverview Ave) between the Maumee River & North Turkeyfoot Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It was the original county seat & was platted on both sides of SR 190 at the site of a former Native American village called Prairie Du Masque in the early 1700s.

Durand – Liberty Township
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the Ohio State Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1860 – ’61.

Farnham – Bartlow Township, Henry County & Jackson Township Wood County
Post Office: 1871 – 1890
Location: 41.231995 -83.882162   
on Henry Wood County Line Rd between County Rd E & Country Rd F on the Henry & Wood County border along the railroad tracks
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietors were Joseph Durliat (1831 – 1889) & Magdalena (Trendall) Durliat (1837 – 1921). Joseph was born in France & met Madgalena in Canada where they were married. The Durliats had 10 children, a 520 acre farm, steam saw mill, & ran the post office. They were buried with relatives in Saint Louis Cemetery on SR 281 in Wood County.

Girtys Point – Harrison Township
Location: 41.326751 -84.154081 
on County Rd Z at the intersection of County Rd 15
Remnants: Cole Cemetery on south side of the road east of the intersection
Description: The town was named after Simon Girty (1741 – 1818) who was captured by Seneca natives with his family in Pennsylvania & adopted by the tribe, living with them until 1764. He later joined the British & Native American resistance against American settlers & troops. Simon hid out on Girty’s Island on the Maumee River across from Cole Cemetery where he & his brother George had trading posts in the 1780s & 1790s. The island turned into a Victorian Era amusement park.

Goosetown (Goose Town) – Napoleon Township
Location: unknown, along the Maumee River downstream from Napoleon
Description: This would have been town was laid out by the proprietors of Napoleon prior to its existence, but the land was on low ground & flooded badly. The idea of Goosetown was traded in favor of Napoleon’s present location.

Madeira – Marion Township, Henry County & Liberty Township, Putnam County
Location: 41.166769 -84.054575   
on Henry County Rd A at the intersection of Township Rd 10 on the Henry & Putnam County border
Remnants: none known
Description: Madeira’s only claim to fame was being mentioned as a small place in Henry Howe’s 1847 Historical Collections Of Ohio.

Odessa – Damascus Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1867
Location: 41.408806 -83.970724   
on County Rd 5A along South Turkeyfoot Creek between County Rd 5A & SR 110
Remnants: Kruger Cemetery on the west side of County Rd 7 between Township Rd P3 & SR 110, Olive Branch Cemetery on County Rd 5A between County Rd P & Township Rd O4
Description: Odessa was founded by Thomas Reid (1813 – 1878) & Elmira (Crockett) Reid (1824 – 1897). It was a farming town with a general store, saw mill, & grist mill. The town used the Miami & Erie Canal to transport goods. Odessa was hit hard by the cholera epidemic in the mid 1800s but was still the largest village in the township before McClure boomed during the railroad era. Thomas was buried in Kruger Cemetery & Elmira in Olive Branch.

Ridgeland – Marion Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1896
Location: 41.195294 -84.064637   
on County Rd Y between County Rd 10A & County Rd 10B
Remnants: Marion Township Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded in 1841 by Samuel Hashbarger (1815 – 1859) & Anna (Rader) Hashbarger (1815 – 1889) who remarried after Samuel passed away. In 1863 George W. Edwards (1834 – 1919) & John Rayle (1831 – 1915) platted the town & attempted to change its name to Edwardsville. The U.S. Postal Service denied the request as there was already an Edwardsville with a post office in Warren County. Everyone mentioned in this listing was buried with relatives in the cemetery.

Turkey Foot
Post Office: 1840 – 1849
Location: unknown
Description: none found

                                               Highland County Ohio Ghost Towns

Clear Creek (Clear Creek Settlement) – Liberty Township
Location: 39.244133 -83.605273 

on US 62 at the intersection of Selph Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was one of the earliest villages in the county & had a church school, & blacksmith shop. The Evans family was the largest in the area & arrived with other pioneer settlers from Bourbon County, Kentucky in 1800.

Edensborough
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Fallsville – Penn Township
Location: 39.286168 -83.632763   
on Fallsville Ln (Township Hwy 432) west off of Careytown Rd between Powell Rd & Roundhead Rd
Remnants: Auburn Church & Cemetery north of Fallsville Ln on Careytown Rd, building foundations on a hiking trail south (left) at the end of Fallsville Ln
Description: John Timberlake built a stone house & grist mill in the early 1820s next to the waterfall on Clear Creek that the town was named after. Simon Clouser (1796 – 1881) & Elizabeth (Duckwall) Clouser (1797 – 1875) purchased the land in 1825 & moved into the stone house the following year. John platted Fallsville in 1848 with hopes of attracting a railroad but that never happened & he later moved out of the area. The town had 3 streets & around a dozen houses. Auburn Church was built in 1891 & the last official resident of Fallsville passed away in 1893 as it faded away into oblivion. Simon & Elizabeth were buried in Auburn Cemetery with their 3 daughters. There are newer residences in the area now & its reportedly haunted by the ghost of a Native American girl who knocks on doors on Christmas Eve in an attempt to show someone where a local treasure is buried.

Gall – Brush Creek Township
Post Office: 1895 – 1905
Location: 39.092012 -83.461026   
on Sinking Spring Rd at the intersection of N Elmwood Rd along Middle Fork
Remnants: Countryman Cemetery on the north side of Sinking Spring Rd west of the GPS coordinates
Description: The proprietor James Gall (1864 – 1942) was a teacher, farmer, & ran a general store & post office on the farm where he was born. James was buried with relatives in Marshall Cemetery at the intersection of SR 124 & Herbert Rd. The Countryman family also owned a lot of land in the area.

Home – Brush Creek Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1867
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Honolulu – Salem Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1898
Location: 39.167919 -83.836937   
on SR 134 at the intersection of Murtland Rd along Little North Fork
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming & postal town had a school.

Littleton (Luttleton) – Salem Township
Post Office: 1883 – 1903
Location: 39.167291 -83.788882   
on Dawson Rd at the intersection of N Ford Rd along North Fork
Remnants: none known
Description: It was another small farming, railroad, & postal town with a school.

New Amsterdam – Paint Township (formerly in Paint Township, Ross County)
Location: unknown, was along the falls of Paint Creek
Description: Jacob & Enoch Smith were brothers of Dutch descent who came to Ohio with a group of settlers from Virginia in 1796. They built a saw mill & grist mill at the falls on Paint Creek &  platted New Amsterdam in 1800 on land acquired from General Nathaniel Massie (1763 – 1813). The streets were mostly named after popular Revolutionary War veterans. Residential lots sold well in the town early on with cabins & some stores. The town didn’t get any other big businesses to keep it going though & disappeared after a few decades.

New Leesburg
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Oak
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Sharpsville – Union Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1855
Location: 39.255626 -83.75054  
on Sharpsville Rd along Turtle Creek between Quarry Rd & Bald Knob Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by James Sharp (1799 – 1872) & Margaret (Cloud) Sharp (1801 – 1869) who were both born in Pennsylvania & met & married in Highland County. They had a few children & accumulated a 400 acre farm with funds raised by a saw mill & grist mill James constructed on Turtle Creek. The town lasted much longer than its post office & had a Methodist church & school. It can be found in the 1871, 1887, & 1916 Highland County Atlases. Daniel Sharp (1837 – 1907) operated a quarry on the old family land & was buried with relatives in New Lynchburg Masonic Cemetery on SR 134. His parents James & Margaret were buried with relatives in Mount Olive Cemetery on Mad River Rd.

Sicily – Clay Township
Post Office: 1848 – 1895
Location: 39.028399 -83.863539   
on Sicily Rd at the intersection of Ellis Rd
Remnants: Huggins (Huggens) Cemetery on private property the east side of Sicily Rd west of the GPS coordinates
Description: Sicily was founded in the 1830s & platted in 1848 by John Huggins (1810 – 1860) from North Carolina & Isabella (Hindman) Huggins (1813 – 1899). They had a few children & large farm. A few town lots sold & it had a school & church congregation but no big businesses to create a population boom. John & Isabella were buried with relatives in Huggins Cemetery.

Sorg – New Market Township
Post Office: 1894 – 1901
Location: 39.116536 -83.671276   
on SR 136 at the intersection of Point Liberty Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a blacksmith shop & a school.

                                                  Holmes County Ohio Ghost Towns

Baddow Pass – Richland Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1894
Location: 40.494508 -82.147932   
on Township Highway 14 along the Holmes County Trail between Baddow Pass Rd (County Highway 75) & Township Highway 32
Remnants: none known
It was on the Cleveland, Akron, & Columbus Railway but didn’t have a train station.

Carpenter – Mechanic Township
Location: 40.453336 -81.901339   
on SR 83 at the 4 way intersection with County Rd 150 & Co Hwy 19 along Doughty Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietor was a T. Carpenter from the large family in the county.

Charlesburg – Washington Township
Location: 40.646194 -82.114741   
on Township Highway 472 near the intersection of Township Highway 474
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming town with no other major industries.

DeWitt Ridge (Dewitts Ridge) – Richland Township
Post Office: 1861 – 1868
Location: 40.521537 -82.145880   
on SR 520 at the 3 way intersection with County Highway 75 & Township Highway 16
Remnants: Dewitts Ridge Cemetery near the GPS coordinates
Description: The town proprietors were members of the Dewitt family who operated a general store, post office, & other small businesses. Some residents & Dewitt family members were buried in Christian Church Cemetery in Glenmont at the corner of Main St & Depot St (SR 520). Others were buried in Barnes Cemetery on an unmarked road east off of Township Highway 7 just north of Baddow Pass Rd. A few others were buried in Dewitts Ridge Cemetery, listed on findagrave.com with no directions.

Grade – Mechanic Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1901
Location: 40.507564 -81.888473   
on County Highway 58 at the intersection of County Highway 580
Remnants: none known
Description: Grade didn’t have any big businesses, but the post office a few small shops were enough to put it on maps back in the day.

Huston – Prairie Township
Location: 40.607838 -81.917642   
on Township Rd 346 at the former railroad crossing between SR 83 & Township Rd 559
Remnants: none known
Description: Huston had a saw mill & a train station on the Cleveland, Akron, & Columbus Railway.

Johnville – Washington Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Jones Corners – Richland Township
Post Office: 1861 – 1890
Location: 40.476635 -82.128970   
on County Highway 25 at the intersection of Township Highway 13 & County Highway 75
Remnants: Union Grove Church & Cemetery east of the GPS coordinates on Township Highway 2 off of County Highway 25
Description: It was founded by William Jones (1787 – 1848) & Rebecca Jones (1786 – 1868). They had several children, accumulated a large farm, & donated land for a school. William & Rebecca were buried with relatives in the cemetery.

Lafayette – Prairie Township
Location: 40.629931 -81.923950   
on Main St at the intersection of SR 83 on the west side of Holmesville
Description: Lafayette is a ghost town due to a post office name change & expansion. It was platted in 1836 but there was already a post office with the same name in Ohio so it went with Holmesville in 1837. Lafayette ended up being overtaken by the growing eastern side  of town & was annexed into Holmesville in 1848. It continued to be the main business district until around 1870.

Mount Union (Union Village) – Mechanic Township
Location: 40.453342 -81.901344   
on SR 83 at the intersection with County Rd 150 & County Highway 19
Remnants: none known
Description: In the 1870s it had a small town plat on the east side of the GPS coordinates & a school in the northwestern lot of the intersection.

New Wheeling – Knox Township
Location: 40.584611 -82.191286   
on County Highway 23 along the Mohican River at the intersection with Township Highway 211
Remnants: none known

Portersfield
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Salt Creek
Post Office: 1854 – 1874
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Wardsville (Wards) – Clark Township (formerly German)
Post Office: 1828 – 1836
Location: unknown, was near the middle of the southern portion of the township with New Bedford across the border in Coshocton County
Description: Wardsville was laid out in 1825 & lost a cross county battle for local business to New Bedford, which was quickly platted afterwards in Coshocton County as its rival.

Wilmington
Location: unknown, was on the west side of Killbuck Creek
Description: Wilmington was platted with 61 lots in 1815 as the first village in the county. The spot had been chosen in anticipation of a proposed canal route through the area but that ended up going toward Holmesville. The idea of Wilmington, which hadn’t made much progress anyway, was abandoned.

                                                   Huron County Ohio Ghost Towns

Blue Fly – Townsend Township
Location: 41.233412 -82.532216   
on County Hwy 250 at the intersection of Medusa Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: William Thompson built a tavern on the section of land southwest of the GPS coordinates in the mid 1800s & painted it blue. Local residents called it the Blue Fly & the town took on the same name.

Bronson – Bronson & Peru Township
Post Office: 1830 – 1867
Location: 41.176814 -82.639898   
on Peru Hollow Rd between SR 161 & Snyder Rd
Remnants: Bronson Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was the first village in the township & was named after Isaac Bronson who owned most of the land in the early 1800s.

Carson – Ripley Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1883
Location: 41.002772 -82.558842 
on Edwards Rd at the railroad crossing between Plymouth East Rd E & Base Line Rd W
Remnants: none known
Description: Carson was on the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railroad. It had a grist mill, saw mill, grocery store,  blacksmith shop & a school along Edwards Rd south of the railroad tracks in the mid to late 1800s.

Centreville
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Fiddlers Green – New London Township, Huron County & Ruggles Township, Ashland County
Location: 41.065638 -82.396689   
on SR 60 at the intersection of Town Line Rd 187 on the Ashland County border
Remnants: none known
Description: Fiddler’s Green was a small merchant & farming town. When the Big Four Railroad was built in New London in the early 1850s, the businesses of Fiddlers Green were physically moved there.

Germantown
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Half Way – Ridgefield Township
Location: 41.240945 -82.665690   
on Halfway Rd at the railroad crossing between US 20 & Washington Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town name refers to its location between Monroeville & Norwalk. It sat on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway but didn’t have a train station.

Ives
Post Office: 1840 – 1846
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Ives family in the area.

Lyme Station – Lyme Township
Post Office: 1824 – 1894
Location: 41.255172 -82.763927   
on Sand Hill Rd at the railroad crossing between US 20 & Opperman Rd
Remnants: Trinity Episcopal Church & Cemetery at the intersection of Young Rd & US 20
Description: The town sat on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. Some residents were buried in Trinity Episcopal Cemetery.

Miner
Location: unknown
Description: none found

New Salem – Norwalk Township
Location: 41.277030 -82.632094   
on Whittlesey Ave on the east side of the Huron River north of Lais Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: New Salem was a Monrovian missionary settlement from 1787 – 1793.

North Norwich – Norwich Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1856
Location: 41.124658 -82.773706   
on N Greenfield Rd at the intersection with Boughton Rd
Remnants: Boughton (North Norwich) Cemetery on the east side of Section Line Rd 30 S north of Old Military Rd
Descripton: This farming & postal town was founded by Naum Gilson (1793 – 1864) & Sarah “Sally” (Ormes) Gilson (1792 – 1876) who were farming pioneers of the county. They had a few children, & Naum was the postmaster for around 20 years. Naum & Sarah were buried with relatives & other early settlers in Boughton Cemetery

Ramey – Greenwich Township, Huron County & Ruggles Township, Ashland County
Location: 41.050636 -82.439014   
on US 250 at the intersection of Greenwich East Town Line Rd S
Remnants: none known
Description: Jane Ramey (1825 – 1907) was the town founder & proprietor. She was a widow & owned adjoining lots in Huron & Ashland County on the east side of the GPS coordinates. Ramey was on the B & O Railroad but didn’t have a train station & can be found on the 1891 Huron County Atlas & 1901 Cram Atlas.

Relief – Norwich Township
Location: 41.072833 -82.799627   
on Daniels Rd at the railroad crossing between Egypt Rd & Town Line Rd 12
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the B & O Railroad but didn’t have a train station. The biggest families in the area were the Vogels & Willoughbys.

Reservoir – Lyme Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Sherman – Sherman Township
Post Office: 1825 – 1865
Location: 41.186550 -82.807104   
on Heyman Rd at the intersection with Pontiac Section Line Rd
Remnants: Jones (Sherman Township) Cemetery on the east side of Heyman Rd north of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by Daniel Sherman (1790 – 1864) who owned the farm where the cemetery is. He turned down an appointment to be the postmaster, which then went to his neighbor Rufus Payne across Heyman Rd. There was also a general store in the northwest corner of the town intersection. Daniel was buried with his second wife, Laura (Hubbell) Sherman (1791 – 1873) in Riverside Cemetery on Norwalk St south of Monroeville.

Townsend Center  (East Townsend) – Townsend Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1905
Location: 41.248239 -82.491573   
on US 20 at the intersection of Hartland Center Rd
Description: Townsend Center is the former name of present day East Townsend. The name changed sometime between 1891 & 1901.

Union
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Yeomans
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Lake County Ohio Ghost Towns

Arcole (Ellensburg)  (Harper’s Landing)  (Madison Dock) – Madison Township
Post Office: 1837 – 1851
Location: 41.849515 -81.008067 
on Dock Rd at the intersection of Lakeshore Blvd along Arcola Creek
Remnants: Dock Road Cemetery on its east side between Cunningham Rd & Chapel Rd
Description: The town had 2 iron furnaces, The Arcole Steam Hot And Cold-Blast Charcoal Furnaces. The first one was built in 1825 by Root & Wheeler & the second was built by Wilkeson & Co. in 1832. The Arcole Iron Works produced stoves, kettles, & several other heavy castings in the foundry. It was once the largest employer in the state. Ship building & fishing were also important industries in the area. Many residents were buried in Dock Road Cemetery.

Boyce Mill – (formerly in Willoughby Township)
Location: unknown, was along the Chagrin River
Description: The proprietor Joseph Boyce (1823 – 1894) was born in Canada, of Irish descent, & moved to Ohio with his family around the age of 10. He was a teacher, postmaster, & general store owner in Willoughby before entering the mill business. Joseph married Julia (French) Boyce (1837 – 1915) in 1856. He was part owner in the Willoughby Mills & later built mills next to the Chagrin River. Joseph & Julia were buried in Lake View Cemetery on Euclid Ave in Cleveland.

Clarks – Concord Township
Location: 41.650046 -81.241490   
on SR 44 between Girdled Rd & Capital Pkwy
Remnants: none known
Description: Clarks sat along the Pittsburgh & Western Railroad & had a school.

Hampshire – Concord Township
Post Office: 1842 – 1843
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the 1843 A Table Of Post-Offices In Ohio, Arranged By Counties, Townships, And Towns as being 3 miles from the county seat.

Heisley (Heisley Station) – City Of Mentor (formerly Mentor Township)
Location: 41.697267 -81.307327   
on Heisley Rd at the railroad crossing between Hamilton Dr & Tyler Blvd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town had a train station on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. These days a commercial area & residential subdivision still use the name Heisley.

Hobarts Corners – City Of Kirtland (formerly Kirtland Township)
Location: 41.583910 -81.369054 
on US 6 at the intersection of Hobart Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Joshua Hobart (1809 – 1892) from New Hampshire & Lucy (Heath) Hobart (1814 – 1893). The town had a school on the south side of US 6. Joshua & Lucy were buried with relatives in Waite Hill Village Cemetery on Waite Hill Rd, 3 miles north of the intersection.

Hopkins (Hopkins Point) – City Of Mentor (formerly Mentor Township)
Location: 41.720486 -81.342134   
on SR 283 (Lakeshore Blvd) at the intersection of Hopkins Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Daniel Hopkins (1790 – 1867) from Vermont & Anna (Churchill) Hopkins (1804 – 1898) from New Hampshire. They married in Ohio in 1820, had 11 children, & a 500 acre farm. The New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad rolled through the area in the late 1800s to early 1900s. Daniel & Anna were buried with relatives in Mentor Municipal Cemetery at 7881 Hopkins Rd, south of the intersection.

Judds Corners – Concord Township
Location: 41.661620 -81.196514   
on SR 608 (Concord Hambden Rd) at the intersection of Girdled Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Samuel Judd (1792 – 1875) & Marcia (Welton) Judd (1795 – 1872) who moved to Ohio from Connecticut & had a few children. Samuel was the postmaster of the Concord office in 1852. They were buried with relatives in Welton Cemetery on Goodwin Rd in Burton, Geauga County.

Kniffins Corners (Kniffens Corners) – Leroy Township
Location: 41.659667 -81.129540  
on SR 86 (Painesville Warren Rd) at the intersection of Kniffen Rd
Remnants: Brakeman (Peters) Cemetery on the north side of SR 86 between Kniffen Rd & Brakeman Rd, old houses in the area
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Kniffin (Kniffen) family in the county.

Krebs Corners
Location: unknown
Description: The proprietors were a branch of the Krebs family in the county.

Marsh Settlement – City Of Mentor (formerly Mentor Township)
Location: 41.725800 -81.338800   
on Harbor Dr in the Mentor Marina
Remnants: historical marker at the GPS coordinates
Description: It was platted in 1797 by Charles Parker of the Connecticut Land Company as the first settlement in Lake County. Mentor grew out of the settlement.

Mascot – Painesville Township
Post Office: 1898 – 1899
Location: 41.706057 -81.231944   
on the east side of SR 86 (Painesville Warren Rd) at the mouth of Big Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: This small postal town wasn’t around very long. Residents were buried in St. Mary’s Cemetery at the intersection of Bank St & SR 86.

New Market – Painesville Township
Location: unknown, was along the Grand River between Fairport & Painesville
Description: The town was platted in 1803 by Revolutionary War veteran Captain Abraham Skinner (1755 – 1826) from Connecticut, who also founded & platted Fairport. In 1788 he married Mary (Ayers) Skinner (d. 1812) & had 5 children. They moved to New Market with Abraham in 1805 when he returned to Connecticut to get them. The town had 3 warehouses, a general store, 2 taverns, & a distillery, but was abandoned as other towns in the area were growing much more rapidly. Abraham & Mary were buried with relatives in Evergreen Cemetery on Main St in Painesville.

Pease Mill – Concord Township
Location: 41.668845 -81.183901   
on Girdled Rd at the intersection of Cascade Rd along Big Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded in 1852 by David Pease (1815 – 1890) from Massachusetts & Lucy (Dean) Pease (1817 – 1857) from Rock River, OH. David built a mill on Big Creek for turning wood to make furniture & small wares. Items were sold at fairs & expos in local towns & big cities. He also planted a maple & walnut grove in Pease Hollow to replenish the trees he used. The mill collapsed due to heavy snows in 1963. David remarried after his first wife passed away & was buried with relatives in Evergreen Cemetery in Painesville.

Rush Road – City Of Willowick (formerly in Willoughby Township)
Location: 41.621437 -81.457893   
on E 305th St (formerly Rush Rd) at the railroad crossing between US 20 (Euclid Ave) & N Marginal Dr
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway & named after the family of Richard Rush (1847 – 1919) & Ella (Gould) Rush (1857 – 1949) who owned land on Rush Rd & had a few children. They were buried with relatives in S.O.M. Road Cemetery in Willoughby Hills.

Shanungus
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Wheeler – Madison Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1900
Location: 41.733386 -81.044263   
on Ledge Rd at the intersection of SR 528 (S Madison Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Edward P. Wheeler was the original postmaster.

Worden – City Of Wickliffe (formerly in Willoughby Township)
Location: 41.621324 -81.475000   
on Worden Rd at the intersection of Elgin Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Noah Worden (1778 – 1864) from Connecticut who moved to Ohio in 1809. He had 7 children & remarried after his first wife passed away. It was a farming town & had a school in the mid 1800s. Noah was buried with relatives in Willoughby Village Cemetery on Sharpe Ave.

                                                   Lorain County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bairdsville – Brighton Township (formerly in Medina County)
Post Office: 1836 – 1838
Location: 41.185430 -82.322075 
on Peck Wadsworth Rd at the intersection of Baird Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Baird family in the county.

Benton – Sheffield Township
Location: unknown, was near Sheffield
Description: none found

Brownhelm Centre – Brownhelm Township
Post Office: 1835 – 1838
Location: 41.385917 -82.303917   
on N Ridge Rd at the intersection of Sunnyside Rd
Remnants: Brownhelm (North Ridge) Cemetery at the intersection
Description: There wasn’t anything particularly wrong with the location but it couldn’t compete with previously settled towns which were already growing at good rates. Prior to the post office being established, Revolutionary War veteran & Boston Tea Party member George Bacon (1757 – 1834) & Hepzibah (Crease) Bacon (1762 – 1829) owned most of the land in the area. They were buried with many relatives & township pioneers in Brownhelm Cemetery.

Carlisle (same location as Murraysville) – Carlisle Township
Post Office: 1847 – 1855
Location: 41.336561 -82.122204   
on Oberlin Elyria Rd at the intersection of Russia Rd along Black River
Remnants: South Murray Ridge Cemetery at the intersection of Murray  Ridge Rd & Russia Rd
Description: It was called Murraysville prior to 1847 & was founded by Philo Murray (1789 – 1854) & Harriet (Minot) Murray (1797 – 1862) who moved to Ohio from Connecticut in the early 1820s & had 7 children. In the mid 1800s it had a saw mill, grist mill, general store, school, & about 25 houses. The town kept growing well on its own & was never abandoned but eventually was overtaken by & annexed into the City of Elyria. Philo & Harriet were buried with relatives & other township pioneers in South Murray Ridge Cemetery.

Ferguson
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Ferguson family in the county.

Folger  (Avon Station) – City Of Avon (formerly Avon Township)
Post Office: 1891 – 1918
Location: 41.478374 -82.019310   
on Avon Belden Rd (SR 83) at the railroad crossing between Walker Rd & Chester Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: Named after the Folger family in the township, it was on the New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad . The town had a train station & a fruit office which was mainly used for housing grapes that were ready for shipment. The store & post office was in the southwest corner of the intersection.

Hart’s Station – Carlisle Township
Location: 41.285065 -82.081778   
on Indian Hollow Rd at the intersection of Banks Rd
Remnants: many remnants & foundations on the Windfall Quarry Trail in Sheldon Woods of the Lorain County Metroparks System
Description: The town was founded by John Hart (1830 – 1896) & Caroline Hart (1838 – 1908) who had a few children, nice farm, & donated land for a train station on the Cleveland, Tuscarawas Valley, & Wheeling Railroad. John built a water powered saw mill along the Black River that was later converted to steam. Farming & rock quarries were the main industries & the Grafton – Brunswick Railroad, built by the quarry company, was used to ship stones. There was also a school, blacksmith shop, general store, & creamery in the mid to late 1800s. John & Caroline were buried with relatives in Butternut Ridge Cemetery on Butternut Ridge Rd in Elyria.

Huff
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Hulberts Corners – City Of Amherst (formerly in Amherst Township)
Location: 41.398506 -82.226853  
at the intersection of Milan Ave & Cleveland Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: Hulberts Corners was the former town at the location Amherst was built on. The Hulbert family was long gone by the time Amherst was founded.

Kishmans – Brownhelm Township
Location: 41.422545 -82.343679   
along the northern set of railroad tracks between US 6 (Liberty Ave) & Vermilion Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Albert Kishman (1868 – 1951) & Harriet (Henkes) Kishman (1969 – 1910). Albert was a farmer & fisherman who was born into a large & well known fishing family of German descent. The town was on the New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad from the late 1890s to early 1920s. Albert & Harriet were buried with relatives in Brownhelm (North Ridge) Cemetery on N Ridge Rd.

Murraysville (same location as Carlisle) – Carlisle Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1847
Location: 41.336561 -82.122204   
on Oberlin Elyria Rd at the intersection of Russia Rd along Black River
Remnants: South Murray Ridge Cemetery at the intersection of Murray Ridge Rd & Russia Rd
Description: The town was founded by Philo Murray (1789 – 1854) & Harriet (Minot) Murray (1797 – 1862) who moved to Ohio from Connecticut in the early 1820s & had 7 children. In the mid 1800s it had a saw mill, grist mill, general store, school, & about 25 houses. The town kept growing well on it’s own & was never abandoned but eventually was overtaken by & annexed into the City of Elyria. Philo & Harriet were buried with relatives & other township pioneers in South Murray Ridge Cemetery.

Nickel Plate – Lagrange Township
Post Office: 1888 – 1895
Location: 41.264218 -82.157652 
on Diagonal Rd at the intersection of Kipton Nickel Plate Rd
Remnants: Rockwood Cemetery on the east side of Diagonal Rd north of the intersection
Description: It had a cheese factory, general store, school, & a rock quarry operated by the Cleveland Stone Company in the late 1800s to early 1900s. There was a spur of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway on the east side of Diagonal Rd which was used to transport stone. Residents were buried in Rockwood Cemetery.

Oak Point – City Of Lorain (formerly Black River Township)
Location: 41.435597 -82.248489 
on US 6 at the intersection of Oak Point Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Oak Point was a shipping port for the Clough Stone Company which had a narrow gauge railroad running from the quarries to the New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad & the quarry wharf on Lake Erie. The town also had a hotel, bath house, & a community hall near the wharf.

Paradise
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Patterson (Patterson Station) – Carlisle Township
Location: 41.319894 -82.102731   
on Butternut Ridge Rd at the railroad crossing between Lagrange Rd & Indian Hollow Rd 
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was on the Cleveland, Lorain, & Wheeling Railroad. Its proprietor William Patterson (1811 – 1901) held the offices of county sheriff & commissioner as well as every office in the township at one time or another. He had 3 children with his first wife Phoebe (Vincent) Patterson (1813 – 1856). They were born & married in Massachusetts in 1833 & moved to Ohio in 1837. William remarried after Phoebe passed away.

Rugby – Brownhelm Township
Post Office: 1897 – 1903
Location: 41.379381 -82.317049   
between Bank St & Vermilion Rd along the Vermilion River
Remnants: Rugby Cemetery on the south side of N Ridge Rd between Gore Orphanage Rd & Bank St, one room schoolhouse at the fork of Banks St & Morse Rd west of the GPS coordinates, Mill Hollow House on N Ridge Rd in the Vermilion River Reservation 
Description: The town was the location of Brownhelm Mills, currently in the Vermilion River Reservation, which had a saw mill & grist mill. The Mill Hollow House was built for Benjamin Bacon (1789 – 1868) & is on the National Register Of Historic Places. Residents were buried in Rugby Cemetery & Brownhelm (North Ridge) Cemetery on N Ridge Rd.

Seaman – Elyria Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Shawville (Ridgeville Station) – City Of North Ridgeville (formerly Ridgeville Township)
Post Office: 1874 – 1881
Location: 41.375602 -82.018754   
at the railroad crossing between Old Avon Belned Rd N & Old Avon Belden Rd S
Remnants: none known
Description: Shawville was founded by Samuel Shaw (1829 – 1918) from New York & Juliaett (Wiley) Shaw 1830 – 1923) from Pennsylvania. It had a train station on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. Samuel & Juliaett were buried with relatives in Ridgeville (North Ridgeville Center) Cemetery on Stoney Ridge Rd.

Spencer – Penfield Township
Post Office: 1834 – 1849
Location: 41.154202 -82.122825  
on Lattasburg – Elyria Rd (SR 301) at the intersection of Jones Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Calvin Spencer (1778 – 1857) & Mary (Hawley) Spencer (1786 – 1846) who moved to Ohio from New York in 1824 & had 6 children. Calvin built a saw mill & the town also had a school. They were buried in Penfield Cemetery on Medina – Norwalk Rd.

Trinity – City Of Avon
Post Office – 1898 – 1904
Location: 41.448269 -82.000237   
on Jaycox Rd at the intersection of Emory Dr
Remnants: Holy Trinity Cemetery on the west side of Jaycox Rd south of the intersection
Description: Trinity was settled by Catholic German immigrants. It had a school, shoe shop, a frame church built in 1843, & the cemetery was established in 1833. The congregation’s current church is over 100 years old & stands at the intersection of Detroit Ave (SR 254) & Nagel Rd.

Troxel – New Russia Township (formerly Russia Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Troxel family in the county.

Webbs Corners (South Amherst) – Amherst Township
Location: 41.357484 -82.240206   
on SR 113 (Milan Elyria Rd) at the intersection of S Lake St
Remnants: Evergreen Cemetery on the south side of SR 113, Pioneer Cemetery on the west side of S Lake St
Description: Webbs Corners was the original name of South Amherst. It was founded in 1816 by Reuben Webb (1770 – 1838) & Mary Webb. They had a a few children & built a tavern near Beaver Creek. They were buried with relatives in Evergreen Cemetery.

Madison County Ohio Ghost Towns

Carters – Canaan Township
Location: 40.065024 -80.222021 
on Carters Mill Rd (Co Hwy 39) between Amity Pike & Hayden Run Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: John P. Carter moved to the township with family members in 1866. He owned & operated the grist & saw mills built by Isaac Fuller.

Darby Crest – Jefferson Township
Location: 39.947167 -83.236227 
on Riverside Dr along Darby Creek & Darby Dr south off US 40
Remnants: none known
Description: The old town is long gone but the current neighborhood of Darby Crest Estates hangs onto the name.

Deer Creek Village – Somerford Township
Location: 39.968402 -83.474909   
on Arbuckle Rd near Deer Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Deer Creek Village was a native Shawnee town founded in 1794 by Tecumseh, mostly used for riding out winters.

Deersville – Stokes Township 
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the Ohio Gazeteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1833 – 1841.

Guilford
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Johnstons – Range &  Oak Run Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1844
Location: 39.789593 -83.415279 
on Yankeetown – Chenoweth Rd at the intersection of Johnston Rd
Remnants: Johnston – McClimans Cemetery on the west side of Yankeetown – Chenoweth Rd about 2 & 1/2 miles south of Johnston Rd, Old Johnston Cemetery on the southeast side of Johnston Rd near Bradford Branch
Description: The town was founded by William Johnston (1781 – 1866) & Margaret (McClimans) Johnston (1784 – 1862 who moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania around 1805, residing in Ross County for a while & settled in Madison County in 1813. They had 8 children & a large farm. William & Margaret were buried with relatives in Johnston – McClimans Cemetery.

Markley – Somerford Township
Location: 39.932560 -83.515199   
on US 40 at the intersection of Markley Rd
Remnants: Diamond Rock Stock Farm barn on the west side of Markley Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: This small farming town had a school. Jonathan Markley (1780 – 1849) & Rachel Markley (1794 – 1820) moved to Ohio from Maryland & had 3 children. Jonathan married Mary Jane (Cryder) Markley (1800 – 1849) after Rachel passed away & had another child. They were buried with relatives in Somerford Township Cemetery on SR 56 (W Urbana – Loudon Rd). Daniel Lucy (1864 – 1923) was the proprietor of the Diamond Rock Stock Farm & raised hogs for market & built the German style bank barn in 1904. He was buried in Deer Creek Township Cemetery on US 40 in Lafayette.

Myers – Union Township
Location: 39.890221 -83.529241   
on Davis Rd at the railroad crossing between Old Springfield Rd & US 42
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Big Four Railroad.

New Hampshire
Location: unknown, was north of West Jefferson
Description: none found

New Hampton – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1830 – 1833
Location: 39.939210 -83.268697 
on Frey Ave between Lilly Chapel Rd & Little Darby Creek
Remnants: Hampton Cemetery on Frey Ave, Ohio Historical Marker at the cemetery entrance, part of the first state road in Ohio (Ludlow’s Rd) on the south side of the cemetery
Description: The town was platted in 1822 with 93 lots on 8 streets by Samuel Sexton & Samuel Jones who came to Ohio from New Jersey. It had 2 stores, 3 taverns, & a Baptist church but just 7 families were living there at its peak. New Hampton was abandoned when the National Road (US 40) was built north of town & residents moved their houses & businesses to West Jefferson which was growing quickly. Samuel Jones & Samuel Sexton moved back to New Jersey after the town they founded failed.

Nioga – Pleasant Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1900
Location: 39.782838 -83.318805 
on London – Circleville Rd at the intersection of Robinson Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Pleasant Township School No. 5 was in the corner lot on the south side of Robinson Rd at the GPS coordinates. The Robinsons were the largest family in the area during the late 1800s – early 1900s.

Roberts – Jefferson Township
Location: 39.942561 -83.306305 
on US 40 at the intersection of SR 29 (Urbana – West Jefferson Rd)
Remnants: Pleasant Hill Cemetery on US 40
Description: The original proprietors were Thomas Roberts (1775 – 1864) & Susan (Boisel) Roberts (1779 – 1864) who moved to Ohio from Virginia in the early 1800s, had several children, & accumulated much of the land on the west side of West Jefferson. A portion of it was donated for tracks for the Columbus & Xenia Railroad. The land was split up between the Roberts children & they continued the family’s success in the area. Sebastian Roberts (1814 – 1869) platted Pleasant Hill Cemetery in 1864. Thomas was the first interment & most of the family is buried there.

Wahoo – Deer Creek Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1867
Location: 40.001451 -83.435227 
on SR 29 (Urbana – West Jefferson Rd) between SR 38 (Marysville – London Rd) & the northwestern township border
Remnants: none known
Description: Wahoo was a small farming town with a school, post office, & church. Land was donated in 1858 for the non – denominational church by Mary A. (Dun) Thurman (1812 – 1891). The Duns were the biggest family in the area & did most of the church construction. Mary was buried with relatives in Green Lawn Cemetery in Columbus.

Willows
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Wilson – City Of London (formerly in Deer Creek Township)
Location: 39.905616 -83.428530 
on US 42 (Lafayette Rd) between Braxton Blvd & Kenny Blvd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Wilson family in the County. James Wilson (1808 – 1886) & Elanor (Smith) Wilson (1818 – 1904) had several children & a large farm. They were buried with relatives in Deer Creek Township Cemetery on US 40 in Lafayette.

                                                   Marion County Ohio Ghost Towns

Beech – Claridon & Richland Township
Location: 40.557837 -82.976851 
on Marion – Edison Rd at the intersection of Salem Rd
Remnants: Salem Evangelical Church & Salem Cemetery on Salem Rd north of the intersection, Lutheran Cemetery on SR 746 (S Caledonia – Ashley Rd) north of Marion – Edison Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was a crossroads town named after the abundance of beech trees in the area & had a steam saw mill, school, blacksmith shop, & two churches in the mid 1800s to early 1900s.

Belvuron – Claridon Township
Location: 40.582088 -83.040201   
on SR 98 (Columbus – Sandusky Rd S) at the intersection of SR 95 (Marion – Mt. Gilead Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was platted in 1829 by War Of 1812 veteran Colonel James Kilbourne (1770 – 1850) from Connecticut. He was a minister, surveyor, & served in the US Congress & state legislature. James also founded a few other towns in Ohio & was buried with relatives in St. Johns Episcopal Church Cemetery in Worthington, Franklin County.

Bethlehem – Waldo & Pleasant Township
Location: 40.483731 -83.131743   
on Bethlehem Rd W at the intersection of Smeltzer Rd
Remnants: Trinity Evangelical Lutheran (Bethlehem) Church 1 mile north at the intersection of Smeltzer Rd & Newmans – Cardington Rd W, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The original group of settlers arrived in 1832. It had two churches, a blacksmith shop, & a school in the late 1800s.

Clyde Settlement – Tully Township
Location: 40.689658 -82.938946   
on Morral – Kirkpatrick Rd E at the intersection of Timpson Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This first settlement in the township was named by Alanson Packard after the song “Banks Of The Clyde” referring to a river in Scotland, which was routinely sung by Samuel Hazlet.

Gurley (Gurleys Station) – Big Island Township
Post Office: 1879 – 1901
Location: 40.586169 -83.255751   
on Espyville Rd N at the intersection of SR 95 (Marion – Agosta Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by John Gurley (1813 – 1892) & Hannah (Monnett) Gurley (1817 – 1880) who were prominent citizens in the township, had a 160 acre farm, & one son. The town had a train station on the Bee Line of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railroad. There was also a school on the north side of SR 95. John & Hannah were buried with relatives in Marion Cemetery on Delaware Ave in Marion.

Harvey – Grand Prairie Township
Location: 40.652015 -83.119040   
on SR 4 (Marion – Bucyrus Rd) at the intersection of Linn – Hipsher Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietor David Harvey (1821 – 1902) from Pennsylvania accumulated about 1200 acres in Grand Prairie Township, Marion Township, & Crawford County. He farmed grains, wool, & dealt livestock. David had 7 children with his first wife Calista (Everett) Harvey (1829 – 1861) & helped raise his second wife’s children, Lucinda (Morris) Bell – Harvey (1830 – 1887), who was also widowed. On top of that, his brother William Harvey (1819 – 1861) passed away of typhoid less than a month after being elected Marion County Sheriff & David looked after his widow & their younger children. He was buried with relatives in Marion Cemetery on Delaware Ave in Marion.

Holmesville (Parrtown) – Bowling Green Township
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: 40.542834 -83.359643   
on SR 37 (Richwood – Larue Rd) at the intersection of Guthery Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Thomas Parr (1814 – 1898) & Sarah Ann (Pitzer) Parr (1817 – 1899) who moved to Bowling Green Township from Licking County & had a few children. Holmesville had a tavern, wagon shop, blacksmith shop, a few stores, & a horse powered grist mill built by Thomas. It was abandoned as it couldn’t compete with La Rue, which drew away businesses & grew quicker. Thomas & Sarah moved to Illinois & were buried with relatives in West Serena Cemetery in Serena.

Hoover – Scott Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1898
Location: unknown
Description: It had a freight station on the Columbus, Sandusky, & Hocking Railroad.

Hords – Big Island Township
Location: 40.592558 -83.192971   
along the Marion Tallgrass Trail between Herr Rd & Marion – Williamsport Rd W
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming town was founded by a branch of the Hord family in the county & was on the Chicago & Atlantic Railroad.

Kirbys – Grand Prairie Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Little Scioto
Post Office: 1842 – 1852
Location: unknown, was along the Little Scioto River
Description: none found

Logan – Marion & Claridon Township
Location: 40.605059 -83.073522   
on Pole Lane Rd at the railroad crossing & intersection of E Fairgrounds Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Logan was on the Bee Line of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railroad.

Longville (Bryan Station) – Big Island Township
Post Office: 1873 – 1894
Location: 40.585613 -83.217416   
on SR 203 (Prospect – Upper Sandusky Rd S) at the railroad crossing & intersection of SR 95 (Marion – Agosta Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was named after Peter Long, had a school, & was on the Bee Line of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati, & Indianapolis Railroad.

Middle Spring – Salt Rock Township
Post Office: 1837 – 1838
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

Salem – Big Island Township
Location: 40.607753 -83.279143  
on Decliff – Big Island Rd at the intersection of Schmidt Rd
Remnants: Salem Cemetery at the intersection
Description: This small farming town had a church & school.

Slab Camp – Pleasant Township
Location: 40.483828 -83.102200   
on Bethlehem Rd W at the railroad crossing between Benzler Rd & SR 423 (Marion – Waldo Rd)
Remnants: Drake Cemetery on the east side of SR 423 next to Qu Qua Creek
Description: Newly arriving settlers  built temporary tents & cabins to reside in before purchasing lots in the area on the eastern edge of what would later be the town of Bethlehem. The land was owned by War Of 1812 veteran William Drake (1769 – 1850) & Rebecca Drake (1768 – 1855). They moved to Ohio from New York in 1808 & had 7 children. Their son Daniel Drake (1805 – 1881) inherited the property & kept the camp going. William & Rebecca were buried with relatives & other early pioneers in Drake Cemetery.

Slicks (Slicks Station) – Marion Township
Location: unknown, was northwest of Logan
Description: The town was on the Erie Railroad & founded by Philip Slick who operated a tavern & inn for travelers.

Smiths Mills – Richland Township
Location: 40.512865 -83.031435   
on Cardington Rd along the Olentangy River between Whetstone River Rd S & East River Rd
Remnants: Smith Cemetery on the north side of Whestone River Rd S between Mautz – Yeager Rd & Cardington Rd
Description: The patriarch & matriarch of the family were blackmith William Smith (1792 – 1835) & Elizabeth Smith (1792 – 1862) from Maryland who had a nice farm & a few children. Their son William Washington Smith (1821 – 1912) was the proprietor of the Smith & Co. mills. Titus King (1793 – 1868) & Margaret (Storm) King (1808 – 1861) from Vermont also owned a saw mill in town & were the namesake of the present day Kings Mills Golf Club. Their son George King (1832 – 1883) expanded the saw mill with a grist mill. Some of the town’s residents were buried in Smith Cemetery.

Stringtown – Tully Township
Location: 40.674503 -82.948518   
on Marseilles – Galion Rd E at the intersection of Lyons Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area, Bruchlacher (Brooklocker) Cemetery north of the gps coordinates at the intersection of Morral – Kirkpatrick Rd E & Lyons Rd
Description: It had a school & church on Morral – Kirkpatrick Rd E east of the cemetery.

Stumptown
Location: unknown
Description: There are a couple references to it in the 1883 History Of Marion County Ohio with no location or town info.

Wilson
Post Office: 1848 – 1856
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Winnemac – Bowling Green Township
Location: 40.572366 -83.394164   
on Winnemac Pike at the intersection of Larue – Mt Victory Rd
Remnants: Bonner Cemetery north of the intersection & railroad tracks on the west side of Winnemac Pike, former one room schoolhouse west of the GPS coordinates at the intersection of Larue – Mt Victory Rd & Clark Rd S
Description: The town had a church, the school, & a brickyard across from the cemetery. Land for the cemetery was donated by John Bonner (1811 – 1894) & Elizabeth (Young) Bonner (1801 – 1883) who were buried there with relatives.

                                                  Medina County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bagdad – Medina Township
Location: 41.170907 -81.829033 
on Fenn Rd at the intersection of Huffman Rd
Remnants: Medina Center (Badgad) Cemetery on the north side of Fenn Rd between Huffman Rd & Weymouth Rd
Description: Bagdad was settled in the late 1810s & had hopes of contending for the county seat in the future, but it never grew much. The town had a saw mill, grist mill, general store, & a church. Bagdad faded away into oblivion in the mid to late 1800s.

Chamberlain – Montville & Lafayette Township
Location: 41.129221 -81.878470   
on US 42 (Lafayette Rd) at the railroad crossing between Ryan Rd & Oak St
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Cleveland, Lorain, & Wheeling Railway & was founded by a branch of the Chamberlain family in the county.

Crow Town (Crow’s Corner) – Litchfield Township
Location: 41.186807 -82.053314   
on Crow Rd at the intersection of Yost Rd along Crow Creek
Remnants: Crow Road (Crow Corner) Cemetery on the south side of Crow Rd between Yost Rd & Vermont St, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by John Crow (1790 – 1867) from Massachusetts & Nancy Crow (1794 – 1873).  It had a school & the residents were mostly farmers. John & Nancy were buried with relatives & other early pioneers in the cemetery.

East Montville – Montville Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Fishermans Corners – Hinckley Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Geisingers Corners – Chatham Township
Location: 41.074777 -82.024590   
on Avon Lake Rd at the intersection of Shaw Rd along East Fork Black River
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were John Geisinger (1827 – 1911) & Mary (Myers) Geisinger (1825 – 1907) who moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania & had a large family. John was a carpenter & employed a few workers in local construction. The town had a school & grist mill. John & Mary were buried with relatives in Blake Cemetery on Guilford Rd in Guilford Township.

Goodmans Corners
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Hales Corners – York Township
Location: 41.142291 -81.923649 
on Branch Rd at the intersection of Columbia Rd
Remnants: Branch Cemetery on the south side of Branch Rd east of Columbia Rd
Description: It was founded by Samuel Hale (1812 – 1877) & Nancy (Cranmer) Hale (1817 – 1868). They moved to Ohio from New York in 1847, purchased 300 acres, & had a few children. Samuel was a farmer & brick maker but was very anti-Mason. The Hales assisted runaway slaves on the Underground Railroad who were headed to Canada & donated money for a Methodist church at York Center. Samuel & Nancy were buried with relatives in Branch Cemetery.

Lake Junction
Location: unknown, was between Chippewa Lake & Lester along the Medina Subdivision of the B & O Railroad
Description: none found

Newtons – Homer Township
Location: 41.027450 -82.149914   
on US 224 (Greenwich Rd) between Firestone Rd & Camp Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Newton family in the county. It was along the B & O Railroad & had a school.

Pekin – Hinckley Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Pierces Corners – Granger Township
Location: 41.155635 -81.756071   
on Granger Rd at the intersection of Beach Rd
Renmants: Ganyard Cemetery on the west side of Ridge Rd (SR 94) between Granger Rd & Wilbur Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Pierces Corners could have just as aptly been named Spencers Corners. Nathaniel Pierce (1813 – 1888) was a bee raiser, sheep trader, & wool dealer & moved to Ohio from New York. He met Harriet (Spencer) Pierce (1821 – 1910) in Granger Township & married her in 1841. Harriet was the only child of Thomas & Hannah (Phelps) Spencer. They were from Connecticut & became pioneers in Medina County upon their arrival in 1818. Harriet inherited the family land & had 2 children with Nathaniel. The town had a school & many fine farms. Nathaniel & Harriet were buried with relatives, including Harriet’s parents, in Ganyard Cemetery.

Pliny – Liverpool Township
Post Office: 1901 – 1904
Location: 41.215331 -81.903470   
on Abbyville Rd at the railroad crossing between Muntz Rd & E Law Rd
Remnants: Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church & Cemetery on the south side of the GPS coordinates
Description: It was on the Cleveland, Lorain, & Wheeling Railway & had the church & a school. The church congregation was formed by German immigrants in the 1830s. Its current structure was completed in 1896 & replaced the old frame building that was nearly 60 years old.

Risley – Litchfield & Chatham Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1905
Location: 41.136242 -82.044232   
on W Smith Rd at the intersection of Bryenton Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Risley had a school, general store, & a train station on the Northern Ohio Railway.

Sheldons Corners – Granger Township
Location: 41.188464 -81.710106   
on Remsen Rd at the intersection of State Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by David Sheldon (1794 – 1873) & Anna (Searles) Sheldon (1800 – 1855). It had a school & shoe shop. A tragic death occurred on the Sheldon’s property when Lyman Isbell (1764 – 1820) was struck by a 40 foot rafter log as it rolled off a barn that local residents were helping build for David. Lyman was buried in Coddingville Cemetery on the east side of Dunsha Rd & his family later moved out of the state. David married Rebecca (Green) Sheldon (1808 – 1885) after Anna passed away. They were buried with relatives in Reid Hill Cemetery at the intersection of State Rd & Reid Hill Rd south of town.

Silver Creek – Wadsworth Township
Location: 41.011912 -81.711701   
on Silvercrest Rd between Durling Dr & Silvercreek Rd
Remnants: old houses & buildings in the area
Description: Silver Creek was a coal mining town & had a train station on the New York, Pennsylvania, & Ohio Railroad with a branch running to the mines. It’s large residential section has a plat map in the 1897 Medina County Atlas. The mines & railroad branch stretched southeast along Silver Creek & employed much of the local population.

Steam Town (Steamtown) – Guilford Township
Location: 41.047034 -81.814598   
on Tower Rd at the intersection of Blake Rd
Remnants: Blake Cemetery on the west side of Guilford Rd between Blake Rd & Good Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was named after a steam saw mill that was built there in the mid 1800s. The original one was destroyed by fire in 1867 & a second was constructed to serve the area through the late 1800s. The town also had two schools, a Mennonite church, blacksmith shop, & a wagon shop. Many residents were buried in Blake Cemetery.

Thompsons (Thompson’s Crossing) – York Township
Location: 41.142319 -81.967604   
on Branch Rd at the railroad crossing between Erhart Rd & Bachtell Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was on the Northern Ohio Railroad & its proprietor was P.M. Thompson.

Weaverville – Wadsworth Township
Location: 40.994821 -81.692596    
on Weaverville Rd west off of Medina Line Rd between Eastern Rd & Silver Fox Dr
Remnants: old houses & buildings in the area
Description: It had a mine owned by the Wadsworth Coal Mine Company & a school.

Meigs County Ohio Ghost Towns

Barnard
Location: unknown
Description: Barnard was listed as a post township in the 1819 Ohio Gazetteer Or Topographical Dictionary.

Beech Grove – Salisbury Township
Post Office: 1861 – 1863
Location: 39.039382 -82.045277
on Mulberry Ave at the 4-way intersection of Hiland Rd, Mulberry Heights, & E Memorial Dr
Remnants: Beech Grove (Pomeroy) Cemetery on Mulberry Heights
Description: This mid-1800s crossroads town has since been annexed into Pomeroy, the seat of Meigs County.

Buckhorn – Rutland Township
Location: 39.073056 -82.202215
on Dexter Rd at the intersection of Jr Ward along Leading Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Buckhorn was on the Toledo & Ohio Central Railroad between Dexter & Langsville but it didn’t have a train station.

Bunker Hill – Bedford & Salisbury Township
Location: 39.105856 -82.063140
on Ball Run Rd at the intersection of Bunker Hill Church Rd
Remnants: Bunker Hill Cemetery on the east side of Ball Run Rd south of the GPS coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Bunker Hill Cemetery is still in use with burials as recent as 2016. The town’s former church was in the triangle shaped lot on the west side of the GPS coordinates.

Calvin
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Dillsbury – Chester Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was platted in the 1830s & named after a branch of the Dill family in the county. The town was mentioned in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1837 – 1841.

Elden – Lebanon Township
Post Office: 1904 – 1911
Location: 39.004040 -81.806710
on Stiversville Rd at the 4-way intersection of Durst Ridge Rd & Barringer Ridge Rd
Remnants: old houses & buildings in the area
Description: Some former residents were buried in Stiversville (Brewer) Cemetery north of town at the intersection of Bald Knob – Stiversville Rd & Brewer Rd.

Fayal (Falyal) – Olive Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1889
Location: 39.107678 -81.813659
on SR 248 at the intersection of Success Rd (Co Hwy 46)
Remnants: Our Lady Of Loretto Church & Cemetery at the intersection
Description: The most prominent building in the area is the church, which was built in 1872 & by far outlasted the town. Its name was listed as Falyal on some maps & Fayal on most others.

Ledlies – Rutland Township
Post Office: 1840 – 1860
Location: unknown
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Ledlie family in the county. Joshua P. Coburn was the postmaster. He moved to Ohio from New York, married Mary (Hampton) Coburn, & had several children.

Martinsburg – Salem Township
Location: 39.106420 -82.219314
on Carpenter Hill Rd (Co Hwy 10) at the intersection of Old Dexter Rd at the confluence of Leading Creek & Mud Fork
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Martin family in the county.

McKinstrys (McKinsters) – Columbia Township
Post Office: 1836 – 1845
Location: unknown
Description: The proprietors were William McKinstry (1781 – 1866) from Ireland & Margaret (Wood) McKinstry (1775 – 1866) whose parents moved to Ohio from Maryland. William was the town’s postmaster. They were buried with relatives in School Lot Cemetery at the intersection of SR 143 & Staneart Rd (Township Hwy 13). 

Oakgrove (Oak Grove) – Sutton Township
Location: 38.991371 -81.907653
on Racine – Bashan Rd where it meets Oak Grove Rd at the intersection of Township Rd 643
Remnants: Oak Grove Methodist Church & Cemetery north of the GPS coordinates on Oak Grove Rd
Description: The earliest known burial in the cemetery is Rhoda (Gillett) Reynolds (1810 – 1837). She married Henry Reynolds (1808 – 1872) & moved to Ohio with him from Sullivan County, New York.

Olive Centre – Olive Township
Post Office: 1855 – 1865
Location: unknown
Description: Origen Packard (1811 – 1985) moved to Ohio from Grafton County, New Hampshire & was the postmaster. He met & married Achsah (Cowdery) Packard (1807 – 1894) in Meigs County & had a few children. Origen & Achsah were buried with relatives in Reedsville Cemetery on the east side of SR 124 (Ohio River Scenic Byway) on the south side of Reedsville.

Rockville
Location: unknown
Description: It was on the Toledo & Ohio Central Railroad west of Middleport & was listed on the Ohio map in the 1901 Cram Atlas.

Stedmansville (Stedmans Mills) – Orange Township
Post Office: 1815 – 1823
Location: unknown
Description: Levi Stedman (1771 – 1823) from Orange County, Vermont & Dorothy (Cowdery) Stedman (d. 1827) had a few children & built a water powered log grist mill on the Middle Fork of Shade River in 1808. The mill stones were acquired from Revolutionary War veteran Truman Hecox (1765 – 1837) from Hartford County, Connecticut & Sarah (Hasford) Hecox (1766 – 1838) from Jefferson County, New York. It was later updated to a wood frame structure. Samuel Grant Sr. purchased the mill in 1820 & rebuilt it with improved machinery. Levi Stedman was buried with relatives in Chester Cemetery on Pomeroy Pike in Chester Township. Dorothy was also likely buried there in a currently lost gravesite. Truman & Sarah Hecox were laid to rest with relatives in Mound Cemetery on the west side of Summer Rd (Co Hwy 36) in Chester Township.

Sterling (Sterling Bottom) – Lebanon Township
Post Office: 1844 – 1855
Location: 39.013152 -81.773064
on SR 124 (Ohio River Scenic Byway) at the 4-way intersection of Stiversville – Bald Knob Rd & McDade Rd along the Ohio River
Remnants: Browning (Portland) Cemetery on Browning Cemetery Rd south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Sterling was platted in 1824 by the Glasgow Ohio Company & its settlers from Scotland purchased land the land. Johnson Jenkins White (1818 – 1901) was the postmaster. He was buried with relatives in Hill (Middleport Hill) Cemetery on Cemetery Rd in Middleport. Some other residents were buried in Browning (Portland) Cemetery. 

Stony Point – Chester Township
Location: 39.083583 -81.883425
on Reibel Rd (Township Hwy 113) between Oak Hill Rd & Racine – Bashan Rd along Shade River
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was along Reibel Rd point itself is south of the GPS coordinates on the other side of Shade River.

White Rock – Sutton Township
Location: 39.015278 -81.987655
on SR 124 (Ohio River Scenic Byway) between Minersville Rd & Monkey Isle along the Ohio River
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was named after the abundance of salt in the area. In the later 1800s the area was home to the Sutton Salt Works, a bromine factory, & a few coal industry operations.

Zeal – Columbia Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1904
Location: 39.196462 -82.295983
on Rutherford Rd between SR 32 & Harkins Rd along Raccoon Creek
Remnants: old houses in the area
Description: This small postal town was founded by its postmaster, Jasper Rutherford (1860 – 1926) & Hulda (Hunter) Rutherford (1863 – 1910). Jasper remarried after Hulda passed away. They were buried with relatives in Temple Cemetery at the intersection of SR 143 & Lemaster Rd north of the eastern end of Rutherford Rd on the other side of SR 32.

Mercer County Ohio Ghost Towns

Boetia – Center Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1865
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed as a postal town in the Ohio State Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1860-61.

Brehm – Liberty Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1897
Location: 40.622501 -84.746880   
on Wabash Rd along Black Creek between Shaadt Rd & Oregon Rd
Remnants: St. Pauls Church & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates, St. Pauls United Church of Christ Cemetery at the intersection of Wabash Rd & Oregon Rd
Description: The town was founded by John Brehm (1828 – 1907) & Margaretha (Bollenbacher) Brehm (1833 – 1897) who had 3 children. John also had 8 other children from a previous marriage. They were buried with relatives in St. Pauls United Church of Christ Cemetery.

Byrds Station (Birds Station) – Union Township
Location: 40.688293 -84.456149 
on Mercer Van Wert County Line Rd between Shelley Rd & Deep Cut Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Joseph Bird donated land for a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railway. Ironically the Parrott family was one of the biggest in the area. Some residents were buried in Hussey Cemetery on the south side of Deep Cut Rd across from the end of Elgin Rd.

Coil Town (Coiltown) – Union Township
Location: 40.695167 -84.484807   
on Coil Rd between Shelley Rd & Deep Cut Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1823 by Andrew Coil (1770 – 1845) who hoped the town would be the future county seat. The town didn’t sell many lots or last long, but Andrew had 12 children, 6 with Elizabeth (Foster) Coil (d. 1850) & 6 with Frances (Conrad) Coil (1768 – 1824) who did well around Mendon. Andrew moved out of the county before passing away.

Deep Cut – Union Township
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: unknown, on Deep Cut Rd
Description: It’s listed as a postal town in the 1854 A New And Complete Gazetteer Of The United States.

Earley (Oregon Station) – Hopewell Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1912
Location: 40.611405 -84.590160   
on Oregon Rd at the intersection with Weitz Rd along Twelvemile Creek
Remnants: Union Cemetery on the north side of Oregon Rd west of the GPS coordinates, Roberts Cemetery on the north side of Oregon Rd east of the GPS coordinates
Description: Oregon Station sat on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railway. Its general store & post office called Earley was on the east side of Weitz Rd near Oregon Rd. Samuel Brookhart (1829 – 1916) & Mary Ann (Sinift) Brookhart (1830 – 1894) donated land for the train station & were buried in Roberts Cemetery.

Grove Crossing – Union Township
Location: unknown, was between Mendon & Byrds Station
Description: It sat on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railway & has only been spotted on a railroad map from 1898.

Guilford (Mendon) – Union Township
Post Office: 1839 – date
Location: 40.673377 -84.518645   
on SR 707 at the intersection of E Market St
Description: Guilford is listed as a ghost town in several places online, but it’s just the original name of Mendon when it was platted in 1834. It was changed by 1839 when the post office was established.

Marcellus
Post Office: 1858 – 1861
Location: unknown

Reservoir (Reservoir Station) – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1884
Location: 40.553333 -84.494066   
on Riley Rd at the railroad crossing between SR 29 & SR 703
Remnants: none known
Description: This town sat on the Lake Shore & Western Railroad. It’s proprietor was Calvin Riley (1830 – 1914) who owned . He was buried with relatives in North Grove Cemetery on US 127 (N Main St) in Celina.

South Celina – Jefferson Township
Location: unknown, was on the west side of Grand Lake
Description: none found

Steinman (Steineman Station) – Marion Township
Location: 40.365562 -84.493754   
on SR 716 at the intersection with Indian Trail Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by the Steinman family in the area which has a few surname variations. The town had a steam saw mill & a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railway.

Striptown – Liberty & Hopewell Township
Location: 40.589213 -84.689404   
on Township Line Rd at the intersection with Sleucher Rd along Prairie Creek
Remnants: old houses in the area
Description: none found

                                                  Monroe County Ohio Ghost Towns

Cochransville (Cochrans Landing) (Center View) (Centerview) – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1846 – 1905
Location: 39.547143 -81.032037
on Township Hwy 532 along the Ohio River south off of SR 7 (Ohio River Scenic Byway)
Remnants: a couple of old buildings on the property, former plat roads, Carson (Cochransville) Cemetery on the north side of SR 7, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was platted in 1846 by Thomas Cochran Jr. (1799 – 1864) & Mary Ann (McEldowney) Cochran (1804 – 1883). They married in 1828 & had a few children. The post office was originally called Cochrans Landing from 1846 – 1858. It went by Centre View from 1858 – 1893, then Center View from 1893 – 1894, & lastly Centerview from 1894 – 1905. That name came from its position in the middle of a 20 mile straight stretch of the river. The plat outline of Cochransville can still be seen on satellite maps & contained 11 lots in the 1898 county atlas. Thomas & Mary were buried with relatives in Carson (Cochransville) Cemetery on the north side of SR 7 about 1/2 mile west of Township Hwy 532 across the border in Grandview Township, Washington County. As with many ghost & current towns in Ohio, the founding families & prominent landowners intermarried. One of the Cochran daughters, Elizabeth, married Joseph Witten. The town of Wittens in Jackson Township had a post office from 1833 – 1907. Carson Cemetery is on land that was owned by William Carson (1833 – 1924) & Elizabeth (Jolly) Carson (1828 – 1884). Brownsville in Benton Township had a post office called Jolly from 1842 – 1916. On top of all of that, Friendly, West Virginia, across the Ohio River from Cochransville was founded by Friend Cochran Williamson (1838 – 1908) who was also related to the Cochrans. It may seem confusing  & overwhelming sometimes, but the deeper you dig on genealogy & the more you sort out the details, it all eventually makes sense & the many colors on the pallete paint an interesting picture of early pioneer life in Ohio.

Cross Keys (Crosskeys) – Bethel Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1914
Location: 39.589240 -81.230113
on Hopewell Ridge Rd between Beardmore Rd & T64
Remnants: Hopewell Cemetery on the north side of Hopewell Ridge Rd east of the GPS coordinates
Description: Cross Keys had a Methodist Episcopal church at the cemetery on land owned by Seth Adams (1849 – 1876) & Mary Jane (Humphrey) Adams Betts. They married in 1869 & had a few children. Seth died at 26 years of age & Mary Jane later remarried. The town also had a school on the southwest side of Hopewell Ridge Rd near the intersection of T64. It was on land owned by Reverend Anson Roach (1842 – 1909) & Preshia (Edwards) Roach (1850 – 1938). Anson & Preshia were buried with relatives in Moose Ridge Cemetery on Moose Ridge Rd in Center Township.

Fair Pleasant (Van Buren)
Post Office: 1839 – 1842
Location: unknown
Description: In December of 1839, A Mr. Johnson introduced notice of a bill to change the town name of Van Buren to Fair Pleasant at a meeting of the Ohio House Of Representatives. The bill was ratified and the act was passed on January, 20, 1840. Fair Pleasant was listed in the 1843 A Table Of Post Offices In Ohio as a discontinued office in the county. The location might currently be in Noble County which was formed in 1851 from parts of Monroe, Morgan, Gurensey & Washington Counties. Dyes Settlement, for example, listed as a ghost town in Monroe, is present-day Renrock in Noble.

Hope Ridge – Center Township
Post Office: 1858 – 1872
Location: 39.790633 -81.123750
on SR 800 between Township Hwy 35 & Water Works Rd
Remnants: Hope Ridge Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Hope Ridge had a church & school & was founded by Irish immigrants Reverend John Clingan (Clinghan) (1783 – 1858) & Mary Clingan (1787 – 1865). They were buried with relatives in Hope Ridge Cemetery. Some other big surnames from the area are: Burkhead, Donnely, Ford, McFadden, Rouse, & Wittenbrook.  

Jerles – Franklin Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1905
Location: 39.738563 -81.295296
on SR 145 at the 4-way intersection of SR 724 & Township Hwy 834 (Mallett Rd)
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The proprietors were Thomas Jerles (1851 – 1935) & Mary Jerles (1851 – 1924). Thomas was the town’s postmaster. Jerles also had a school on the east side of Bean Ridge Rd & a church on the east side of SR 145, both north of the GPS coordinates. They can be found in the 1898 county atlas. Thomas & Mary were buried with many relatives in Greenwood Cemetery on W Spruce Ave in Byesville, Guernsey County.

Jonesville – Salem Township
Post Office: 1831 – 1855
Location: 39.749220 -80.920940
on Township Rd 4 (Gibbs Rd) off of SR 78 near Sunfish Creek
Remnants: Salem Church & Cemetery & St. James Lutheran Cemetery on Sykes Ridge Rd (County Rd 4) south of Sunfish Creek
Description: John L. Jones built a mill next to the creek in the early 1800s. The town had about 15 houses & a school & 3 churches along Sykes Ridge Rd. A road crossed the creek near the GPS coordinates in the mid-1800s & headed south to Sykes Ridge Road.

Lecompton (Shannon) – Summit Township
Post Office: 1839 – 1841 & 1858 – 1883
Location: 39.758675 -81.248300
on SR 145 at the 4-way intersection of Hanson Ridge Rd & Bracken Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Lecompton was originally called Shannon. It had a school (Summit Township No. 6) on the west side of Bracken Ridge Rd north of the GPS coordinates. It was on land owned by Jacob Hamilton (1817 – 1895) & Maria (Robison) Hamilton (1817 – 1864). Jacob was a postmaster, township trustee, & a land appraiser. A Methodist Episcopal church at the intersection of SR 78 & Township Hwy 830. The town was passed up by the Bellaire, Zanesville, & Cincinnati Railroad & couldn’t compete with nearby Lewisville, which had faster growth & was rewarded with a train station.

Lyman
Post Office: 1901 – 1903
Location: unknown
Description: It was east of Antioch.

Perryopolis
Post Office: 1839 – 1849
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Pleasant Fountain
Post Office: 1839 – 1843
Location: unknown
Description: As with Fair Pleasant & Perryopolis, Pleasant Fountain may have ended up in Noble County.

Pryor (Ethel) – Seneca Township
Location: 39.790197 -81.304535
on SR 78 at the intersection of Swazey Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was on the Bellaire, Zanesville, & Cincinnati Railroad. Its proprietors were a branch of the Pryor family in the county, including George & E.N. Pryor. The name of the post office was Ethel. There was also a school (Seneca Township No. 4) east of the GPS coordinates on Bracken Ridge Rd.

Quarry – Bethel Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1912
Location: 39.591096 -81.220646
on SR 260 between Witten Ridge Rd & Hopewell Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Quarry was founded by John S. Hall (1839 – 1914) & Margaret Hall (1846 – 1914). They operated the post office & a general store on the east side of SR 260 close to the GPS coordinates. John & Margaret were buried with relatives in Hopwell Cemetery on Hopewell Ridge Rd.

Twilight (Youngs Mills) – Adams Township
Post Office: 1860 – 1904
Location: 39.776921 -81.013718
on Sunfish Creek Rd at the intersection of Center Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Twilight had a school & a mill on Henthorn Rd off of Center Ridge Rd north of the GPS coordinates along Piney Fork. The mill & town was originally called Youngs Mills. A general store in the area was operated by the Taylor family.

Montgomery County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bear Creek – Perry Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1852
Location: 39.760124 -84.380438
on the south side of Old Dayton Rd between Diamond Mill Rd & Clayton Rd
Remnants: Eversole United Brethren Church at the intersection of Old Dayton Rd & Clayton Rd, Eversole Cemetery east of the church on the east side of Bear Creek
Description: This small farming & postal town didn’t have a village. Michael Neff (1794 – 1851) was the first postmaster & lived on a 160 acre farm south of the GPS coordinates. He was married 3 times & had 8 children. Bear Creek also had a school on the south side of Old Dayton Rd east of Bear Creek. Michael passed away after traveling to Charleston, West Virginia with failing health & was buried there in Ruffner Memorial Park on Kanawha Blvd E. The cemetery was converted into a park in 1920 with the gravestones having been laid flat & covered over with dirt. Some of Michael’s relatives were buried in Eversole Cemetery.

Beckers – Randolph Township
Location: 39.916800 -84.322709 
on Old Mill Rd along Pigeye Creek between N Montgomery County Line Rd & Phillipsburg Union Rd
Remnants: Minnich Cemetery on the north side of Phillipsburg Union Rd between Old Mill Rd & SR 48
Description: The proprietors were John Becker (1792 – 1856) & Rebecca (Hart) Becker (d. 1856) from Pennsylvania. On top of farming, they built a saw mill next to Pigeye Creek & had 5 children. The mill & main farm was passed down to Henry Becker (1816 – 1900) & Sarah (Shilt) Becker (1819 – 1897). Henry began working in the saw mill with his father at the age of 13, married Sarah in 1840, & had 6 children. The town was on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad & also had a school in the northeast corner of the intersection of Old Mill Rd & Phillipsburg Union Rd on land owned by Jacob Minnich (1802 – 1873) & Elizabeth (Long) Minnich (1811 – 1902). Everyone mentioned in this listing was buried in Minnich Cemetery. 

Calvary – Van Buren Township
Location: 39.724973 -84.197378
on S Patterson Blvd between Carillon Blvd & Cardington Rd
Remnants: Calvary Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was along the Miami & Erie Canal & was centered around its Catholic Cemetery.

County Line (Pigeye) – Randolph Township, Montgomery County & Union Township, Miami County
Location: 39.922841 -84.311900
on SR 48 (S Miami St) at the intersection of N Montgomery County Line Rd along Pigeye Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: County Line didn’t last long as a town, but it had a grist mill, saw mill, school, & a train station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad during its existence.

Fishburg – City Of Huber Heights (formerly in Wayne Township)
Post Office: 1858 – 1859
Location: 39.840906 -84.139813
on SR 202 (Old Troy Pike) at the intersection of Fishburg Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: John Prill Sr. (1779 – 1870) was the town’s blacksmith & postmaster. He resigned in retirement & moved to Miami County. Nobody else in the vicinity would take the postal position & Fishburg quickly faded away. John was buried with relatives in Monroe Cemetery on the north side of N Montgomery County Line Rd between Frederick Pike & Boone Rd in Monroe Township, Miami County.

Hipples Mills – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1832 – 1840
Location: 39.668405 -84.453657
on Lower Gratis Rd at the intersection of Anthony Rd along Toms Run
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The proprietors were William Hipple (1788 – 1885) & Elizabeth (Gebhart) Hipple (1799 – 1884) who built a mill next to Toms Run. There was also a school on the east side of Lower Gratis Rd north of the GPS coordinates. Joseph Kinsey (1806 – 1876) was the town’s postmaster & married Margaret (Hipple) Kinsey (1812 – 1873). They later moved out of the state & were buried with relatives in Greenwood Cemetery on S Main St in Canton, Illinois. The Hipples were buried with relatives in Hill Grove Cemetery on E Central Ave in Miamisburg. According to one of his obituaries, William & Margaret had 7 children, 107 grandchildren, & 92 great-grandchildren at the time of William’s death.

Hoovers Mills
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: unknown
Description: Hoovers Mills was founded by Moses Hoover (1791 – 1848) from Maryland & Catharine (Puterbaugh) Hoover (1790 – 1857) from Pennsylvania. The town was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guides from 1819 – 1829 as having a post office in the county. Moses & Catharine were buried with relatives in Forney Cemetery on the north side of Forney Rd between Lutheran Church Rd & Huffman Rd. 

Industry – Wayne Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1838
Location: unknown
Description: The town was founded by one of the earliest families to settle in Dayton. War Of 1812 veteran Jerome Holt (1763 – 1840) & Ann (Van Cleve) Holt (1775 – 1858) got married in Cincinnati in 1791 & moved to Montgomery County in 1797. Jerome was appointed to the position of constable of Dayton Township in 1800 & served as the sheriff of Montgomery County from 1808 – 1811. His final act of public service was being the postmaster in Industry. We haven’t located his grave yet, but Ann was buried with relatives in Woodland Cemetery And Arboretum on Woodland Ave in Dayton.

Kingsborough – City Of Dayton (formerly in Harrison Township)
Location: 39.754233 -84.224088
on W Third St at the intersection of N James McGee Blvd
Remnants: none known
Description: William King (1764 – 1863) & Nancy (Waught) King were born in Pennsylvania. They moved to Kentucky for a couple of years but left because of their opposition to slavery & arrived on the west side of Dayton in 1799. They were farmers & William also operated a ferry. William & Nancy were members of the Dayton Temperance Society, the Montgomery County Bible Society, & Moral Society Of Dayton. The town later became Miami City & the area has since been annexed into Dayton. William & Nancy were buried with relatives in Woodland Cemetery And Arboretum on Woodland Ave in Dayton.

Kingsville –  Jefferson Township & Madison Township
Location: 39.746528 -84.281283
on W Third St at the intersection of Infirmary Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Kingsville had a steam-powered saw mill owned by the Olinger family in the mid to late 1800s & is an early example of suburban sprawl. Residents wanted to live outside of Dayton where there was there was more space & less people, but close enough to downtown for easy commutes for business & leisure. The area is now called Drexel. 

Lambertine – Jefferson Township
Location: 39.709359 -84.280127
on SR 4 (Germantown St) at the intersection of Infirmary Rd along Opossum Creek
Remnants: Lower Miami United Brethren Church at the GPS Coordinates, former school across from the church on the west side of Infirmary Rd, Lower Miami Cemetery on the east side of SR 4 north of the GPS Coordinates
Description: The church congregation was formed in the first decade of the 1800s & had a wood frame structure before the current brick church was built. Its accompanying cemetery dates back to 1814. Both of them predate Lambertine existing as a town. In the mid 1800s Lambertine had a saw mill owned by Frederick Swope (1821 – 1895) & Mary (Stoner) Swope (1843 – 1920). The blacksmith trade was conducted by John Flory (1798 – 1868). Most of Lambertine’s residents were buried in Lower Miami Cemetery. The Swopes were buried with relatives in Ellerton Cemetery on the west side of S Union Rd about 3 miles south of town.

Lambeth
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Manor – Washington Township
Location: 39.589263 -84.140585
on E Social Row Rd between SR 48 & Gebhart Rd
Remnants: Robert Bradford House at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by Robert Bradford (1788 – 1877) from Ireland & Elizabeth (Myers) Bradford (1797 – 1844) from Virginia. They moved to Montgomery County in 1816 & had 10 children. After living in a log cabin for a couple of decades, their brick house was completed in 1839. It was added to the National Register Of Historic Places in 1979 & is reportedly haunted by the ghost of Elizabeth. The Bradfords were buried with relatives in Sugar Creek Baptist Church Cemetery on SR 48 (N Main St) in Centerville.

Pinchtown – Randolph & Madison Township
Location: 39.832952 -84.302735
on E Westbrook Rd between N Union Rd & SR 49 (Salem Ave)
Remnants: none known
Description: none found

Reesorville – City Of Dayton (formerly in Harrison Township)
Location: 39.791167 -84.214344
on SR 48 (N Main St) at the intersection of Hillcrest Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: Its first cartographic appearance was on the 1869 county map. Reesorville was platted by Jacob Reasor (1828 – 1916) & Harriet (Rinehart) Reasor (1834 – 1918) & had a blacksmith shop, toll house, & a school. The town was annexed into Dayton before 1900. Jacob & Harriet were buried with relatives in Old Greencastle Cemetery on the east side of S Broadway St between Miami Chapel Rd & Noble Ave in Dayton.

Tadmor (Tadmer) –  Butler Township, Montgomery County & Bethel Township, Miami County
Post Office: 1867 – 1917
Location: 39.89526 -84.165561
on hiking trails in Taylorsville Metropark along the Great Miami River
Description: Tadmor was founded on land owned by the Sutherland family & became a transportation hub as it sat at important crossroads next to the Miami & Erie Canal. It had two train stations. One of them was on the Cincinnati, Hamilton, & Dayton Railroad & another on the Dayton & Michigan Railroad with a general store & grain elevator. The post office went by the name Tadmer from 1867 – 1884, then Tadmor from 1884 – 1917. Most of the town’s residents had already moved north to the National Road (US 40) a few years before The Great Flood Of 1913, which destroyed almost everything that was left of Tadmor. It was completely abandoned by 1922. There are several old cemeteries in the area where the citizens of Tadmor were buried & some remnants of the town on the hiking trails in Taylorsville Metropark off of the Great Miami River Recreational Trail.

Wiggins
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Wiggins family in the county.

                                                 Morrow County Ohio Ghost Towns

Aaronsburg – South Bloomfield Township (formerly in in Knox County)

Location: 40.398394 -82.695172  
on SR 229 at the intersection of Columbus  Fredericktown Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1824 by Aaron Macomber who had a wood bowl making business with a turning machine run by horses. The town also had a wool hat shop owned by Hugh Hartshorn. The residential lots in Aaronsburg never sold & it was quickly abandoned.

Centerburg
Location: unknown, was 8 miles southeast of Mt Gilead
Description: none found

Florida Grove – Franklin Township (formerly in Knox County)
Location: 40.550729 -82.776623 
on Cardington Williamsport Rd at the intersection of Morrison Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded in the early 1820s by Reverend George Van Eman (1786 – 1870) from Pennsylvania, Plumb Sutleff, & Samuel Hardenbrook. Some of the residential lots sold but the town never flourished & reverted back to farmland in the mid 1800s. George later moved out of the county & was buried with relatives in Maple Grove Cemetery in Findlay, Hancock County.

Friendsboro – Cardington & Gilead Township (formerly in Marion County)
Location: 40.516561 -82.864181 
on US 42 at the intersection of Cardington – Edison Iberia Rd along Whetstone Creek
Remnants: Union Cemetery on the south side of US 42 between Furbey Rd & Worthington – New Haven Rd
Description: Friendsboro was founded in 1822 by Asa Mosher (1771 – 1843) & Bethiah Mosher (1771 – 1856) who were Quakers. They moved to Ohio from Bristol County, MA & had 11 children. The land was surveyed by War Of 1812 veteran Colonel James Kilbourn who founded Worthington, OH & a few smaller towns. Friendsboro had a cabinet shop built by John Shaw on Whetstone Creek, but the water power was insufficient for its needs & the town never grew any. Asa & Bethiah were buried with relatives in Union Cemetery.

Grays Corners
Post Office: 1858 – 1865
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Gray family in the county.

Indigo – Peru Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1864
Location: unknown, was in the southern portion of the township near Indigo Creek
Description: This small farming & postal town had a saw mill & school.

Jamestown (Kelly’s Corner) – Franklin Township (formerly in Knox County)
Post Office: dates not listed
Location: 40.538664 -82.777821   
on SR 95 at the 3-way intersection with Pulaskiville Rd & Criswell Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by James Bailey who built a general store & Appleton Rich had a blacksmith shop. Bailey’s store was bought by Allen Kelly (1785 – 1871). He also opened a tannery & was the postmaster. The town faded out of existence after Allen retired & sold the store. He was buried with relatives in Bryn Zion Cemetery northeast of town on Bryn Zion Rd in Gilead Township.

Kelker – Congress Township
Post Office: 1898 – 1903
Location: 40.620061 -82.747180   
on Williamsport  Crestline Rd between Marion – Johnsville Rd & Trimbe Rd
Remnants: Pleasant Grove Church & Cemetery on Williamsport Crestline Rd south of the GPS coordinates, former one room schoolhouse across the street from the cemetery, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The proprietors were Rudolph Kelker (1841 – 1908) & Ida (Cook) Kelker (1836 – 1909) who had a few children, nice farm, & were prominent members of the community. Rudolph was the postmaster & the church, school, & cemetery all pre-date the establishment of the town. The Kelkers were buried with relatives including Rudolph’s parents in Pleasant Grove Cemetery.

Morehouse – Peru Township (formerly in Delaware County)
Location: 40.407010 -82.901775 
on SR 229 (Marengo – Norton Rd) along Turkey Run between Kilbourne – Cardington Rd & Benedict Rd
Remnants: Morehouse Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: Morehouse was founded in the early 1830s by Stephen Morehouse (1771 – 1855) & Elizabeth (Steinbeck) Morehouse (1775 – 1868). They had 11 children & moved to Ohio from New Jersey. Some of their children came to Ohio too & some stayed behind. The town had a few saw mills over the years, two tanneries, & a school. Stephen & Elizabeth were buried with relatives in Morehouse Cemetery.

Moshers Mill – Cardington & Gilead Township (formerly in Marion County)
Location: 40.517152 -82.866701 
on US 42 at the intersection of Mosher Rd
Remnants: Union Cemetery on the south side of US 42 between Furbey Rd & Worthington – New Haven Rd
Description: The proprietors were  Asa Mosher (1771 – 1843) & Bethiah Mosher (1771 – 1856) who were moved to Ohio from Bristol County, MA & had 11 children. Asa was a township trustee & constructed a grist & saw mill on Whetstone Creek that was completed in 1821. Asa & Bethiah were buried with relatives in Union Cemetery.

Peerless (Peerless Station) – Bennington Township, Morrow County (formerly in Delaware County) & Porter Township, Delaware County
Location: 40.350617 -82.765175 
on Peerless Rd (Mt Vernon Olive Green Rd) at the former railroad crossing between SR 656 & Moody Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Peerless was on the Toledo & Ohio Central Railroad. The train station was purchased by a local farmer in 1941 & converted to a corn crib.

Penlan – Harmony Township
Post Office: 1898 – 1901
Location: 40.445441 -82.746309   
on Penlan Rd (Co Rd 184) at the intersection of Township Rd 179
Remnants: Mt Pisgah Baptist Church at the intersection, old houses & farms in the area
Description: This crossroads town had a general store, school, & the church that was constructed in the mid 1870s.

Queen Settlement (formerly in Marion County) – Canaan Township
Location: unknown
Description: The town had a church & school & was founded by War Of 1812 veteran William Queen (1789 – 1851) & Elizabeth Queen (1795 – 1879). They were buried with relatives in Glendale Cemetery on Glendale St in Cardington.

Rome – South Bloomfield Township (formerly in Knox County)
Location: 40.408755 -82.705301   
on SR 314 (Chesterville – Sparta Rd) at the intersection of Prospect Mt Vernon Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1827 by Lemuel Potter (1778 – 1860) & Anna (Terry) Potter (1785 – 1849) but never grew any. Lemuel & Anna were buried with relatives in Bloomfield Cemetery on Rich Hill Bloomfield Rd.

Steiners Corners (Stiners Corner) – Lincoln Township (formerly in Delaware County)
Location: 40.481369 -82.820646 
on SR 61 at the intersection of SR 529 (Cardinton – Chesterville Rd),
Remnants: Asbury Cemetery on the south side of SR 529 west of the intersection, Buck Cemetery on the north side of SR 529 across from Asbury Cemetery
Description: The town was founded by William Stiner (1772 – 1837) & Marian Stiner (1792 – 1874). It had two saw mills (one steam powered), a Methodist church, & a school in the 1850s. William & Marian were buried with relatives in Asbury Cemetery. The Bucks were also a large family in the area.

Surprise – Washington Township (formerly in Marion County)
Post Office: 1826 – 1903
Location: 40.610779 -82.842085 
on Marion – Williamsport Rd at the intersection of Mt Gilead – Iberia Galion Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: This farming & postal town had a school & was on the Big Four Railroad (Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago, & St. Louis).

                                                   Noble County Ohio Ghost Towns

Billings – Beaver Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1899
Location: 39.874529 -81.338337   
on Grant Moore Rd at the intersection of Palestine Ridge Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming town with a post office.

Brookton – Brookfield Township
Post Office: 1896 – 1904
Location: 39.793186 -81.627841 
on Chapel Dr at the intersection of Brookton Heights
Remnants: none known
Description: Much like Billings, it was a small farming town with a church & post office. The center of town later moved northeast to present day Brookton Heights.

Center – Center Township
Location: 39.799297 -81.465872   
on SR 147 (Seneca Lake Rd) at the intersection of Town Hwy 214 (Center Free Methodist Rd)
Remnants: church & cemetery at the intersection, Valley View Cemetery north of the intersection
Description: This religious community was founded to serve residents at a central location in the township. The area still goes by the same name but its days as an official town are long gone.

Claytona (Claytonia) – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1849 – 1905
Location: 39.610753 -81.531609   
on Lowell Rd between Crooked Tree Rd & Lower Big Run Rd
Remnants: none known

Cliffyville – Stock Township
Post Office: 1887 – 1914
Location: 39.706183 -81.332338   
on Crum Ridge Rd between Town Hwy 236 (Spence Hill Rd) & Town Hwy 242A (Bettinger Ridge Rd) along Mallet Creek
Remnants: Crum Ridge Church Of Christ & Cemetery in Elk Township south of the GPS coordinates
Description: The Mallet family was the largest in the area. There are a lot of old houses & farms along Crum Ridge Rd, built before or during the time Cliffyville was a town. Residents were buried in Crum Ridge Cemetery.

Fredericktown (Crum Town) – Elk Township
Location: 39.673857 -81.339129 
on SR 260 (Road Fork Rd) between Crum Ridge Rd & Bettinger Ridge Rd along Duck Creek
Remnants: Crum Ridge Church of Christ & Cemetery on Crum Ridge Rd north of the GPS coordinates, Rd Fork Baptist Church & Cemetery on SR 260 south of the GPS coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was platted with 19 lots in 1854 by William Crum (1821 – 1866) & had a general store, school, & church. William & his brother David were pioneers of Elk Township & sons of German immigrant & Revolutionary War veteran Adam Crum who settled in Monroe County. William was also a justice of the peace & David (m. Mary (Crow) Crum) was a school teacher. William was buried with many relatives in Crum Ridge Cemetery.

Gardner – Olive Township
Post Office: closed in 1871
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Gardner family in the county.

Hunter – Brookfield Township
Location: 39.827850 -81.635126   
on the northern end of Hunters Cut Rd at the intersection of SR 340 (Belle Valley Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Samuel Hunter (1806 – 1891) from Pennsylvania & Eliza (Chapman) Hunter (1810 – 1897). They had 8 children & large farm. The town was on the Bellaire, Zanesville & Cincinnati railroad & had a school & a coal mine in the late 1800s to early 1900s. Samuel & Eliza were buried with relatives in Cumberland Cemetery on SR 83 (N Church St) in Guernsey County.

Leeds
Post Office: 1900 – 1905
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Lexington – Marion Township
Location: 39.777264 -81.355088   
on Lexington Ridge Rd between SR 78 (Woodsfield Rd) & SR 260 (Road Fork Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: Lexington was the first proposed town in the county & was platted in 1818 by Thomas Emery & Jacob Young who were unable to pay off the land purchase. However, the location still acquired settlers, was an important trading point for a couple of decades, & kept the name Lexington. It had a  tavern, blacksmith shop, general store,  grist mill, & a family of weavers. James Shankland (1800 – 1879) moved his general store from Summerfield to Lexington & purchased most of land & town plats. He converted it back to farmland around 1850 after Summerfield won the competition for businesses & residents. James was buried with relatives in Eastern Cemetery in Summerfield at the intersection of N Main St & Cemetery Rd.

Rado – Jefferson Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1903
Location: 39.699239 -81.382340   
on Rado Ridge Rd at the intersection of Novella Rd (Town Hwy 1117)
Remnants: Rado Cemetery on the east side of Rado Ridge Rd north of the intersection
Description: It had a school & Knights Of Pythias Lodge.

Scott – Brookfield Township
Location: 39.810670 -81.610348   
on SR 340 (Belle Valley Rd) between the northern & southern ends of Hunters Cut Rd along Coal Run
Remnants: former Scott Farm & Scott Cemetery on private property between SR 340 & Brookton Heights
Description: The town founders & proprietors were John Scott (1822 – 1907) & Miriam (Thompson) Scott (1828 – 1891). They were married in 1849 & had 6 children. John was a farmer, township trustee & treasurer, & lived all his life on the farm where he was born. The cemetery has over 100 burials including John, Miriam, many of their relatives, & other families from the area.

Soakum (Matrom) – Olive Township
Location: 39.732545 -81.519504   
on Town Hwy 64 at the intersection of SR 821 (Marietta Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: Soakum was platted in 1846 by Joseph Schofield (1782 – 1856) & originally called Matrom. It was a merchant town & didn’t grow well but had a grist mill, school, general store, whiskey stores, & a few other shops. Matrom was also on the Cleveland & Marietta railroad but there wasn’t much left by the time it reached town. The name never really changed but was commonly referred to as Soakum (Soak ’em) in its later years, with whiskey drinking & selling pretty much all there was to do. Unfortunately the town didn’t make it into the 1900s. The Soakum Festival was held for 25 years at at Heritage Park in the Noble County Fairgrounds & showed what life was like around there in the 1800s. When the festival was no longer viable, the committee ended its yearly tradition & donated over $25,000 in proceeds to the county historical society. Joseph Schofield was buried with relatives in Olive Cemetery on Olive St in Caldwell.

Vorhies – Center Township
Location: 39.795906 -81.465954   
on Seneca Lake Rd at the intersection of Or And W Tunnel Rd along Buffalo Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by Peter Vorhies (1829 – 1910) & Mary (Williams) Vorhies (1833 – 1920). They were farmers & Peter was the county infirmary director in 1886. They were buried with relatives in Guernsey County at Northwood Cemetery on N 10th St in Cambridge.

Wharton – Brookfield Township
Post Office: 1827 – 1860
Location: 39.803039 -81.674455   
on SR 83 (Renrock Rd) at the intersection of Town Hwy 2
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietor Andrew Wharton moved to Ohio from Wheeling, WV in 1816. He was the first justice of the peace in the township from 1819 – 1822, Morgan County Commissioner from 1820 – 1823, & built combination general store & post office in 1827. Andrew passed away around 1835.

                                                  Ottawa County Ohio Ghost Towns

Maple Grove – Benton Township
Location: 41.589362 -83.200238
on W Duff – Washa Rd along Turtle Creek between N Lickert – Harder Rd & N Benton Carroll Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: Maple Grove was a popular gathering place for picnics & special occasions in the 1920s – 1950s. It had a dance hall, baseball field, & a baseball team. The former dance hall appears to still be standing on the north side of the road at the GPS coordinates.

Middleton – Benton Township
Location: 41.546080 -83.273024
on the north side of W Elliston East and West Rd between Elliston & Graytown
Remnants: none known
Description: Middleton was a plat extension of Sheldon on the north side of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railway in the late 1800s to early 1900s.

Piccola – Danbury Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1899
Location: 41.518976 -82.781169
on Englebeck Rd between SR 163 & E Bayshore Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: This small farming town had a post office on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway.

Sheldon – Benton Township
Location: 41.542256 -83.274061
on W Toussaint North Rd between the railroad & W True Rd
Remnants: Elliston Cemetery on W Toussaint North Rd at the GPS coordinates
Description: Sheldon was platted with around 50 lots along the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway on the south side of the tracks between Elliston & Graytown.

Violet – Danbury Township
Location: 41.518380 -82.807741
on Church Rd at the intersection of Port Clinton Eastern Rd
Remnants: Saint Paul Lutheran Church & Cemetery at 541 Church Rd Lakeside – Marblehead, OH
Description: Violet was a small farming town along the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway. The church, which was also the school, was built in 1845 & is an impressive sight to see as it proudly stands the test of time.

                                                 Paulding County Ohio Ghost Towns

Arena – Paulding Township
Post Office: 1892 – 1902
Location: 41.135339 -84.631426   
on SR 111 at the intersection of Rd 87 north of Big Run
Remnants: Cooper Haines Cemetery on SR 500 at the intersection of Rd 93, St Paul’s Church & Cemetery at the intersection of Township Hwy 114 & Rd 87
Description: This small farming town had a school & church. Civil War veteran John Cooper (1838 – 1888) & Catherine (Reidel) Cooper (1842 – 1923) were of German descent & met & married in Marion County before moving to Paulding in 1873. They had a nice farm, a few children, & donated the land for the cemetery on SR 500 where they were buried with relatives.

Craneville (Cranesville) – Crane Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1865
Location: 41.211523 -84.685467   
on Rd 192 (C-192) between Town Hwy 63 & the Maumee River
Remnants: Horatio Nelson home & trading post at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded by General Horatio Curtis (1802 – 1874). He named the town after Oliver Crane who was another early settler & also had the township named after him. Horatio built a trading post in 1825, was the first county clerk & recorder, a surveyor, Freemason, & justice of the peace. A wood addition to the brick house & trading post that was built in 1826, & has since been demolished, was reportedly haunted by former residents. Horatio also platted Antwerp in 1841 & was buried there with relatives in Riverside Cemetery on Island St.

Carryall – Caryall Township
Post Office: 1863 – 1874
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Doylestown – Washington Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1851
Location: 41.032267 -84.368985 
on T-199 (Township Hwy T-199) south off of Rd 48 along the former Miami & Erie Canal path on private property
Remnants: none known
Description: It was named after canal boat captain Samuel Doyle Sr. who ran mail from Cincinnati to Toledo & was a pickup point for timber.

Ettiesburg (Etties-Burg) – Brown Township
Location: 41.092474 -84.361258   
on Rd 209  (T-209) at the intersection of SR 613
Remnants: Prairie Chapel & Cemetery north of the intersection at the corner of Rd 209 & Rd 104 (T-104)
Description: The town was platted in 1860 by Samuel Shisler (1793 – 1870) & Mary (Bollinger) Shisler (1794 – 1874) & named after their daughter Arettie. It couldn’t keep up with Oakwood, which had a train station on the Nickel Plate Road.  Although Ettiesburg was never completely abandoned, it lost its status as a town. The Shislers were buried with relatives in Prairie Chapel Cemetery.

Flat Rock (Flat Rock City) – Harrison Township
Location: 41.088737 -84.702196 
on SR 613 between Town Hwy 51 & Rd 94 (C-94)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by War Of 1812 veteran Thomas Wentworth & Rachel (Townsend) Wentworth who were both born in Maine in 1791 & moved to Ohio in the late 1830s. They were the first settlers in the township, had a large family, & Thomas was a county commissioner, judge, & justice of the peace.

Follmer (Folmer) – Blue Creek Township
Post Office: 1882 – 1896
Location: 41.033785 -84.582704   
on Rd 48 (T-48) between US 127 & McDonald Park along the former railroad track bed
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Andrew Follmer. It had a school & was on the Cincinnati Northern Railroad.

Gilberts Mills – Latty Township
Post Office: 1871 – 1889
Location: 40.997271 -84.476339   
on SR 637 at the intersection of Rd 18 (T-18)
Remnants: Middle Creek Cemetery on the north side of Rd 24 (C-24) between Rd 151 & Middle Creek
Description: Its proprietor Philander Gilbert (1813 – 1887) was born in New York & moved to Ohio in the mid 1860s. He reconstructed a saw & grist mill that was purchased in Franklin County & was a justice of the peace & postmaster. Philander had several children with 3 wives & was buried with relatives in Middle Creek Cemetery.

Giauque (Goodwin) – Brown & Jackson Township
Post Office: 1903 – 1904
Location: 41.092164 -84.457345 
on SR 613 at the intersection of Rd 151 (County Hwy 151)
Remnants: none known
Description: Giauque was originally called Goodwin & had a train station on the Nickel Plate Road. It was renamed by Civil War veteran & lawyer Florien Giauque (1847 – 1921) & Mary (Miller) Giauque (1858 – 1913) who owned the land in the early 1900s. They later moved out of the county & were buried in Spring Grove Cemetery on Spring Grove Ave in Cincinnati.

Hamer – Washington Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1893
Location: 41.003535 -84.346101   
on T-203 (Rd 203) at the intersection of Rd L
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was platted in 1848 along the Miami & Erie Canal & named after Mexican War veteran & congressman General Thomas Hamer (1800 – 1846).

Holcombe (Holcombeville) (Morrison) – Paulding Township
Location: 41.149868 -84.602766 
on Rd 144 (W Gasser Rd) at the intersection of Rd 103 (C-103)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Cincinnati, Jackson & Mackinaw Railroad. The propritor & mayor A.B. Holcombe owned a lumber company & barrel hoop shop. Henry Howe traveled through Holcombe in 1886 & noted its existence in his updated version of Historical Collections Of Ohio.

Link – Caryall Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1902
Location: 41.237272 -84.795238 
on Co Hwy 230 at the intersection of Rd 7 (T-7)
Remnants: none known
Description: Link was a small farming & postal town with a school in the late 1800s to early 1900s.

Murat (Hipp’s Lock) (Timberville) – Washington Township
Post Office: 1852 – 1864 & 1868 – 1895
Location: 41.042140 -84.380763 
on Rd 197 (T-197) along the former Miami & Erie Canal path between Co Rd 60 & Rd 48
Remnants: Carlton (Burbage) Cemetery on T-42 (Township Hwy T-42) south of the GPS coordinates between Rd 193 (T-193) & the Little Auglaize River
Description: It was originally called Murat & named after French military leader & politician Joachim Murat. In the 1860s John Hipp (1836 – 1907) & Amelia (Burbage) Hipp (1847 – 1916) built a general store & mill near lock 31 on the canal. The town was called Timberville in the late 1800s & served as a shipping point for local lumber companies. John & Amelia were buried with relatives in Carlton (Burbage) Cemetery.

New Harrison – Carryall Township
Post Office: 1837 – 1841
Location: 41.165906 -84.800652 
on Rd 250 (C-250) between Old US 24 (County Rd 424) & the Maumee River
Remnants: none known
Description: This early settlement along the Indiana border had hopes of getting a canal, but the Wabash & Erie bypassed it & the town disappeared.

Newburg  (Royal Oak) – Brown Township
Post Office: 1864 – 1882
Location: unknown, was along the Miami Extension Canal on the north side of Melrose
Description: It was platted in 1851 by David Shriver & Leonard Kimmel. A guy with the last name Darling put up a sign on an oak tree for his grocery store & post office which read “Royal Oak Grocery”.

Nindeville – Harrison Township
Location: 41.135884 -84.784787 
on SR 111 at the intersection of Rd 11 (C-11) along South Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: In 1902 pike bonds were sold at $1,000 each to raise $45,000 for the Nindeville Pike. The road was constructed but the town never grew at all.

Plumbs Cross Roads (Plumb’s X Road) – Washington Township
Post Office: 1878 – 1892
Location: 41.008746 -84.399614 
on T-32 (Rd 32) at the intersection of C-187 (Rd 187)
Remnants: Fought Cemetery at the end of T-265 between Rd 193 & Dog Creek
Description: The town was founded by Caleb Plumb (1808 – 1890) & Eliza Plumb (1811 – 1871) & named after their grocery store sign that was simply marked with a large x. It also had a school & two churches. Caleb & Eliza were buried with relatives in Fought Cemetery.

Renollet – Emerald Township
Location: 41.245605 -84.496059 
on Town Hwy 139 (Rd 139) where it meets T-236 (Rd 236) at the railroad tracks on the south side of US 24
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were a branch of the Renollet family & descendants of German immigrants Paul Renollet Sr. (1801 – 1875) & Mary (Odon) Renollet (b. 1805). It had store, grain elevator, & a train station on the Wabash Railway. Many of the family members were buried in Renollet Cemetery on private property between T-135 & Town Hwy 139 along Six Mile Creek.

Smiley – Harrison Township
Post Office: 1883 – 1902
Location: 41.077669 -84.794259   
on SR 613 at the intersection of T-5 (Rd 5)
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Josiah Smiley (1848 – 1934) from Pennsylvania & Martha (Bushong) Smiley (1854 – 1922) who had a large farm & a few children. The town had a train station on the Nickel Plate Road. Josiah & Martha were buried with relatives in Park Cemetery in Fairmount, Indiana.

Sophia – Blue Creek Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1895
Location: 41.018809 -84.707329   
on SR 114 at the intersection of Co Rd 49
Remnants: none known

St. Andrews – Brown Township
Location: 41.104022 -84.427149   
on Town Hwy 108 at the intersection of T-181 (Rd 181)
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1850 along the Miami Extension Canal by Scottish immigrants & brothers James Mather (b. 1801) & Alexander Mather (1806 – 1876). St. Andrews couldn’t compete with faster growing towns & was abandoned in 1881. The Mather brothers moved to Missouri with relatives.

Sunnyside – Paulding Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1882
Location: 41.149915 -84.631590   
on Rd 87 at the intersection of Gasser Rd (Rd 144)
Remnants: none known
Description: Sunnyside was a small farming town with a school.

Tate’s Landing (Reids) (Sharp’s Lock) – Emerald Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1903
Location: 41.194200 -84.553456   
on SR 111 at the intersection of Rd 115
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Wabash & Erie Canal & named after canal worker Lyle Tate (1820 – 1890) who bought up some land around one of the locks. Captain Robert Reid (1827 – 1875) established the post office & the town had a grocery store & several taverns. The bulkhead of Six Mile Reservoir & 3 locks were destroyed by dynamite in 1887 by a group of 200 local men (mostly farmers) known as the “Dynamiters”. They were tired of continuous floods from the reservoir overflowing after the canal shut down & a bill they proposed to fix the problem failed to pass in the state legislature. They also burned down the former lockmaster’s house at Tate’s landing. By the time law enforcement arrived, the damage was already done & the Dynamiters were long gone. The events were called the Reservoir War & the Dynamiters final task was blowing up the town’s last saloon in 1900. None of them were ever captured or had their identities revealed. Lyle Tate was buried with relatives in Live Oak Cemetery on Emerald Rd in Paulding.

Worstville – Paulding Township
Post Office: 1882 – 1904
Location: 41.082764 -84.669739   
on Co Rd 71 at the railroad crossing between SR 613 & Town Hwy
Remnants: old houses & town roads in the area
Description: The proprietors were Mexican War veteran John Worst (1847 – 1920) & Sarah (Long) Worst (1849 – 1920). They spent most of their lives in Sandusky County where John was a teacher, county clerk, & lawyer, & purchased land for a stave (barrel) mill in Paulding County. The town quickly grew with a train station on the New York, Chicago, & St. Louis Railroad. It also had a general store, church, & school. Worstville stretched north across the railroad on the east side of Co Rd 71 & most of what’s left of the town sits south of the tracks. John & Sarah were buried with relatives in Oakwood Cemetery in Freemont, Sandusky County.

                                                      Pike County Ohio Ghost Towns

Alexanders Bridge – Sunfish Township
Location: 39.037998 -83.171777
on Laurel Ridge Rd south of SR 32
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: 
The only reference to the town was found in the 1893 Acts Of The State Of Ohio. It was named after the Alexander family in the township & the mentioned bridge crossed Carters Run on a currently disbanded stretch of Alexander Rd. A newer bridge has since been built crossing the creek & leads to a private residence. The earliest know members of the family in the area were John Alexander (1781 – 1851) & Catherine (Connor) Alexander (1779 – 1841). They were married in Beaver, Pennsylvania in 1806 & were buried with relatives in Rittenour Cemetery on W 2nd Street in Piketon.

Apex
Location: unknown
Description: Apex was listed in the 1922 Bullinger’s Postal And Shippers Guide For The United States And Canada.

Big Run – Jackson Township
Location: unknown
Description: The town had a school, Jackson Township Sub-district No. 9, listed in the 1883 History Of the Lower Scioto, Ohio. Its teacher was an M.B. Smith.

Buckskin Hill
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Cars Run – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1905
Location: 39.095899 -82.866258
on Carrs Run Rd between SR 335 & Ervin Hill Rd
Remnants: Carrs Run Cemetery on the west side of Carrs Run Rd north of the GPS coordinates, Liberty Valley A.M.E. Church (Carrs Run Church) across from the cemetery, Philadelphia Missionary Baptist Church on the east side of Carrs Run Rd north of the GPS coordinates
Description: Farming & timber harvesting were the main industries in this very small town with two churches. Although it isn’t a town anymore & the local population has dwindled over the passing decades, both churches are still in operation. Philadelphia Missionary Baptist Church was constructed in 1882 & the Liberty Valley A.M.E. congregation formed in 1888.  

Danville
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Galford – Union Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1907
Location: 38.959008 -82.892000
on Germany Rd at the intersection of Kroger Rd along Rocky Fork
Remnants: Slavens Cemetery in the northeast lot of the intersection, Owl Creek Cemetery on Owl Creek Cemetery Rd north off of Owl Creek Rd
Description: The town was founded by War Of 1812 veteran William James Galford (1785 – 1824) & Jane (Woodell) Galford (1791 – 1870). William’s father, John Thomas Galford (1757 – 1818), was a Revolutionary War veteran. William & Jane were born in Virginia, married there in 1808, & moved to Pike County in 1817. The Galfords were farmers & had several children. One of theirs sons, Henry Slavens Galford (1811 – 1894) married Martha (Anderson) Galford (1815 – 1892) in 1832. They inherited the family farm, which eventually expanded to 214 acres, & had 8 children. Aside from farming, Henry was also a justice of the peace & the town’s first postmaster. Henry’s paternal grandmother, Naomi, was a member of the Slaven family. She was buried with John & many other relatives in Slaven Family Burial Grounds in Highland County, Virginia. As with many ghost towns in Ohio founded by war veterans, descendants of both families moved to the state & settled close to each other. Everyone else mentioned in this listing was buried in Owl Creek Cemetery.  

Gibson – Union Township
1849 – 1880
Location: unknown
Description: It was named after a branch of the Gibson family in the county & was listed in some postal & shipping guides in the mid-1800s.

Hills – Pee Pee Township
Location: 39.179017 -83.042520
on Beatty Rd along Left Fork Crooked Creek between Mt Tabor Rd & County Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the Detroit, Toledo, & Ironton Railroad.

Pee Pee – Pee Pee Township
Post Office: 1869 – 1883
Location: 39.132545 -83.014641
on Songbird Land (Township Rd 450) north off of SR 220
Remnants: none known
Description: 
The town was founded in 1795 & named after Peter Patrick, the first settler in the area. He carved his initials into four trees that marked the future boundaries of the town before moving back to Virginia due to attacks from local Native Americans. Free black Americans later arrived at the location & named the town after Peter’s initials which still remained in the boundary markers. A church was built in 1824 followed by a school, town hall, & a few other public buildings. Runaway slaves were assisted by the citizens during the mid 1800s & Civil War. Pee Pee had a post office from 1869 – 1883 but lost most of its population by 1900 & was totally abandoned around 1950 for economic reasons. There are no known remnants left of the town & newer residences in the area.

Prosperity – Pee Pee Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was along Prosperity Rd.

Prussia – Pee Pee Township
Location: 39.166212 -83.000018
on Prussia Rd at the intersection of Pennington Rd
Remnants: Old German (Old Prussia) Cemetery on the east side of Prussia Rd north of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was founded in the mid-1800s by immigrants from Prussia, a disbanded kingdom in Germany. They formed an Evangelical Lutheran congregation in 1845 & constructed a brick church at the cemetery in 1858.  

Robbins (Dove) – Beaver Township
Post Office: 1874 – 1934
Location: 39.038130 -82.878129
on Red Hollow Rd at the former railroad track crossing between Beaver Pike & Coal Dock Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was named after Thomas Robbins (1833 – 1883) & Margaret (Dickason) Robbins (1836 – 1922) whose land the Ohio Southern Railroad, later bought out by the Detroit, Toledo, & Ironton Railroad, rolled through. The post office was called Dove. Thomas & Margaret were buried with relatives in Beaver Chapel Cemetery at the intersection of Red Hollow Rd & Coal Dock Rd.

Shyville – Scioto Township
Post Office: 1888 – 1935
Location: 39.033352 -82.994347
on Shyville Rd south off of SR 32
Remnants: none known
Description: 
Shyville was settled by Henry George Shy (1832 – 1910) & Clara Katherine (Knaper) Shy when they bought a farm close to Shyville Rd in 1861 & had 12 children. They were both born in Germany & met in Germany, OH in Jackson County, about 5 miles east of their farm while Clara was visiting with some relatives. Henry was a farmer & a cabinet maker. Shyville was never a large town but had a general store, church, & a post office that ran from 1888 – 1935. The general store was operated by Herman Shy (1866 – 1945) & was lost in a fire. There wasn’t a lot left of Shyville when the U.S. Atomic Energy Program began construction of a plant there in the early 1950s & the town was abandoned by 1952. The atomic plant produced weapons grade uranium for the Cold War arms race & is currently on shutdown status. Henry & Clara Shy were buried with several of their family members in Mound Cemetery on Mound Cemetery Rd in Piketon.

Portage County Ohio Ghost Towns

Breakneck – Franklin Township
Location: 41.155641 -81.321510 
on Kent Ravenna    Rd (SR 59) at the intersection of SR 261 along Breakneck Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The town had a grist mill & school & there was a saw mill, wool factory, & ashery about a mile to the east. The Pennsylvania & Ohio Canal ran through town & was used to ship goods & supplies. Residents were buried in Breakneck Cemetery which was originally in the southwest corner of the intersection of Kent Ravenna Rd & Rhodes Rd. It was moved to the northeast corner of Standing Rock Cemetery on N Mantua St (SR 43).

Bright Town – Paris Township
Location: 41.153887 -81.007649  
on Gilbert Rd between McClintocksburg Rd & McMullen Allen Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming town in the mid 1800s with no major businesses. All that was left in the 1870s was a stretch of residences including C. Bright & J. Bright.

Cacklers Corners – City Of Streetsboro (formerly  Streetsboro Township) & Franklin Township
Location: 41.207701 -81.377762 
on Seasons Rd at the intersection of Ravenna Rd along Tinkers Creek
Remnants: Cackler Cemetery on private property between the first & second residences on the north side of Cackler Rd west of Seasons Rd, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Cacklers Corners was founded by War Of 1812 veteran Christian Cackler Jr. (1791 – 1878) & Theresa (Nighman) Cackler (1791 – 1869) who both moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania with their parents in the first decade of the 1800s. They were married in 1814, the first wedding in Franklin Township, & settled in Streetsboro Township in 1816. Christian & Theresa had 12 children, a large farm, blacksmith shop, & donated land for a school at the northwest corner of Seasons Rd & Ravenna Rd. They were buried with relatives, including their parents & many descendants, in Cackler Cemetery.

Cobbs Corners – Mantua Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1850
Location: 41.308674 -81.281174   
on Twinsburg Warren Rd (SR 82) at the intersection of Chamberlain Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Samuel Cobb (1785 – 1852) & Harriet (Sheldon) Cobb (1793 – 1860). They were married in Connecticut in 1820 & moved to Ohio in 1833. Samuel & Harriet had 3 children & a farm of several hundred acres. Their son Henry Cobb (1821 – 1894) helped clear the farm, worked in the post office, & was a school teacher. Samuel & Harriet were buried with relatives in East Lawn (Eastlawn) Cemetery on Mantua Center Rd & Henry was buried with relatives in West Lawn (Westlawn) Cemetery on Twinsburg Warren Rd.

East Davis – Edinburg Township
Location: 41.132005 -81.120389 
on hiking trails north of Cable Line Rd along the Michael J. Kirwan Reservoir
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Davis family in the county. The town had a school at the northeast corner of the intersection of Cable Line Rd & Rock Spring Rd.

Greenleafs Corners – Charlestown Township
Location: 41.191992 -81.109546   
on Greenleaf Rd at the intersection of Ravenna Arsenal Rd along Sand Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The original proprietors were Israel Greenleaf (1813 – 1985) & Emily (Whitney) Greenleaf (1811 – 1883). They were both born in New York & married there in 1833 before moving to Ohio in 1835. Israel & Emily had 5 children. They were buried with relatives in Charlestown Cemetery on Newton Falls Rd.

Harrisport – Paris Township
Location: 41.181445 -81.009815   
between McClintocksburg Rd & Holcomb Rd in the woods on the east side of the Mahoning River
Remnants: none known
Description: Harrisport was name of McClintocksburg prior to 1835. The town moved south when the Old Pennsylvania & Ohio Canal opened around that time.

Hazen – Hiram Township
Location: 41.332050 -81.104728    
on Norton Rd at the intersection of Mumford Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by John Hazen (1790 – 1846) & Miranda (Mason) Hazen (1794 – 1851) who moved to Ohio from Vermont & were pioneers in Hiram Township. John built a general store in 1820. He was also a deacon & donated land for a Congregational Church in the mid 1830s. They were buried with relatives in Baptist Cemetery in Garrettsville north of Maple Ave.

Hilltown – Brimfield Township
Location: 41.073667 -81.328718   
on Congress Lake Rd between Old Forge Rd & Saxe Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was a small farming town with a blacksmith shop.

Hutson – Deerfield Township
Location: 41.016724 -81.022037   
on the Berlin Lake Trail south off of US 224 between Sheffleton Rd & Diver Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Harmon Hutson (1827 – 1906) & Charlotte (Vaughn) Hutson (1837 – 1900). Harmon served in the Civil War as a riverboat pilot captain on the Ohio & Mississippi Rivers. After the war they bought a 150 acre farm in Deerfield Township & founded the Hutson Coal Co. when the resource was discovered in the area. It employed residents from the mid 1890s to late 1920s & the coal was shipped on a railroad switch called the A & N. Two of the workers also ran into a mineral water spring which was clean enough to bottle for sale. Harmon & Charlotte had one child who died at the age of 11. They were buried with relatives in Deerfield Cemetery on the north side of US 224 across from Edgewater Blvd.

Keans – Palmyra & Deerfield Township
Location: 41.062279 -81.031760   
on Yale Rd at the intersection of McClintocksburg Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by a branch of the Kean (or Keen) family in the county. It sat along the A & N Railroad switch but didn’t have a train station.

Maple Grove – Rootstown Township
Location: unknown, was in the southeast section of the township west of Industry Rd
Description: It was a farming town & part of an extensive school district system.

Morgans – Ravenna Township
Location: 41.169615 -81.271797 
on Wall St at the railroad & Portage Hike And Bike Trail crossing between Jones Ave & Cleveland Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Its proprietors were D.H. & J.A Morgan who owned a large farm in the mid 1800s. The town sat along the junction of the Cleveland & Pittsburgh Railroad & Atlantic & Great Western Railroad.

Parker – Mantua Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1905
Location: 41.337225 -81.280825   
on Winchell Rd at the intersection of Chamberlain Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by Emerson C. Parker (1874 – 1899) who either purchased or inherited a plot of land south of the intersection. Chauncey Winchel (1799 – 1883) & Persis (Parker) Winchel (1805 – 1875) were pioneers of the township & accumulated nearly 1,000 acres. Emerson, Chauncey, & Persis were buried in West Lawn Cemetery on Twinsburg Warren Rd with many ancestors of the massive Winchel (Winchell) & Parker families.

Sample – Franklin Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Stoddards Mills – Brimfield Township
Location: 41.125308 -81.325162 
on Edison Rd between Meloy Rd & Sherman Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Levi Stoddard (1771 – 1860) & Patty (Burritt) Stoddard (1768 – 1845) who settled in the township in 1830. Levi built a wool mill & there was also a school on the east side of Edison Rd across from the Stoddard’s house. They were buried with relatives in Restland Cemetery on the west side of SR 43.

                                                    Preble County Ohio Ghost Towns

Beechy Mire – Dickson Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1846
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed as a postal town in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

Belfast – Jefferson
Location: 39.836160 -84.778569   
on US 40 (National Rd) between SR 320 & Elkhorn Rd
Remnants: none known 
Description: Belfast was platted in 1832 but couldn’t keep up with Gettysburg which was platted the same year. Gettysburg’s proprietor John Curry (1805 – 1875) was determined to have the best town in the area. Some residents of Belfast were buried in Gettysburg Cemetery on Oxford Gettysburg Rd.

Claysburg – Israel Township
Location: 39.626440 -84.759677   
on Cramer Rd at the intersection of SR 725
Remnants: none known
Description: Claysburg was platted in 1833 & listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide from 1837 – 1841.

Corvin – Dixon Township
Post Office: 1885 – 1892
Location: 39.699495 -84.741622   
on California School Rd at the intersection of Wyatt Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Many residents were buried in Concord Cemetery on Concord Fairhaven Rd.

Crawfordsville – Jackson Township
Location: 39.787607 -84.706515   
on Crawfordsville Campbellstown Rd at the intersection of US 35
Remnants: Bonebrake (New Hope) Cemetery on Cemetery Rd off of US 35 south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Crawfordsville was platted in 1842 by Conrad Frey & still had around a dozen houses in the early 1880s, but it couldn’t compete with New Hope which was growing faster. Some of Crawfordsville’s residents, including Daniel Strader (1811 – 1895) who lived there the longest, were buried in Bonebrake (New Hope) Cemetery.

Currystown – Jefferson Township
Location: 39.834971 -84.723267 
on Oxford Gettysburg Rd along Seven Mile Ditch
Remnants: Curry Cemetery at the GPS Coordinates
Description: The town was founded by members of the Curry family in the area prior to the platting of Gettysburg by John Curry in 1832. Currystown never grew much outside of the original family farm  & construction of the National Road (US 40) to the north, made its location obsolete. The family dream of establishing a successful town lived on through Gettysburg though, which is still in existence today. Revolutionary War veteran Robert Curry was the first burial in the cemetery in 1816.

Ernest (Concord) – Dixon Township
Post Office: 1890 – 1902
Location: 39.713233 -84.769597   
on Concord Fairhaven Rd between Concord Rd & California School Rd
Remnants: Concord Church & Cemetery at the GPS coordinates, Harshman Covered Bridge south of the gps coordinates
Description: The post office was in the church. Harshman Covered Bridge was built in 1894 by Everett Sherman (1831 – 1897) & made it onto the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

Hagerstown – Monroe Township
Post Office: 1832 – 1855
Location: 39.909576 -84.607114
on Holtzmuller Rd along Twin Creek at the intersection of Euphemia Castine Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It had the first post office in the township & sat around the crossing of the Cincinnati Northern Railroad & the Dayton & Western Railroad. Their train stations were at West Manchester & Browns Station though. Hagerstown was last seen in the 1871 Preble County Atlas & disappeared in the 1880s.

Mercersburg – Gratis Township
Location: unknown, was east of Greenbush near the Montgomery County line
Description: none found

Morningstar – Lanier Township
Location: 39.698238 -84.537844     
on SR 503 along Twin Creek between Halderman Rd & Carlton Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by George Morningstar (1779 – 1862) & Elizabeth (Sweitzer) Morningstar (1783 – 1851) who had 7 children & a successful farm. They were buried with relatives in Eikenberry (Wheatville) Cemetery on Quaker Trace Rd.

Oklahoma – Washington Township
Location: 39.786440 -84.633842   
on US 127 at intersection with SR 726 along Bantas Fork
Remnants: former school on SR 726 at the interesection of Alexander Rd, old houses in the area
Description: The Bantas family was the biggest in town. Most of them moved to Kansas. Oklahoma also had a steam powered saw mill on the north side of Alexander Rd at the corner of SR 726.

Orangeburg (Orangeburgh) – Jefferson Township
Location: 39.838660 -84.746901   
on Orangeburg Rd at the intersection of US 40 (National Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: Orangeburg had the same story as Belfast. In the 1881 History Of Preble County, Ohio a line reads “Of Oragngeburg it may be said that the town cannot be seen for the houses, and of Belfast, the houses cannot be seen for the town.” Neither lasted much longer. Some residents of Orangeburg were buried in Gettyburg Cemetery on Oxford Gettysburg Rd.

Richland County Ohio Ghost Towns

Andrews – Washington Township
Location:
40.640359 -82.520006
on SR 13 at the intersection of Andrews Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were Stephen Andrews (1775 – 1861) & Surviah (Carpenter) Andrews (1792 – 1864), who were pioneer farmers & livestock raisers. They moved to Ohio from New York in 1813, had 9 children & were buried with relatives in Bellville Cemetery on SR 97 in Bellville. The town also had a school (Washington Township No. 5) in the northwest corner of the intersection of SR 13 & Kochheiser Rd.

Condon (Conden) – City Of Mansfield (formerly in Madison Township)
Location: 40.768574 -82.567049
on W 4th St at the railroad underpass between N Brookwood Way & N Home Rd

Remnants: none known
Description: It was on the New York, Pennsylvania & Ohio Railroad on land owned by Benjamin Condon (1843 – 1915) & Luther Condon (1858 – 1916). They grew up on a farm there & inherited the land from their parents Elisha Condon (1807 – 1890) from Pennsylvania & Nancy (Flora) Condon (1816 – 1898) from Maryland, who were pioneers in the county. Nancy tragically died from burns she received after her clothes caught fire from a stove spark. Everyone mentioned in this listing was buried with relatives in Mansfield Cemetery on Altamont St in Mansfield. Condon had a school (Madison Township No. 4) in the northwest corner of the intersection of W 4th St & Trimble Rd on land owned by the Trimble family.

Cookton – Springfield Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1903
Location: 40.802631 -82.655951
on SR 314 at the railroad crossing between Hook Rd & Cookton Grange Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Damsell W. Cook (1832 – 1922) & Anna (Murray) Cook (1841 – 1913). Cookton was on the Pittsburg, Ft. Wayne, & Chicago Railroad, also called the Panhandle Route, & had a waterhouse for the railroad which is now a pile of rubble on the south side of the tracks east of the GPS coordinates. A school (Springfield Township No. 3) was on the south side of Beam Rd between SR 314 & the railroad tracks. Damsell & Anna were buried with relatives in Shelby – Oakland Cemetery on SR 61 (S Gamble St) north of town in Shelby in Sharon Township. The waterhouse was on land owned by Samuel Brandt (1846 – 1913) & Arey (Musselman) Brandt (1849 – 1922). They were buried with relatives in Greenlawn Cemetery on SR 181 (Crawford – Richland Line Rd) in Crestline in Sandusky Township.

Davis – Worthington Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1903
Location: 40.609239 -82.347673
on Turgend Rd at the intersection of McCurdy Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was a small farming & postal town founded by a branch of the Davis family in the county. John & S.K. Davis owned most of the land in the late 1800s. George E. McConkie (1865 – 1952) was the town’s last postmaster. He later moved to California.

Dew Drop
Location: unknown

Description: none found

Forest – Plymouth Township
Location: 40.959399 -82.686063
on SR 98 at the intersection of Henry Rd
Remnants: former school on the west side of SR 98 north of the GPS coordinates
Descripton: Forest was along the B&O Railroad & has a school (Plymouth Township No. 1) that’s now a private residence. John A. Clark (1865 – 1911) built a small depot next to the railroad tracks that was used a flag stop for passengers. He was buried with relatives in Greenlawn Cemetery on SR 181 in Crestline in Sandusky Township.

Hines (Hinesville) – Sharon Township
Post Office: 1874 – 1906
Location:
40.872058 -82.719834
on Hinesville Rd at the intersection of SR 96
Remnants: Myers Cemetery on SR 39 at the intersection of Davis Rd
Description: The town was founded by Nickalous Heinz (1821 – 1895) & Margaretha (Stienbach) Heinz (1820 – 1882) who donated land for the track path of the Mansfield, Coldwater, & Lake Michigan Railroad. Their son 
George Hines (1851 – 1927) & Regina (Metzger) Hines inherited the land & had several children. The family name was Americanized from its Germanic origin to Hines in the mid-late 1800s. The railroad was bought by the Toledo, Walhonding Valley, & Ohio Railroad & the tracks are long gone. Hines also had a church next to Myers Cemetery & a school across the road on the south side of SR 39. The Hines (Heinz) family was buried in Sacred Heart Cemetery on SR 61 south of town in Bethlehem.

Myers – Jackson Township
Location: 40.843112 -82.622951
on Myers Rd (Co Hwy 201) at the railroad crossing between SR 39 & Rock Rd (Co Hwy 150)
Remnants: none known
Description: Adam Myers (1780 – 1855) & Elizabeth (Howard) Myers moved from Lancaster County, Pennsylvania to Stark County, Ohio in 1823. They relocated to Richland County in 1827 & completed construction of their log cabin in 1828. Adam & Elizabeth owned an 80 acre farm, had 7 children, & donated land for tracks of what would later become the B&O Railroad. Pioneer life was tough in the early days & the family even made their own clothes. John D. Myers (1828 – 1914) & Elizabeth (Feighner) Myers inherited the farm & expanded it to 112 acres. John was a township trustee & superintendent of a Lutheran Sunday school for 10 years. Everyone mentioned in this listing was buried in Mt. Bethel Cemetery on the south side of Myers Rd between Plymouth Springhill Rd (Co Hwy 191) & SR 39 east of the GPS coordinates. The Lutheran church was across the road. Myers also had a school (Jackson Township No. 6) at the intersection of Rock Rd & Stine Rd (Co Hwy 169).

Riblet (Riblets Corners) – Sandusky Township
Post Office: 1836 – 1860
Location: 40.756174 -82.706036
on SR 309 (Park Ave W) between Crestline – Blooming Grove Rd & SR 181
Description: 
Revolutionary War veteran Christian Riblet (1761 – 1844) & Christina Magdalene (Shull) Riblet (1763 – 1852) moved from Pennyslvania to Richland County in 1831. They had 4 children including their son Daniel (1791 – 1866) who served in the state senate from 1854 – 1856 & was the town’s postmaster. The Riblet’s farm was a well known stagecoach stop for people traveling between Mansfield & Bucyrus. It served as an inn, tavern, & had a post office from 1836 – 1860. The entire town consisted of the Riblet’s farm, a chapel, & a few other farms. The Atlantic & Great Western Railroad, later bought by the Pittsburg, Ft. Wayne, & Chicago Panhandle Route, ran through the area but there wasn’t enough accommodations around to attract more residents. Christian & Christina Riblet were buried with several of their family members in Riblet Cemetery on the south side of SR 309 about 1/2 mile east of Horning Rd close to the Sandusky & Springfield Township border.

Runners (Richland) (Planktown) – Cass Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1838 & 1838 – 1863
Location: 40.957688 -82.585075
on SR 603 at the intersection of Ganges – Five Points Rd (Co Hwy 207)
Remnants: old farms with newer houses in the area
Description: Plantown is still a populated place & has a lot of history that needs sorted out. Runners & Richland are sometimes referred to as ghost towns, but they’re the same location as Planktown. SR 603 was once part of an early 1800s road that ran from Knox County through Richland & up to Lake Erie. It’s most important use was hauling wagons full of grain, usually wheat. Taverns & hotels were also needed along the route for the drivers, oxen, & horses to get much needed rest. David Long (1811 – 1881) had a cabin near the GPS coordinates that was more frequently becoming a stopping place, but he was a tanner & didn’t want to run a hotel. As many as 200 teams of wagons would pass by the cabin on any given day. So David sold his cabin to Michael Runner (1801 – 1850). It was known as Runner’s Hotel at that time. Michael opened a post office in the establishment & owned the first grocery store in the area. John Plank helped run the hotel, was also a postmaster, & bought the hotel from Michael. John platted a town around the hotel in 1837 & originally called it Plymouth, but there was already a village by that name on the Richland & Huron County border. John changed the name to Richland & the post office of that name ran from 1838 – 1863, but residents affectionately called it Planktown. It grew to have around 200 residents with 2 stores & 2 hotels. When the railroad arrived in nearby Shiloh, residents started moving there as it was much more of a bustling community & offered more economic opportunities. Planktown stated turning into a haven for gamblers, bandits, criminals, & lawlessness in general, which drove most of the remaining honest & hardworking folks away over the next couple of decades. By 1880, Planktown didn’t have any businesses left & was down to 7 families. The area never lost its name though & has since been repopulated with newer residences.

Saint Johns – Monroe Township
Location: 40.645902 -82.348967
on Covert Rd (Township Hwy 637) off of SR 95 on the north side of Pleasant Hill Lake
Remnants: Saint John Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town was named after its Evangelical Lutheran church & cemetery that was built on land owned by Abraham Darling (1794 – 1872). He was buried with many relatives in the cemetery.

Spring Grove – City Of Mansfield (formerly in Madison Township)
Location: 40.787434 -82.513363
on SR 13 at the intersection of the southern rd of the Mansfield Correctional Institute
Remnants: none known
Description: Spring Grove was a 55 acre plat addition to Mansfield with expectations of the city stretching north in the future. The land ended up getting purchased by the state during construction of Ohio State Reformatory prison its grounds.

Stewart – Springfield Township
Location: 40.780168 -82.590236
on Lexington – Springfield Rd at the intersection of Ferguson Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietors were a branch of the Stewart family in the county.

Winchester – Worthington Township
Location: 40.609145 -82.407459
on SR 95 at the intersection of Hagerman Rd along Clear Fork
Remnants: old farm barns & buildings on SR 95 south of the GPS coordinates
Description: Winchester was platted in 1845 by Noble Calhoon (1816 – 1900) & Eliza (Willock) Calhoon (1818 – 1887) as a farming & mill town. It had 2 schools, one in the southwest corner of the intersection at the GPS coordinates, & another on the other side of Clear Fork at the intersection of Wilson Rd & Benedict Rd. A few of the residential lots sold & were improved, but the Calhoons couldn’t keep up with the payments on the land purchase & the remaining property was sold at a sheriff’s auction. The Calhoons did well in life after the failure of Winchester though. They had 3 children & successfully ran a large farm. Noble & Eliza were buried with relatives in Perrysville Union Cemetery on E Church St in Perrysville in Green Township, Ashland County. 

Sandusky County Ohio Ghost Towns

Cooperstown – Townsend Township
Location: 41.364979 -82.877580 
on Coppa Rd at the intersection of Fuller Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by the Stark Brothers, James, Lorenzo, John, & Albert, who were coopers (barrel makers) in the early 1900s.

Demasville (Demassville)
Post Office: 1856 – 1860
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Exeter
Post Office: 1852 – 1864
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Gibsonburg Junction – Woodville Township
Location: 41.432531 -83.318546   
on US 20 at the intersection with SR 300 & Magsig Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area, former school now a private residence in the lot southeast of the GPS coordinates
Description: Gibsonburg Junction was a crossroads town between the Pennsylvania & Northwestern Railroad & Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway.

Hoovers Corners – Ballville Township
Location: 41.263752 -83.131161     
on Tiffin Rd at the intersection of Deran Rd
Remnants: Decker (Hoover) Cemetery on the west side of Tiffin Rd north of the intersection
Description: This small farming town was founded by Lawrence Hoover (1807 – 1882) & Mary Hoover (1811 – 1889). They were buried in the cemetery with two of their children who passed away at young ages.

Teemes (Teems) – Townsend Township
Post Office: 1891 – 1906
Location: 41.414496 -82.862966   
on Teems Rd between US 6 (Chickasaw Trail) & Yetter Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: Teemes was a prosperous farming & postal town with a school.

Tousaint – Woodville Township
Location: 41.479458 -83.387556   
on Rife Rd between Trapp Rd & Emch Rd along Toussaint Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: This small town sat on the Pennsylvania & Northwestern Railroad, formerly the Toledo, Tiffin, & Eastern Railroad.

York North Ridge – York Township
Post Office: 1833 – 1855
Location: unknown: was on S Ridge Rd
Description: The town was named  after the York family in the county & the sand ridge it was on.

York South Ridge – Greencreek Township
Post Office: 1850 – 1852
Location: 41.279152 -82.975109   
on S Ridge Rd at the intersection of S Main St
Description: The town was named after the the York family in the county & the sand ridge it was on.

                                               Seneca County Ohio Ghost Towns

Adamsville – Adams Township
Location: 41.170127 -82.976485 
on SR 18 at the intersection of CR 21 (County Rd 21)
Remnants: Block (English Evangelical Lutheran) Cemetery on the west side of CR 21 north of the GPS coordinates, Zion Lutheran Church & Adams Lutheran Cemetery at the intersection of CR 21 & E Township Rd 128
Description: It was platted in 1846 by Daniel Kistler (d. 1858). The current Zion Lutheran Church was built in 1885 & the town also had a school & Evangelical Lutheran church on land donated by Joseph Neikirk (1806 – 1887) from Maryland & Barbara (Noel) Neikirk (1804 – 1869) from Pennsylvania. Daniel was buried with relatives in Adams Lutheran Cemetery & the Neikirks were buried with relatives in Block Cemetery. As Adamsville faded away into history, Cooper (Cooperstown) sprang up barely south of the location.

Butternut Ridge – Adams Township
Post Office: 1851 – 1867
Location: 41.255256 -82.980900   
on SR 101 (Portland Rd) between E County Rd 62 & N Township Rd 179
Remnants: Butternut Ridge Chapel & Lay (Butternut Ridge Church Of Christ) Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town had a school & cooper shop. The post office was on the north side of E Township Rd 178 between CR 21 & Township Line Rd.

Castina – Thompson Township
Post Office: 1828 – 1839
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s Guide in 1841 as 18 miles from Tiffin, 4 & 1/2 miles from Bellevue, & 9 from Republic.

Elizabethtown – Bloom Township
Location: 41.066573 -83.068471   
on SR 67 at the intersection of CR 16 (E County Rd 16)
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Dr. James Fisher (1801 – 1888) & Elizabeth (Boyer) Fisher (d. 1878) who moved to Ohio from Maryland in 1832. It was named after Elizabeth & had a saloon, wagon shop, & blacksmith shop. The Fishers moved to Missouri & were buried in Maple Park Cemetery in Springfield.

Fitz Henry
Post Office: 1850 – 1852
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the 1853 W.W. Reilly & Co.’s Ohio State Business Directory.

Hedgetown (Sulphur Springs) – Pleasant & Adams Township
Location: 41.235732 -83.075459    
on Township Rd 169 (Tr 0169) along Beaver Creek between E County Rd 34 (Cr34) & Tr 0164
Remnants: none known
Description: Hedgetown was founded by Josiah Hedges (1778 – 1858) & Eliza (Hammerly) Hedges who moved to Ohio from Virginia in 1820. The town had a church, school, saw mill, & a grist mill. Josiah also served in the state legislature & founded Tiffin. The Hedges were buried with relatives in Greenlawn Cemetery on E County Rd 36 (Cr36) in Tiffin. Some residents of Hedgetown were buried in Bunker Hill Cemetery on the south side of E County Rd 44 (Cr44) west of N Township Rd 169.

Hopewell – Hopewell Township
Location: 41.123513 -83.247008  
on W Township Rd 112 (Center Rd) at the intersection of Tr0113
Remnants: former school at the intersection, Hopewell Cemetery in a farm field on the east side of Tr0021 south of Cr48
Description: It had a grocery store, church, & the school.

Jackson Station – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1868 – 1870
Location: 41.196094 -83.356650   
on W Township Rd 84 (Ecker Rd) at the intersection of N Township Rd 65 (Tr0065) along the former railroad path
Remnants: none known
Description: Jackson Station was on the Fremont & Lima Railroad. The former railroad path can be seen on satellite maps.

Leamansville
Post Office: 1832 – 1845
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed in the 1843 A Table Of Post-Offices In Ohio, Arranged By Counties, Townships, And Towns as being 15 miles from the county seat.

Linden (Maple Grove) – Liberty Township
Post Office: 1874 – 1875 & 1885 – 1909
Location: 41.217275 -83.226588  
on N County Rd 41 at the intersection of Cr42
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: This small farming, railroad, & postal town sat at the crossing of the Pennsylvania Railroad & Nickel Plate Road. It had a train station that served both tracks.

Middleburg – Liberty Township
Location: 41.234568 -83.254350  
on SR 12 (Fostoria Fremont Rd) at the intersection of N Township Rd 69
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1832 & disappeared in the late 1830s.

Mohawk – Eden Township
Location: 41.066235 -83.173448   
on SR 231 (Mohawk Rd) at the intersection of W County Rd 16 along Honey Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Mohawk Tribe members John Van Metre (Van Meter), his wife Susan (Brandt) Van Metre & her brothers Chief Thomas Brandt, Isaac Brandt, & Paulus Brandt were awarded 1,000 acres for a reservation called the Van Metre Reserve in an 1817 treaty. John had been taken captive by Wyandots in West Virginia in 1778, later transferred to the Mohawks, & married Susan in a tribal ceremony. 25 Mohawk families lived on the reserve & John was buried there when he passed away in the mid 1820s. The reserve was sold in 1828 & what was left of the tribe moved west across the Mississippi River in 1829. These days a lake, golf course, & some businesses in the area still bear the Mohawk name.

Palo Alto – Seneca Township
Post Office: 1856 – 1881
Location: 41.029018 -83.232457   
on SR 53 at the intersection of Cr6 (County Rd 6)
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: Palo Alto was a small farming town with a blacksmith shop in the southeast corner of the intersection.

Raineys (Raneys) – Loudon Township
Location: 41.142831 -83.343812   
on Township Hw 47 at the railroad crossing between SR 18 & Township Rd 132 (Punk Hollow Rd)
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietors were Isaac Raney (1841 – 1897 & Susanna (Fox) Raney (1840 – 1914) who were both born in Seneca County. They owned a farm along the Mansfiled, Coldwater, & Lake Michigan Railroad & the B & O Railroad which ran parallel to each other through the area. Isaac & Susanna were buried in Loudon Township Cemetery on the south side of SR 18 in Fostoria.

Saint Nicholas (Frenchtown) – Big Spring Township
Post Office: 1884 – 1885
Location: 41.014221 -83.339645   
on Bloom Rd at the intersection of Clouse Rd
Remnants: Saint Nicholas Catholic Church & French Town (Saint Nicholas) Cemetery north of the GPS coordinates on Cr6 between Clouse Rd & S Co Rd 591
Description: The town founders were the Lafontaine family & few others who arrived in the area from France in the 1840s. Farming was the main industry & a Catholic congregation formed in 1855 which was half German in the early days & more French as time went on. The impressive church structure was built in 1856.

Sheatenhelm – Pleasant Township
Location: 41.212037 -83.088169   
on E County Rd 44 (Cr44) between Lamalie Rd & N Township Rd 169 (Adams – Pleasant Township Line Rd)
Remnants: Bunker Hill Cemetery on the south side of E County Rd 44 west of N Township Rd 169
Description: The town was founded by Grafton Shedenhelm ( 1813 – 1882) from Maryland & Mary (Shaul or Schall) Shedenhelm (1817 – 1849) from Virginia. They had 8 children & a 240 acre farm with a steam saw mill along the Big Four Railroad. After Mary passed away, Grafton married one of Mary’s sisters or cousins, Catharine (Shaul or Schall) Shedenhelm (1825 – 1880) & had another 7 children. They were buried with relatives in Bunker Hill Cemetery.

Steinerville – City Of Tiffin (formerly in Hopewell Township)
Location: 41.109229 -83.201532   
on Fair Ln off of Hopwell Ave
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted in 1852 by Henry Steiner (Stoner) (1781 – 1857) who owned over 300 acres  along the Sandusky, Dayton, & Cincinnati Railroad & stretching south across the current Seneca County Fairgrounds. Henry was buried with relatives in Fairmont (Stoner) Cemetery on the south side of Tyber Rd in Tiffin.

Thomsontown  (Thompson Center) – Thompson Township
Location: 41.211853 -82.898696   
on E County Rd 32 (Cr 32) at the intersection of N Township Rd 81
Remnants: Thompson Center (Dunkirk) Cemetery on the south side of E County Rd 32 west of the intersection, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Thomsontown had a school, church, & town hall in the mid to late 1800s.

Trumbo – Jackson Township
Post Office: 1873 – 1874
Location: 41.199052 -83.343364   
on Fostoria Fremont Rd at the intersection of Good Rd (Wertz Rd)
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was founded by Enoch Trumbo (1804 – 1894) from Pennsylvania & Elanor (Robertson) Trumbo (1812 – 1873) who had 6 children & a large farm. Enoch was a stone mason, farmer, county commissioner, justice of the peace, & township trustee. The town was along the Fremont & Lima Railroad (later bought by the Lake Erie & Louisville Railroad) but didn’t have a train station. Enoch & Elanor were buried with relatives in Zion Lutheran Cemetery at the intersection of W County Rd 592 (Cr592) & Cr39 south of town.

                                                   Shelby County Ohio Ghost Towns

Botkins Station – Dinsmore Township, Shelby County & Pusheta Township, Auglaize County
Location: 40.482336 -84.183987
on SR 219 on the Auglaize & Shelby County border
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a train station on the Dayton & Michigan Railroad. Residences & businesses were in both Auglaize & Shelby County. It was named after Richard Botkin (1803 – 1858) who donated the land for the station & founded Botkins in Shelby County.

Dingmansburg – Clinton Township
Location: 40.284066 -84.146605
on East Court St (SR 29) at the intersection of High St

Remnants: none known
Description: Dingmansburg was the first village in the township platted in 1816 with 18 lots on three streets by War Of 1812 veteran Daniel V. Dingman (1782 – 1861) who was the first sheriff of Shelby County. It was replatted as East Sidney in 1837 & annexed into Sidney in 1919.

Hageman – Green Township
Location: 40.208321 -84.077508
on Dorsey Hageman Rd at the intersection of Kirkwood Rd

Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Jonathan Hageman (1830 – 1916) & Elizabeth (Robinson) Hageman (1834 – 1908) who had three children. Jonathan built a steam powered saw mill with his brothers along Leatherwood Creek in 1854 & operated it for several decades. The Hagemans were buried with relatives in Plattsville Cemetery on Leatherwood Creek Rd.

Hale – Cynthian Township
Post Office: 1838 – 1842
Location: 40.306919 -84.384595
on Cardo Roman Rd between SR 66 & Barger Rd along the Miami & Erie Canal
Remnants: none known
Description: This small farming & mill town was founded by members of the Hale family in the area. The portion of SR 47 which runs through the township was formerly the Hale Turnpike.

Mix
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Northumberland – Dinsmore Township
Location: 40.453103 -84.180224
on Sidney – Wapakoneta Rd at the intersection with Lock 2 Rd along Loramie Creek
Remnants: Old Loramie Valley Cemetery at the intersection, New Loramie Valley Cemetery on the east side of Sidney – Wapakoneta Rd north of the intersection
Description: The town was founded by settlers from Northumberland County, PA. Most of them were German immigrants.

Valentine – Green Township
Location: 40.222000 -84.058198
on SR 589 at the intersection of Middleton – Hume Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietor was William F. Valentine (1865 – 1936) who was a farmer & bought the only tile mill in the township. William was buried with his wife Nelly (Duffy) Valentine (1872 – 1941) in Cedar Point Cemetery east of Sidney on SR 706.

                                                   Union County Ohio Ghost Towns

Buck Run – Allen Township
Post Office: 1829 – 1843
Location: 40.223969 -83.462755
on SR 245 at the intersection of Buck Run Rd
Remnants: Buck Run Cemetery on the north side of SR 245 east of the GPS coordinates
Description: Buck Run was one of the oldest towns in the township. Many pioneers & War Of 1812 Veterans were buried in the cemetery.

Coberlys (Coberly’s) – Allen Township
Post Office: 1832 – 1863
Location: unkown, was on Darby Creek
Description: The town founder & postmaster was Joseph Coberly. It’s listed in several state gazetteers printed during the post office dates & was 2 miles from Lewisburg, 4 & 1/2 from Middleburg, 7 miles from Milford Center, & 10 from Marysville.

Haynesville – Washington Township
Location: 40.481723 -83.434090
on Cunningham Arbela Rd at the intersection of Shertzer Rd along Rush Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It was platted with 21 lots & a public square in 1838 by Jonathan Haynes. The lots didn’t sell well & town wasn’t around long.

Homer – Union Township
Location: 40.131043 -83.456001
on Homer Rd along Treacle Creek between SR 161 & Winget Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: Homer was platted with 35 lots in 1834 by Elisha Reynolds (1779 – 1843). He arrived from New York in 1817 with his wife Mary (Witter) Reynolds (1781 – 1828). They had 7 children & Elisha was a successful merchant & county treasurer for two terms. The town thrived in its early years but never had a big population boom & was last seen in the 1877 Union County Atlas. Elisha & Mary were buried with relatives in Milford Center Cemetery on Middleburg – Plain City Rd.

Kokosing (Magnetic Springs) – Leesburg Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1881
Location: 40.352964 -83.262535
on SR 37 between SR 347 & Hopewell Rd
Description: Kokosing is listed as a ghost town in several places online but it’s just the former name of the post office at Magnetic Springs.

North Liberty – Darby Township
Location: unknown, was in the southeastern part of the township
Description: This first village in the county was platted in 1797 by Lucas Sullivant (1765 – 1823). The only lots that sold were purchased by James & Joshua Ewing who were county pioneers & lived there with some other family members in three cabins. They moved to Jerome Township around 1800, abandoning North Liberty. Lucas Sullivant also platted Franklinton (Columbus) & has a road named after him there.

Robinsons – Darby Township
Location: 40.132819 -83.311248
on Robinson Rd between the southwestern end of Taylor Rd & SR 736
Remnants: none known
Description: The original proprietors were Samuel Robinson (1814 – 1886) & James Robinson (1811 – 1898) who arrived in Ohio from Connecticut in 1800. They met Lucas Sullivant in Tennessee, joined his surveying party on its way back to Ohio, & purchased 600 acres of land in Darby Township. Samuel was a carpenter, James a cooper, & they farmed & planted corn together. Both later married & their brothers Thomas, John, Alexander, & George also settled in the area. The Robinsons grew to be one of the largest & most successful families in the county. Samuel & James were buried with relatives in Mitchell (Robinson) Cemetery at the intersection of SR 38 & Burns Rd.

Taylor Centre – Taylor Township
Post Office: 1857 – 1864
Location: 40.344780 -83.395755
on SR 347 at the intersection with SR 31
Remnants: none known
Description: Taylor Centre had a saw mill & a school. Many of the residents including Harvey Goff (1814 – 1884), who owned the saw mill, were buried in Broadway Cemetery on the south side of SR 347 east of the GPS coordinates.

Westford
Post Office: 1843 – 1850
Location: unknown
Description: Although the post office had been closed for a few years, the town was listed in the 1853 W.W. Reilly & Co.’s Ohio State Business Directory for 1853-54.

Wilkins – York Township
Post Office: 1839 – 1866
Location: 40.429951 -83.399592
on Osborn Rd between Miller Rd & Meddles Rd
Remnants: East York Cemetery on the north side of Miller Rd (Township Rd 307) west of Osborn Rd
Description: The town was founded by Beriah Wilkins (1792 – 1858) & Amanda (Rhodes) Wilkins (1797 – 1877) who owned 77 acres of land on the east side of the GPS coordinates. Beriah was also the postmaster & the Presbyterian congregation was organized at their house in 1839. Its church stood next to East York Cemetery where Beriah & Amanda were buried with relatives.

Williams – York Township
Location: 40.429951 -83.399592
on SR 31 at the intersection with Miller Rd (Township Rd 307)
Remnants: none known
Description: Its proprietor was a D. Williams & the town can be found northeast of York Center in the 1877 Union County Atlas

Van Wert County Ohio Ghost Towns

Buena Vista – York Township
Post Office: 1866 – 1880
Location: 40.778619 -84.551804 
on SR 709 at the intersection with Mendon Rd
Remnants: old buildings in the area
Description: This small farming town had  an L shaped block of businesses on the southeast corner of the intersection.

Dasie – Harrison Township
Post Office: 1881 – 1904
Location: unknown, was near the middle of the township

East Wren – Willshire Township
Location: 40.793806 -84.746676   
on Harrison Willshire Rd between Wren – Landeck Rd & Glenmore Rd at the former Railroad Crossing
Remnants: East Wren Cemetery on Cemetery Rd south off of Wren – Landeck Rd
Description: East Wren was a mile or so southeast of Wren along the Erie Railroad. Residents were buried in East Wren Cemetery.

Frances – Harrison Township
Post Office: 1893 – 1903
Location: unknown, was in the southeastern portion of the township

Leslie – Willshire Township
Post Office: 1858 – 1891
Location: 40.800733 -84.794335 
on Leslie Rd between Wren & the Indiana border
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by members of the Leslie family in the area.

Liggett – Union Township
Post Office: 1888 – 1903
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by members of the Liggett family in the area.

MacAdam – York Township
Location: 40.771238 -84.551793   
on Mendon Rd at the intersection of Jonestown Western Rd along Mown Prairie Creek
Remnants: none known

Nowlan
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Shasta – Liberty Township
Post Office: 1880 – 1904
Location: 40.771431 -84.571355   
on Greenville Rd between SR 709 & Walnut Grove Rd along Mown Prairie Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Shasta was a small farming & merchant town on the Toledo, St. Louis, & Western Railroad.

                                                  Wayne County Ohio Ghost Towns

Beaver Hat – Wooster Township
Location: 40.788630 -81.934719 
on Madison Ave at the intersection of Timken Rd
Remnants: memorial for the area’s Native American trails at the intersection of Freelander Rd & S Bever St
Description: It was a Delaware (Lenape) Native American town run by Chief Pappellelond (Beaver Hat) & the site of a large apple orchard that was his summer home. The town land stretched from current day Schellin Park on Maple St in Wooster to Wooster Cemetery on Madison Ave.

Bloomingdale
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Branstetter – Wooster Township
Location: 40.810612 -81.980423   
on Silver Rd at the intersection of McAfee Rd along Killbuck Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: The proprietor was Civil War veteran Andrew Branstetter (1843 – 1936) who owned the Wooster Brickyard & the Wayne County Fairgrounds in the late 1870s. The town was on the B & O Railroad. Andrew was buried with relatives in Wooster Cemetery on Madison Ave.

Brownfield – Salt Creek & Franklin Township
Location: 40.702581 -81.876999  
on S Honeytown Rd along North Branch Salt Creek between Moreland Rd & Graber Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by John Brownfield (1803 – 1883) & Phebe (Crow) Brownfield (1806 – 1876) from Pennsylvania. They had a nice farm & a few children. Their 15 minutes of fame was due to finding a wooly mammoth tooth on the island of a glacial pond on their property. The Cleveland, Columbus, & Mt. Vernon Railroad rolled through town in the late 1800s. John & Phebe were buried with relatives in Fredericksburg East Side Cemetery on E Clay St (Harrison Rd) in Fredericksburg.

Centersburg
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Custaloga – Clinton Township
Location: 40.670615 -82.072650   
along the railroad tracks between Newkirk Rd & S Elyria Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was on the Panhandle Route of the Pittsburgh, Ft. Wayne, & Chicago Railway & named after Delaware (Lenape) Chief Custaloga (Packanke).

Douglas – Milton Township
Location: 40.916166 -81.871805   
on E Pleasant Home Rd at the railroad crossing between Honeytown Rd & Eby Rd
Remnants: Chippewa Church Of The Brethren & Beech Grove Cemetery northwest of the GPS coordinates on Eby Rd, Mt Zion Church & Cemetery on E Pleasant Home Rd east of the GPS coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: Douglas was on the Wheeling & Lake Erie Railway & had a school & two local churches. Residents were buried in Beech Grove Cemetery & Mount Zion Church Cemetery.

East Liberty
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Eight Square – Chester Township
Location: 40.857996 -82.068123   
on Smithville Western Rd (Co Hwy 86) along Little Killbuck Creek between Lattasburg Rd & Rutt Rd
Remnants: Eight Square Mennonite Church & Cemetery & former town hall & large school at the GPS coordinates, old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was named after an octagon shaped school that stood where the Mennonite church is. The public buildings were constructed on land donated by Joseph Hagerman (1837 – 1927) & Elizabeth Hagerman (1829 – 1902) who were buried with relatives in the cemetery. George Dintaman (1821 – 1881) owned a blacksmith shop & was also buried in the cemetery.

Georgetown – Green Township
Location: 40.888561 -81.819365    
on SR 585 (Akron Rd) at the intersection of Fox Lake Rd
Remnants: former school west of the GPS coordinates in the northeast lot at the intersection of Fox Lake Rd & Egypt Rd
Description: Georgetown had a church & the school which is currently a private residence. It  flourished in the 1870s with hopes of attracting a railroad but that never happened. Some residents were buried in East Chippewa Church Of The Brethren Cemetery at the intersection of Fox Lake Rd & Chippewa Rd.

Green Valley
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Horace – Plain Township
Location: 40.734041 -82.077068   
on Wilderness Rd between S Funk Rd & Clay Plant Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The proprietors were Horace Camp (1838 – 1907) & Amelia (Babb) Camp (1852 – 1938) who engaged in many business pursuits & had a few children. Horace was the president of several companies, owned a terra cotta works, clay mine, & coal mine in Plain Township, & built two railroads. The Ashland & Western Railroad connected to the terra cotta works & the other was the Lake Erie Terminal Railroad. Horace & Amelia also built the Amelia Flats, an upscale apartment complex near Grace Park in Akron. They were buried with relatives in Oakwood Cemetery on Oakwood Dr in Cuyahoga Falls, Summit County.

Jericho – Sugar Creek Township
Location: 40.736624 -81.730879   
on Jericho Rd at the intersection of Zuercher Rd along North Fork Sugar Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: It had a wool mill & blacksmith shop in the early to mid 1800s. The town was annexed into Kidron as it outgrew Jericho.

Killbucks Town
Location unknown, was 10 miles south of Wooster on the east side of Killbuck Creek
Description: This Native American town was named after Delaware (Lenape) Chief Killbuck (or Gelelemend) (1722 – 1811) who was a Revolutionary War veteran & sided with the Americans against his own tribe which agreed to help the British forces. He was baptized with the name William Henry, lived out a peaceful life after the war, & was buried in Zeisberger Memorial Cemetery on Goshen Valley Rd SE in Goshen, Tuscarawas County.

Lancetown – Milton Township
Location: 40.967198 -81.821909   
on Shorle Rd between Rittman Ave & Sterling Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by the massive Lance family in the county descended from Christopher Lance (1749 – 1824) & Sarah (Johnson) Lance (1751 – 1833) who moved to Ohio from New Jersey. The town had a blacksmith shop, school, & well cultivated farms. Many members of the Lance family were buried in Rittman Cemetery at the intersection of Rittman Ave & Decoursey St in Rittman.

McDowell – Sugar Creek Township
Location: 40.808838 -81.668570   
on W Lebanon Rd N between Krug Rd & Blosser Rd
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: The town was founded by War Of 1812 veteran John McDowell (1787 – 1872) & Mary (Marshall) McDowell (d. 1873) who had a large farm & 11 children. John also built a grist mill & saw mill. Most of the family was buried in Dalton (Union) Cemetery on South Church St in Dalton.

McQuaid (Moscow) – Sugar Creek Township
Post Office: 1889 – 1903
Location: 40.795888 -81.745686   
on Old Lincoln Way at the intersection of Kidron Rd
Remnants: none known
Description: In 1815 Joseph Larwill (1783 – 1867), Josiah Crawford (d. 1825), & John Larwill (1792 – 1875) platted Moscow. It had a school & church but never saw a population boom & lost its town status in 1878. All of Moscow’s founders were buried in Wooster Cemetery on Madison Ave. Just a decade later, the McQuaid family started up a new town on the same spot & opened a post office. The area’s church & school were carried over into McQauid, but once again the town didn’t grow much & eventually fell off the maps. Some of the McQuaid family members were buried in Arnold Cemetery on the north side of Arnold Rd between Kidron Rd & Sugar Creek.

New Brownsville
Location: unknown, was along Jerome Fork
Description: It was listed in The Ohio Gazetteer And Traveler’s guide from 1837 – 1841 as an “inconsiderable” town. Being on Jerome Fork, the town land was given to Ashland County when it was formed in 1846.

Paradise – Green Township
Location: 40.844777 -81.820691   
on Rohrer Rd at the intersection of Paradise Rd along Sugar Creek
Remnants: Paradise Church Of The Brethren & Paradise Cemetery at the intersection of Rohrer Rd & Apple Creek Rd west of the GPS coordinates
Description: The town had a tavern, saw mill, blacksmith shop, & church in the mid to late 1800s. The church congregation formed in 1826 & is still active.

Pryor – Green Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by a branch of the Pryor family in the county.

Smiths Settlement – East Union Township
Location: unknown
Description: The founders were a group of pioneers from Pennsylvania, mainly consisting of a Smith family.

Weavers – East Union Township
Location: 40.798520 -81.873316   
on Lincoln Way E between N Honeytown Rd & Eby Rd
Remnants: East Union Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: The town had a church & saw mill & was founded by the Weaver family who moved to Ohio from Pennsylvania. Many of them were buried in East Union Cemetery.

                                                Williams County Ohio Ghost Towns

Baldwin – Jefferson Township
Location: 41.583106 -84.497171
on County Rd 17 between US 20A & Brown Rd
Remnants: no known
Description: It was a small farming town with a church & school in the 1870s & sat on the Wabash Railroad in the early 1900s but didn’t have a train station.

Deer lick – Madison & Superior Township
Post Office: 1847 – 1889
Location: 41.617550 -84.574395
on Airport Hwy at the intersection with County Rd N
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was named after a local spring which was a little salty & attracted deer. The proprietors were Elias Barrett (c. 1796 – 1870) & Elizabeth (Herbst) Barrett.

Denmark – St. Joseph Township
Location: 41.488384 -84.729400
on Township Rd 5G at the intersection of County Rd E-75 along the St. Joseph River
Remnants: historical marker at the site, old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was platted around 1836 by Judge Payne C. Parker & was the first village in Williams County. Denmark had a public square, general store, tavern, school, church, & an ashery. It never attracted a railroad though & couldn’t compete with nearby towns which were growing faster.

Freedom – Pulaski Township
Location: 41.427828 -84.555506
on County Rd 14 at the intersection of Williams Defiance County Line Rd along Lick Creek
Remnants: none known
Description: Freedom was platted in 1836 by Montgomery Evans, Nathan Shirley, & Thomas Warren. It was intended to be a centrally located future county seat when Williams & Defiance were together. The town was abandoned in 1842 & the counties later split up.

Fuddletown – Bridgewater Township
Location: 41.621450 -84.659813
on County Rd 8-50 at the intersection of County Rd N-30
Remnants: Heritage Cemetery at the GPS coordinates
Description: This mid 1800s crossroads town had a church, school, lumber company & a steam saw mill next to Nettle Creek. Many residents were buried in the cemetery.

Lukes Corners – Florence Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1867
Location: 41.570927 -84.749699
on County Rd 4 at the intersection of County Rd K
Remnants: old houses & farms in the area
Description: It was founded by Judge John Luke II (1801 – 1875) & Mary (Micum) Luke (1802 – 1880) who were born & married in Pennsylvania & moved to Ohio. They had a nice sized farm, several children, & John ran the post office. John & Mary were buried with relatives in Leggett Cemetery on County Rd M-50 east of the County Rd 2 intersection.

Mazes Corners – Center Township
Post Office: 1842 – 1849
Location: 41.499680 -84.671143
on County Rd 8 at the intersection with County Rd F
Remnants: none known
Description: The town was founded by Robert Maze (1798 – 1851) & Sarah (Mitchell) Maze (1802 – 1887). They were married in Union County after Robert’s first wife passed away & moved to Williams. Robert was the postmaster & an Evangelical Lutheran minister. The Mazes were buried with relatives in West Buffalo Cemetery on County Rd 5G.

Mead – Superior or Florence Township
Location: unknown, was west of Montpelier
Description: The town proprietors were a branch of the Mead family in the area.

Mill Creek (Mill Creek Centre) (Alvordton) – Mill Creek Township
Location: 41.665896 -84.437577
on US 20 at the intersection of County Rd 20
Description: Mill Creek was the town at the current location of Alvordton which was platted by Henry Alvord in 1881. It’s listed as Mill Creek Centre in the 1874 Williams County Atlas.

Oberie
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Old Edinburg – Mill Creek Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Phalanx – Springfield Township
Post Office: 1844 – 1849
Location: 41.476669 -84.413684
on SR 34 at the intersection of SR 191
Remnants: none known
Description: The town proprietors were the Doolittle family who had a large farm & ran the post office.

Singers Corners – Florence Township
Location: 41.570921 -84.769122
on SR 49 at the intersection with County Rd K
Remnants: none known
Description: It was founded by German immigrants David Singer (1808 – 1871) & Margaret (Kragore) Singer (1810 – 1888). They were the first settlers in the township & had 8 children. David & Margaret were buried with relatives in Edon Florence Township Cemetery south of Edon on SR 49.

Smith Settlement – Bridgewater Township
Location: 41.643585 -84.611613
on US 20 at the intersection of County Rd 11
Remnants: Cogswell Cemetery about 1/2 mile south of US 20 on County Rd 11-50
Description: Smith Settlement was founded in 1836 by Asa Smith (1810 – 1892). He purchased three tracts of land, one for himself, his brother Anson, & their father Daniel. Asa was buried with his wife Rebecca “Betsy” (Bird) Smith (1808 – 1885) in Cogswell Cemetery.

West Buffalo – Florence Township
Post Office: 1854 – 1874
Location: 41.515689 -84.693905
on SR 34 at the 4-way intersection with County Rd 5G & Township Rd 7G
Remnants: West Buffalo Cemetery south of the intersection on County Rd 5G
Description: West Buffalo was platted with 157 lots in 1836 by John Martin. He built a dam & saw mill with Elias Depew in 1835 on the St. Joseph River. They also built a grist mill in 1838 & their family residences with lumber from the saw mill. Only 4 of the town lots sold & Martin sold his ownership of the mills to Elias’s brother John in 1840. A few more residents later moved to the area, but competition from surrounding towns with railroads kept West Buffalo from growing.

Westburg (Westburgh)
Post Office: 1836 – 1843
Location: unknown
Description: Westburg was listed in the Ohio Gazetteer And Travelers Guides from 1837 – 1841 as a postal town.

Wyandot County Ohio Ghost Towns

Bowsherville – Pitt Township
Post Office: 1837 – 1865
Location: 40.738025 -83.293223   
on SR 294 at the intersection of County Hwy 115
Remnants: Bowsherville Cemetery on private property on the east side of County Highway 115 south of SR 294
Description: Bowsherville was platted with 34 lots in 1828 by “Major” Anthony Bowsher (1799 – 1886) & Catherine (Staley) Bowsher (1801 – 1864) & was the first settlement in the township. The Bowshers had 8 children & built a general store, hotel, & a tavern. The town never attracted a railroad & disappeared in the late 1860s after Catherine passed away & Anthony retired.

Crane Town (Crane’s Town) – Crane Township
Location: 40.863246 -83.254335   
on Indian Mill Dr at Indian Mill Park along the Sandusky River
Remnants: Tarhe Monument on T-37 north off of Tarhee Trail (SR 67)
Description: This Native American Wyandotte village was founded by the Porcupine Tribe & named after Chief Tarhe (1742 – 1818) whose nickname was the “Crane” for being well over six feet tall & having long arms. The Tarhe Monument was built by members of the tribe in 1915.

Douglass (Douglas) – Crane Township
Location: 40.822556 -83.222418   
on Township Highway 124-B  between Upper Sandusky Nevada Rd & T-55
Remnants: Bethel Church & Rock Run Cemetery south of the railroad tracks on Township Hwy 124 B, Hass (Old Rock Run) Cemetery on the north side of Upper Sandusky Nevada Rd west of Township Hwy 124 B
Description: Douglass was on the northwest branch of the Pennsylvania Railroad but didn’t have a train station. In the late 1800s it had a saw mill, school, & the church.

Germantown – Antrim Township
Location: unknown
Description: It was founded by German immigrants including Jacob, Adam, & John Coon, Valentine Mutchler, John Heckathorn, & Jacob Snyder who arrived from Pickaway County in 1819. The attempt of making a permanent town didn’t work out & they all went separate ways from there settling in other places in Wyandot & surrounding counties.

Halifax – Antrim Township (formerly Dallas Township, Crawford County)
Location: unknown
Description: It was listed as a recently platted town in the 1837 Ohio Gazetteer & Traveler’s Guide & appeared in later revised editions

McCullomville
Location: unknown, was west of Sycamore
Description: none found

North Tymochtee – Tymochtee Township
Location: unknown
Description: The only reference to the town is the names of lot owners in the 1884 History Of Wyandot County, Ohio. They were William Smith, Joseph Terry, Charles Boalt, Daniel McCahan, George Frees, & the state owned one lot.

Peru – Tymochtee Township
Location: unknown
Description: The lot owners in 1884 were Ezekiel Ekleberry, Jesse Morgan, John Clinger, Daniel Turflinger, & the state owned one lot. Ezekiel Ekleberry was buried with relatives in Bibler Cemetery on the north side of County Hwy 16 east of the intersection with C-35.

Pleasant Dale – Jackson Township (formerly in Hardin County)
Post Office: 1839 – 1856
Location: unknown
Description: It was a small farming & postal town.

Poplar – Eden Township
Location: unknown
Description: none found

Ridgeville – Ridge Township
Location: unknown
Description: Ridgeville was platted with 24 lots. The owners were Lemuel Roberts, Daniel Miller, Amos Moore, & John Ragon, & Jacob Plummer. Eli Ragon opened a general store but the lots didn’t sell well & the town was abandoned prior to 1850.

Ruskin – Marseilles Township
Post Office: 1900 – 1903
Location: unknown, was northeast of Marseilles